We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Refused to help”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hunter Valley Resort
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Pokolbin
sydney
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Refused to help”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2012

I booked the Hunter Room for a 2 night stay through groupon at the Hunter Valley Resort. After hearing the great reviews, my wife and I were looking forward to our stay here while in the region for a wedding. Unfortunately the Resort was unhelpful when it came to the booking. The weekend was not in school holidays or on a holiday long weekend either. I could not see why it was available one weekend and not the other. I was also not given a valid reason for this refusal. As my wife and I were keen to stay at the Resort that weekend, so I offered to pay any additional costs not covered by the voucher. This also was flatly refused. I cannot understand why they would refuse a customer who was willing to pay extra to stay at their resort.

Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank john j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
philiphele, Owner at Hunter Valley Resort, responded to this review, 11 March 2012
We are so sorry we were not able to assist you with the dates for the wedding you have been invited to. We only have the 35 rooms, and short of cancelling another booking, we just could not fit you in. However, if you would like to go onto our waitlist, if there is a cancellation, we could then let you know. Please call us back on 49987777 if you wish to go onto this waitlist. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

686 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    247
    215
    115
    62
    47
See reviews for
113
382
7
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hereford
Level Contributor
87 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2012

We really enjoyed our stay in the Hunter Valley Resort, it was made all the better by Wayne who we meet when we visited the cellar door, he really knew his stuff and had a very good sence of humour. But be warned we went in looking for 1 bottle of wine and came out with 6!!!! all really nice wines and there was no hard sell they just tasted to good not to buy. We ate in the restaurant on site and had a really lovelly meal with excellent service, they are fully licensed but you can take your own wine with if you would rather.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DougalDogHereford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
philiphele, Owner at Hunter Valley Resort, responded to this review, 11 March 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write in... Hope to see you back with us very soon...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2012

Definitely recommend choosing the Hunter Valley Resort for a weekend in the Hunter.

My boyfriend and I spent a long weekend there in October 2010. The staff is really friendly and helpful. The food at the restaurant by the resort was really nice and the resort is very close to most wineries. The room was clean and with all the amenities. My highlight was the bed: they had the best king bed we have ever slept on. We liked the bed so much that, after more than 1 year, we still remembered it and we asked the owner to let us know the brand to buy the same one for our apartment!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
philiphele, Owner at Hunter Valley Resort, responded to this review, 11 March 2012
Thank you for the great feedback. Hope to see you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
154 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

There's nothing basically wrong with this resort which more thought for client needs wouldn't deal with. We had high hopes for our first foray into an Australian wine area. We were staying here for one night and were looking forward to the promised wine museum visit and tour. We were told that that day's event had just finished and that tomorrow's wouldn't happen until after we left. As the rain started flooding down the lady in the associated wine shop offered a tasting of a couple of local wines neither of which excited and both of which seemed overpriced. After a visit to the cheese factory across the road and so-so meal in a barn of a restaurant we paddled back to our cabin. It was large but decorations were very tired. The bathroom seemed to date from the 1980s. The resort library and lounge was shut because there had been a staff meeting earlier. So we settled down in our cabin and drank wine we had bought in Sydney. We were glad to escape the next day.
Now I am getting a stream of offer emails from the resort. They go straight into junk.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Retiredtraveller0071
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2012

We stayed at the Resort for 2 nights while we toured the Hunter Valley. Our package included a Winery Tour and tasting and a Wine Theatre Experience. Firstly our arrival - we drove up the driveway and arrived at reception, the receptionist was very helpful and gave us lots of useful maps of the region and a long list of recommended restaurants, before asking whether we would prefer to eat at the resort restaurant.
We were booked in and given a key to the room. On opening the room door the overwhelming smell was of cleaning solutions and bleach, at least, we thought, the room was clean! The furnishings were extremely basic, the bathroom also was minimal and the towels really had seen better days - the bath towels were barely big enough to qualify as such.
The smell of bleach seemed to be all pervading too as wherever we went around the resort we seemed to be able to smell it.
The retired Financial Adviser who ran the Cellar Door wine shop was lovely - not sure how much of a wine expert he actually was but he did a great job with the tasting that we had on our first night and sold us a couple of excellent bottles which we had with dinner in the attached restaurant. The food there was also very good - dont know why the resort doesnt make more of it. (We ate on both nights and really enjoyed our meals - though the portions are very generous - on the second night I had an entree as a main meal and was still full at the end)
A nice touch was the iced water in the fridge and the complimentary bottled water too.
The wine Tour however was a scandal - the winery here has not be used for many years and the tour included being taken around derelict buildings looking into rusty and possibly unsafe equipment and having to use a liberal dose of imagination to think what it would be like as a functioning winery. The visit to the vines involved a 100m walk from the shop to a row of vines and back again. Having been on many winery tours in south Africa previously this fell way short of the mark - when we asked about the theatre experience we were tod it was watching a 30 minute DVD - we felt that we had better things to do and so we decided to leave rather than wait around for that. Our package included these but on the tarrif board the Wine tour was $50 and the Theatre Experience $35 per person. I think it would have been more honest to either not offer them or to say they were not a real winery and give clients a free bottle of wine with their evening meal.
This resort purports to be 4* - I would judge it as barely 2* and the only positive thing going for it is the restaurant - and then only in the evening as the breakfasts were nothing to rave about.

Room Tip: Go to another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank diamondsusie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
philiphele, Owner at Hunter Valley Resort, responded to this review, 21 February 2012
We are so sorry we did not meet your expectations. We are however very happy to learn you enjoyed the restaurant and the great service from our team. Thank you.

Our customers very much enjoy the various facilities like the brewery cafe, the 15 minute Wine Theatre (A shame you did not partake - it's a real hoot), see the cheese factory opposite, take one of our horses for a ride, or enjoy a Lomi Lomi massage with Sally.

Re the room, we note you booked us through an English travel agent which we know has many more expensive higher rated Hunter properties on offer. We are in fact their best value option, and note you also selected the best value style of room, rather than selecting one of our beautiful cottages. Nowhere do we promote ourselves as a luxury hotel, in fact our website clearly states we are a 35 room country inn with a great restaurant and lots of things to see and do onsite.

FYI - the winery tour is free for guests staying with us. $50 is actually for the 2 hour Hunter Valley Wine School including a Wine Appreciation Certificate.

Re the winery, we are awaiting a review of the new Health & Safety regulations, and sadly fear winery tours in this country will soon be a thing of the past. Special shoes, eye protection, roped off areas, safety vests, higher staff to guest ratios and the like will make it all too hard.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pokolbin
9.9 km away
The Sebel Kirkton Park Hunter Valley
6.3 km away
Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens
3.5 km away
Spicers Vineyards Estate
Spicers Vineyards Estate
#1 of 15 in Pokolbin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 km away
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley
6.2 km away
Chateau Elan Hunter Valley
7.9 km away
The Convent Hunter Valley
The Convent Hunter Valley
#9 of 15 in Pokolbin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hunter Valley Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hunter Valley Resort

Property: Hunter Valley Resort
Address: corner Hermitage Road & Mistletoe Lane, Pokolbin, New South Wales 2320, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Pokolbin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Pokolbin
#4 Spa Hotel in Pokolbin
#6 Family Hotel in Pokolbin
#7 Luxury Hotel in Pokolbin
Price range (per night): $127 - $324
Hotel Class:4 star — Hunter Valley Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Everything you are looking for in the Hunter - all at the one resort...* Onsite daily vineyard tours at 9am* Hunter Wine Theatre daily at 11am and 2pm* Horse & carriage tour* Horse riding* Bluetongue Brewery Cafe * Hunter Valley Wine School * Fantastic food from our San Martino Restaurant * Board games, pool table, 3km walking/jogging track * Heavenly Hunter Massage Centre * Pool, tennis, heated spa, mountain bikes * Wonderful rooms featuring timber cathedral ceilings * Situated within our own 40 year old vineyards * Owned and operated by the Hele family * And within minutes of the resort... 3 championship golf courses including Cypress Lakes and The Vintage, The Hunter Valley Gardens, cafes, restaurants, hot air ballooning, cheese factories, a chocolate factory, antique stores, a whole shopping village, 3 pampering / massage businesses and over 140 wineries to visit! Or if you prefer, just sit back, relax and finish that book you have been promising to do... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA, Otel, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hunter Valley Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hunter Valley Hotel Pokolbin
Hunter Resort Pokolbin
Hunter Hotel Pokolbin
Hunter Valley Resort Greater Newcastle/Pokolbin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing