We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Unique, Romantic.....Perfect”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
32 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Pokolbin, Cessnock, Greater Newcastle, New South Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 32 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
jetseta10
NSW, AUS
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Unique, Romantic.....Perfect”
Reviewed 25 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Amelies was even more beuatiful than we expected. We celebrated our engagement here and it was perfect. It will always be a special place for us and we will venture back on special occasions.

If you are looking for something special and unique in the valley, then this is it. It's different than all the rest.The view out to the mountains is truly amazing. Soaking in the spa, watching the rain clouds roll over is a one in a million viw. Words really can't describe the feeling of this place. You need to experience it.

Everything went really smoothly. Sally, the host, is a pleasure to deal with. We were even stuck for a taxi one night and Sally drove us out to the restaurant. Thanks Sally!!

We will be back. We loved it and it will always be a special place for us to visit in the valley.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BelindaH8...
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Absolutely magical cottage for 2 in the Hunter”
Reviewed 2 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We decided to rent this beautiful little cottage for our mini-honeymoon. Best decision ever! We've never been to the Hunter Valley before and this cottage gave us front row seats to the beauty of the area.

The cottage itself is adorable, very clean, well fitted and tucked into the Pokolbin mountains. The air is fresh and it's so quiet there. Sally is such a pleasure to deal with. I'd love to come back to stay next time we're in the Hunter.

Tip - as at the date of this review, I do NOT recommend following Google Maps to get to the cottage!! Use the map provided on the website for the cottage! We made the mistake of following Google Maps instead and it led us on this huge roundabout drive that ended in a dead end that cars can't travel through. We didn't mind too much since it was a scenic drive, but the map provided on the website is much more helpful.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynda C
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best place to stay for couple in the Hunter Valley”
Reviewed 18 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Ameliie's is the most beautiful place we have ever stayed in the Hunter Valley after many triips from Sydney over the years. It is beautifully furnished as a little French cottage, with breathtaking valley views. There are many considerate little touches for guests and very generously provisioned. Perfect getaway for a couple, peace and nature, but not too far from vineyards and restaurants if needed. But you never want to leave! The only place we will stay in the Hunter from now on.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view
Liked least: Leaving to go home!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmandaTof...
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very nice little hideaway in the Hunter”
Reviewed 28 December 2014 for a stay in December 2014

Wonderful place very central to the hunter valley. No issues to speak of really - but the bed might need an upgrade ( bit of a dip in the middle ).
Excellent view, excellent facilities, saw a number of wallabies and kangaroos in the evenings. Delightful!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mei_Li_Ah...
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Truly a get-away”
Reviewed 21 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014

Fantastic views and the self-contained cottage was sweet with a nice private outdoor eating area. Would definitely stay here again if coming back to the Hunter.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view and surrounds
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing