We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Fabulous

A really great experience - helped by gorgeous weather. Very professional, well organised, great... read more

Reviewed 5 days ago
Sydney_Kat27
,
Sydney, Australia
Amazing Experience

We had an absolutely fabulous morning. The crew are super organised and the whole thing runs like... read more

Reviewed 4 weeks ago
NewyJen
,
Newcastle, Australia
Read all 2,091 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Pokolbin
from USD 55.81
More Info
from USD 61.26
More Info
from USD 19.89
More Info
from USD 55.81
More Info
Reviews (2,091)
Filter reviews
2,091 results
Traveller rating
1,945
118
16
5
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,945
118
16
5
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews champagne breakfast balloon ride bucket list amazing experience early start perfect morning hot air balloon ground crew balloon experience scared of heights breakfast was delicious launch site hunter valley great pilot great flight birthday present wedding anniversary
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2,002 - 2,007 of 2,091 reviews
Reviewed 14 January 2014

I got this experience as a birthday present for my husband and I was not sure what to expect. Our Pilot Nicola was awesome, the views were amazing and we felt like part of the team setting up the hot air balloon! It was so much better than i expected and we would definitely do this again. The food was great and the restaurant had beautiful views as well. I highly recommend this to anyone and everyone! Our landing was seamless thanks to Nicola's skill and precision, we were slowly floating down and then we had landed! Amazing!

Date of experience: January 2014
Thank Amany79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Balloon_Aloft, Manager at Balloon Aloft Hunter Valley Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to write and post your lovely review. Nicola was so happy to hear that you enjoyed the flight with her and the Balloon Aloft flight team. She always loves when her passengers compliment her landings, so you really made her day. We hope to see you again sometime in the future.

Kind regards,

Peta
Balloon Aloft

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014 via mobile

Thankyou Graeme We had a wonderful time!, would certainly recommend a balloon ride be added to everyones bucket list Shell & Kyle

1  Thank Michelle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Balloon_Aloft, Manager at Balloon Aloft Hunter Valley Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2014

Hi Shell & Kyle,

Graeme was delighted to hear that you had a wonderful time with us on your balloon flight on Sunday. He has asked me to express his thanks to you for taking the time to post your review & for recommending us to others and wishes you all the best in the future.

Kind regards,

Peta
Balloon Aloft

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2013

I took my mum on a balloon ride for Christmas and we had an amazing experience. Yoshi, our pilot, was wonderful -- such a nice and funny person! The ground team were excellent too. It was a very welcoming environment. Floating above the clouds is one of the most serene and beautiful experiences there is! Those guys have amazing jobs. Highly recommend this company!

Date of experience: December 2013
Thank Stephanie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Balloon_Aloft, Manager at Balloon Aloft Hunter Valley Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your Balloon Aloft experience here. We are delighted to hear that you had a great time with Yoshi and the ground crew on the morning of your flight – and yes, they do indeed have amazing jobs!

I am so glad we could help you and your Mum celebrate Christmas above the clouds and we truly appreciate your recommendation of us to others.

Kind regards,

Peta
Balloon Aloft

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2013

We had a fabulous morning in the Hunter with Balloon Aloft. Yosh is a very good pilot and guide. The team are very professional but down to earth and looked after everyone. The breakfast was also good and we enjoyed the rest of the day in the Hunter Valley as well. Highly recommended...

Date of experience: December 2013
Thank BonesCentralCoastNSW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Balloon_Aloft, Manager at Balloon Aloft Hunter Valley Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2013

Thank you for your lovely review. We were delighted to hear that you enjoyed your morning with Yosh and the Balloon Aloft team. Thanks you for recommending us to others and we are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your day in the Hunter Valley.

Kind regards,

Peta
Balloon Aloft

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

My title says it all really - plus I'm sure you've read all the other great reviews, only I was slightly disappointed by two things. One is that there was very little interaction from the crew with the passengers. Some people might like this but I'm curious and would love to know A) what certain bits and bobs of the balloon do (or some funny stories from the history of ballooning) and B) what exactly we are flying over/what can we see. They are an experienced enough crew that wherever the wind takes you, they'll know what you can see and what buildings are what etc - but they spend most of the time on the radio or just being silent... like I said some might prefer that but I felt it was a little under-done. Otherwise fantastic.

Date of experience: November 2013
Thank Lamont B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Balloon_Aloft, Manager at Balloon Aloft Hunter Valley Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review and feedback. Our pilots generally provide commentary throughout our flights and are more than happy to answer any questions you may have. Their first duty, however, is to keep you and the aircraft safe, so on mornings where the flight conditions are more challenging, such as on the morning of your flight, their full concentration may be on flying the aircraft. Unlike other aircraft, balloons cannot be steered in a traditional manner, instead the pilots must assess the wind conditions and use those in order to reach an intended destination. To do this the pilot must anticipate the wind conditions 1 minute, 5 minutes, 10 minutes etc. in advance. As you can imagine, this can take a lot of concentration. I am sorry to hear that you were a little disappointed with the amount of commentary but I am sure you can now understand why this is sometimes necessary.

Kind regards,

Peta
Balloon Aloft

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews