We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
irenebD6168JY
Greater Sydney, Australia

A lovely place

3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 7 Sept 2022
A lovely place to stay and a great location for visiting the Hunter Valley Gardens. The resort is well laid out, but the room we had was tired and needing lots of small maintenance jobs to keep it up to standard. The restaurant was good with the fixed price for either 2 or 3 courses. Breakfast had a good variety and quality of food. The downside was the restaurant was booked out with groups for our second evening dinner and our choice was room service, or room service menu served in the library.
Date of stay: September 2022
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
AU$207
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    AU$196
  • Agoda.com
    AU$183
  • Expedia.com
    AU$257
3.0 km from Mercure Hunter Valley Gardens
Free parking
AU$258
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    AU$258
  • Expedia.com
    AU$258
  • Trip.com
    AU$257
1.3 km from Mercure Hunter Valley Gardens
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$345
Fully refundable
Go to your Happy Price
  • Trip.com
    AU$318
  • StayForLong
  • Vio.com
    AU$318
4.5 km from Mercure Hunter Valley Gardens
Free Wifi
Free parking
Guest room
AU$440
  • Priceline
    AU$1,297
  • Expedia.com
    AU$224
  • Vio.com
    AU$224
1.6 km from Mercure Hunter Valley Gardens
Free parking
Pool
AU$167
  • Priceline
    AU$156
  • Agoda.com
    AU$151
  • Expedia.com
    AU$194
6.3 km from Mercure Hunter Valley Gardens
Free parking
Pool
Harrigan's Hunter Valley
AU$143
  • Priceline
    AU$169
  • Agoda.com
    AU$134
  • Expedia.com
    AU$153
1.1 km from Mercure Hunter Valley Gardens
Free parking
Pool
Lovedale
AU$251
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    AU$259
  • Trip.com
1.7 km from Mercure Hunter Valley Gardens
Free Wifi
Free parking
Set on Bimbadgen's 50 year old vineyards on Palmers Lane
AU$315
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    AU$315
  • Hotels.com
    AU$315
  • Agoda.com
    AU$314
2.1 km from Mercure Hunter Valley Gardens
AU$196
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    AU$158
  • Hotels.com
    AU$218
  • Trip.com
    AU$200
6.4 km from Mercure Hunter Valley Gardens
Free parking
Pool
Arrival Drive
Get rewarded with One Key
  • vocoHotels
    AU$203
  • Booking.com
    AU$203
  • Priceline
    AU$203
4.0 km from Mercure Hunter Valley Gardens
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Pokolbin
Reviews (1,245)
Filter reviews
1,245 results
Traveller rating
390
499
227
73
56
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
390
499
227
73
56
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sunken bath hunter valley gardens elements restaurant walking distance private courtyard shopping village reception staff buffet breakfast king bed hope estate central location two night stay wineries wedding hv cellar sydney
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
33 - 38 of 1,245 reviews
Reviewed 6 September 2022 via mobile

Centrally located for vineyard touring; friendly and helpful staff; standard rooms are large, clean and very comfortable- high quality bed. and good size bathroom. The Gardens are beautiful- overall a vey enjoyable experience and would recommend to anyone

Date of stay: September 2022
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank albibess
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 28 August 2022 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights in the leadup to a wedding at the same venue. Every time I tried to call the front desk or room service the line was engaged. Majority of staff members were sour and not pleased to be there.

Rooms are old and outdated. Walls are paper thin. Woken up multiple times by drunken revellers or toilets being flushed.

Only saving grace was the food at Elements which was great and the surrounding gardens. Stay elsewhere and come for a walk to the gardens only.

Room tip: Stay on weeknights as it's quieter. Weekends it's full of drunks annoyed that the Hunter shuts at 8pm
Date of stay: August 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Eloise W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 24 August 2022

Absolutely perfect accommodation staff were excellent Buffet breakfast was amazing Nice clean motel good value for money
Very clean motel Nice and comfortable bed good check in and check out staff on call

Date of stay: August 2022
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank kyliewazza
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 24 August 2022

Stayed here for a few days in August 22. It was a good experience.

We had read some less than favourable reviews when we were researching where to stay in the Hunter. They spoke about it being tired and rundown etc. Not our experience at all. It was built a few years back but its clean and tidy, furniture was functional, bed was comfortable and everything worked as it should. Smart TV with Netficks etc was a bonus as was the free wifi.

Bathroom is a bit dated (not unlike me!) but it was clean, it all worked and no infuriatingly noisy drips to keep you awake! The shower head certainly wasn't one of those water savers that provides a stingy dribble of water and there's two shower heads in there: a rain shower and one on a rail that can be hand held. Both provided excellent high pressure hot water. Sunken bath was a bonus although we didn't use it.

Unfortunately my wife had a medical incident during our stay necessitating an ambulance trip to Cessnock hospital. The on duty staff were helpful and caring through it all.

Any negatives? Just one very small one! The sauna only works on a very low setting which renders it totally useless as anything other than a second rate drying room. If you stay and the sauna thermostat only works on setting 3, don't waste your time waiting for it to get hot. It won't!

Would I stay here again? In a heartbeat.

Date of stay: August 2022
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank IanCtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 August 2022

We spent a lovely night at the Mercure. Our room was most spacious, very clean and attractively decorated. The bed was comfortable and the shower excellent. Dinner and breakfast in the restaurant were both most enjoyable. We have stayed here on several occasions and will continue to do so any time we visit the Hunter Valley.

Date of stay: August 2022
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank masolomon1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews