We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Pokolbin Village(Pokolbin)(Great Value!)
USD 97
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hunter Valley Resort(Pokolbin)(Great Value!)
USD 159
USD 124
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Estate Tuscany(Pokolbin)(Great Value!)
USD 86
USD 82
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Kirkton Park Hotel Hunter Valley(Pokolbin)(Great Value!)
USD 144
USD 140
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens(Pokolbin)(Great Value!)
USD 181
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hermitage Lodge(Pokolbin)(Great Value!)
USD 131
USD 127
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Leisure Inn Pokolbin Hill(Pokolbin)(Great Value!)
USD 105
USD 94
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
USD 109
USD 89
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Savings alert! 19% below average rates

The price you found is 19% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 110/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The Convent Hunter Valley Hotel(Pokolbin)(Great Value!)
USD 178
USD 142
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 161/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (968)
Filter reviews
968 results
Traveller rating
852
90
16
8
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
852
90
16
8
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrestaurant botanicabiscottispa aniseevening cocktailscomplimentary cocktailluxury spa suitespicers retreatmini baropen fireon arrivalwedding anniversaryonsite restaurantlittle extrasmy partnerpoached eggshermitage roadhuge bathroom
Filter
Updating list...
46 - 51 of 968 reviews
Reviewed 17 March 2018

Very relaxing break with excellent meals and service. Breakfast a very pleasant change from the usual hotel experience. Location is very good a short drive to all activities. Staff were very pleasant and attentive to our requests.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Alan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SpicersVineyards, General Manager at Spicers Vineyards Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Alan B,

Thanks for taking the time to let us know about your stay at Spicers Vineyards Estate. I'm so glad our special property and friendly staff were helpful in creating what sounds like a very relaxing time for you. Our proximity to so much activity in the Hunter Valley is such an attraction we hope to welcome you another time soon to again take advantage of it with us.

Adam Kluft,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
11
Reviewed 14 March 2018

This is a beautiful place to stay.We arrived after lunch to a lovely cool room and nice views over the valley and vineyard from our balcony. The pool area is relaxing with nice big umbrellas for shade.Later in the afternoon we received a complementary cocktail. The restaurant was so romantic for our Anniversary dinner.Thank you for a memorable nights stay!!!

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SpicersVineyards, General Manager at Spicers Vineyards Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Welcome Guest,

Thank you for choosing Spicers Vineyards Estate to celebrate the occasion of your Anniversary. Its a special pleasure to be able to help you create such fond memories for yourself and your partner to take away with you.

Adam Kluft,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2018

Lovely peaceful and quiet resort. Rooms very nice with a real fire if you want to light it.
Comfy beds and good bathroom. Only given 1 small hand towel but a 2nd one provided quickly on request.
Bottle of sparkling wine nice touch on arrival. Evening cocktails delivered at 5.30 daily also a nice touch.
Surprisingly whilst we had 2 bottles of water on arrival, we were given none after that and water in mini bar is chargeable!!! Not what I would expect from a 5* resort. In fact it is the first 5* place we have stayed in that has not provided daily water. Essential in this hot climate.
Breakfast service was slow at times and quite limited choice. No good basics, felt they almost tried too hard. They give you muffins to take away after breakfast which is nice.
Bikes are available (only 4) and helmets so we cycled around the vineyards which was nice.
Pool small and only 8 sun beds (there are 12 rooms here) . Some of the tiles around the pool are loose and need fixing as they are a trip hazard. They should have towels by the pool I feel. There are pools towels in room but only 2. We asked for another 2 as they are not long enough to cover the sunbed and these were happily supplied. However if you went for a dip and needed a towel to dry off you would need to go back in to reception to ask.
Staff are very pleasant and extremely helpful.
No help with luggage - we had a room on first floor so my husband had to cart cases up the stairs!!! Only young girls on reception who offered to help but as we were on a five week trip the cases were very heavy!
Our room was close to reception and could be quite noisy in the morning as all arrived.
Wi fi very slow- we tried to FaceTime our daughter and it kept cutting out.
Overall a very nice stay but a few things could be improved..

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank TravelnutBabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2018 via mobile

What a fantastic place to visit out of this world it’s so peaceful and relaxing and also the food and everything about the place is excellent and the rooms are fabulous it’s a bit pricey but it’s like people say you get what you pay for and if you feel like a treat this is the place its also handy for lots of different vineyards to visit

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank harold h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2018

If you go to Spicers and or the attached restuarant Bontanica you have obviously done some research on the net. Neither is cheap. But your book knowing that. Or you should. So for those who have decided to stay and then complained about the price.....tough luck. You only have yourself to blame.

My wife an I loved our 3 nights there. Couldn’t fault it. The young staff at both venues were brilliant and genuinely looked to be happy they worked there.

The breakfast was excellent each morning. The rooms were spacious. Bathrooms large and clean. The little extras were nice. The bottle of Tyrells ‘bubbles’ in the fridge on arrival was nice. The pod coffee machine. The real surprise was the 5.30pm cocktail delivered gratis to the room. Each afternoon a different cocktail.

On departure were presented with bottled water and a selectin of cookies.

Some may say that for the price you pay the extras should be included but we didn’t see it that way. They were just nice touches.

Previous reviewers were right about the serenity. Once the door is closed it is virtually soundproof.

Dinner in the Botanica was delicious. Staff were again excellent.

If you can afford it then stay.

Regards

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank CarltonCaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews