We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Jennifer W
Gold Coast, Australia

Run Down Motor Inn

2.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 13 Oct 2022via mobile
This resort desperately needs a reno. Very run down in the rooms - it felt like an over priced motor inn. No mini bar options, had to ask for coat hangers in the room and had to buy drinking water. For almost $300 per night mid week stay I would have expected complimentary water. We had a spa bath in the room which had broken jets and personally these features seem a bit outdated. The car park was literally out the front door which made fell like a cheap motor inn. We ordered a bowl of hot chips as the restaurant was closed which cost over $20. Pillows terrible, showers small and big fridge for a couple of tetra packs of milk and cookies. I would not stay here again as there are much better accomodation options available on the hunter region.
Date of stay: October 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Lounge/Kitchenette
AU$257
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
3.0 km from Mercure Hunter Valley Gardens
Free parking
Guest room
AU$224
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
1.6 km from Mercure Hunter Valley Gardens
Free parking
Pool
AU$194
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • Algotels
6.3 km from Mercure Hunter Valley Gardens
Free parking
Pool
Harrigan's Hunter Valley
AU$151
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
1.1 km from Mercure Hunter Valley Gardens
Free parking
Pool
Lovedale
AU$259
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
1.7 km from Mercure Hunter Valley Gardens
Free Wifi
Free parking
Arrival Drive
AU$203
Save more with IHG One Rewards
  • Tripadvisor
    AU$203
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
4.0 km from Mercure Hunter Valley Gardens
Free Wifi
Free parking
Set on Bimbadgen's 50 year old vineyards on Palmers Lane
AU$315
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    AU$315
2.1 km from Mercure Hunter Valley Gardens
AU$191
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
6.4 km from Mercure Hunter Valley Gardens
Free parking
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$295
  • Hotels.com
4.5 km from Mercure Hunter Valley Gardens
Free Wifi
Free parking
Premium Lodge Room
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$208
  • Priceline
1.4 km from Mercure Hunter Valley Gardens
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Pokolbin
Reviews (1,245)
Filter reviews
1,245 results
Traveller rating
390
499
227
73
56
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
390
499
227
73
56
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sunken bath hunter valley gardens elements restaurant walking distance private courtyard shopping village reception staff buffet breakfast king bed hope estate central location two night stay wineries wedding hv cellar sydney
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
31 - 36 of 1,245 reviews
Reviewed 21 September 2022

As many others have said; great location, nice grounds (esp with the spring blooms) and rooms (esp the bathroom) that need refurbishment and a deep clean. But basic room cleanliness was ok and so were the cleanliness of the sheets and bed comfort; so liveable for a few days. The public spaces like the lounge, bar/snooker room and pool area were quite pleasant. Like many hospitality services, they're short-staffed, so only half of Elements was open for dinner. Thank goodness for the TA reviews; we booked dinner at Elements a few nights before arrival and I suggest that if you want to eat dinner in-house that you do likewise. The food was solid. B'fast was ok and being a buffet the restaurant looked fully open.
Despite being short-staffed, the staff in the restaurant and at the bar were friendly and helpful. Maybe we got lucky on checking-in and out, but there was no queue and the sole person on the front desk was efficient and helpful.
Giving a 3 for the average rooms would do the staff a disservice, while giving a 4 for the staff would be flattering to the rooms, so 3.5 if I could.,

Date of stay: September 2022
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iancc
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Julie Pettit, General Manager at Mercure Hunter Valley Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2022

Thankyou for your feedback Iancc.
Delighted to see some great feedback but also some great points for us to work on.
The team is our greatest asset and we are indeed proud of them. Thank you for acknowledging them in your feedback.
Kind regards
Julie at Mercure

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2022

A lovely place to stay and a great location for visiting the Hunter Valley Gardens. The resort is well laid out, but the room we had was tired and needing lots of small maintenance jobs to keep it up to standard. The restaurant was good with the fixed price for either 2 or 3 courses. Breakfast had a good variety and quality of food. The downside was the restaurant was booked out with groups for our second evening dinner and our choice was room service, or room service menu served in the library.

Date of stay: September 2022
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank irenebD6168JY
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 September 2022 via mobile

Centrally located for vineyard touring; friendly and helpful staff; standard rooms are large, clean and very comfortable- high quality bed. and good size bathroom. The Gardens are beautiful- overall a vey enjoyable experience and would recommend to anyone

Date of stay: September 2022
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank albibess
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 28 August 2022 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights in the leadup to a wedding at the same venue. Every time I tried to call the front desk or room service the line was engaged. Majority of staff members were sour and not pleased to be there.

Rooms are old and outdated. Walls are paper thin. Woken up multiple times by drunken revellers or toilets being flushed.

Only saving grace was the food at Elements which was great and the surrounding gardens. Stay elsewhere and come for a walk to the gardens only.

Room tip: Stay on weeknights as it's quieter. Weekends it's full of drunks annoyed that the Hunter shuts at 8pm
Date of stay: August 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Eloise W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 24 August 2022

Absolutely perfect accommodation staff were excellent Buffet breakfast was amazing Nice clean motel good value for money
Very clean motel Nice and comfortable bed good check in and check out staff on call

Date of stay: August 2022
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank kyliewazza
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews