We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
Vio.com
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Ragehcat
Calne, United Kingdom
High standard accommodation
4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 30 Sept 2022via mobile
Very clean and comfortable with all facilities that are needed. Shower good, also jacuzzi which we did not use. Very large comfortable bed and the chalet was in a beautiful quiet setting. However we stayed here 8 years ago (we are from the UK visiting family in Sydney) and really enjoyed the warm welcome we got from the owners and their friendly black labrador. That was missing this visit as it is all no contact and key pads to get in. It seems to be run by Hunter Valley Stays and we were inundated with instructions by email. Also last time we were provided with a very high standard of breakfast ingredients to cook ourselves, that is no longer the case. I fear covid has much to answer for. Despite this, the chalet is of a very high standard.
Date of stay: September 2022
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
AU$241
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    AU$199
  • Expedia.com
    AU$251
7.0 km from The Grange on Hermitage
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
AU$181
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    AU$149
  • Hotels.com
    AU$186
1.0 km from The Grange on Hermitage
Free parking
Pool
Harrigan's Hunter Valley
Booking.com
AU$124
  • Expedia.com
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
    AU$144
6.5 km from The Grange on Hermitage
Free parking
Pool
Booking.com
AU$170
  • Tripadvisor
    AU$171
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
    AU$170
7.2 km from The Grange on Hermitage
Free parking
Pool
Booking.com
AU$250
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
  • Agoda.com
    AU$221
  • Hotels.com
    AU$272
5.4 km from The Grange on Hermitage
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    AU$146
  • Booking.com
    AU$168
0.9 km from The Grange on Hermitage
Free parking
Pool
Lounge/Kitchenette
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    AU$251
  • Agoda.com
    AU$176
  • Priceline
6.3 km from The Grange on Hermitage
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
    AU$299
  • Priceline
6.5 km from The Grange on Hermitage
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    AU$263
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
    AU$263
7.3 km from The Grange on Hermitage
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    AU$263
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
    AU$263
7.8 km from The Grange on Hermitage
Free parking
Pool
View more hotels in Pokolbin
Reviews (302)
Filter reviews
302 results
Traveller rating
274
22
6
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
274
22
6
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 302 reviews
Reviewed 21 September 2021

Have just stayed at the Grange this weekend and cannot rate it highly enough! We stayed in a beautifully appointed two bedroom cottage which had everything you could ask for and more! We received a lovely warm welcome and stayed in one of the spacious rooms which were spotlessly clean including a microwave and tea making equipment. Breakfast was a lovely continental (in your room) with homemade muffins. It was a great break away, especially from the COVID. They are close to everything. We will definitely stay again

Date of stay: September 2021
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank adamnav01
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 26 June 2021 via mobile

We spent four nights here during May 2021 for a well earned holiday away from the kids. A couple of days prior to us arriving, we were offered an upgrade to a cottage which we gladly accepted.

Check in was a breeze as Ken welcomed us and showed us around the cottage. Everything was clean, we had plenty of space and the bed was comfortable and warm. It is very quiet at night and very relaxing to wake up to birds chirping. The shower got hot quickly and the spa also worked well. Breakfast was provided to us to cook ourselves and consisted of bacon, farm fresh eggs, bread, a variety of cereals, fruit juices and milk. Homemade slices or muffins were delivered to us each morning on the verandah, where we ate a couple of our breakfasts.

The Grange is within easy walking distance to several wineries and breweries which we took advantage of.

We would definitely stay at the Grange again.

Date of stay: April 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank RationalHaze
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 23 May 2021 via mobile

This was a last minute trip to the hunter but I’m so glad we found this beautiful place to stay at. We stayed in the King spa room which was beautifully appointed and full of many personalised touches. The scenery around the grounds was beautiful. Sitting outside provided a peaceful and tranquil experience. Their adorable Labrador Zena even joined us chilling out on the porch on one occasion. I loved the homemade muffins which were made for us by Chris and dropped off in the morning. This place was in a great location to a lot of the sights and places to go at the Hunter. We would definitely stay here again and will recommend this place to others!

Date of stay: April 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Paula W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ken and Chris Bray, Owner at The Grange on Hermitage, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2021

Hi Paula
Thank you so much for your lovely review for you visit last month. We are so thrilled you found everything about your stay satisfactory and would love to be able to welcome you back sometime in the future.
Regards
Chris & Ken- owners

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2021

This was our second time here and it was as good as we remembered. Relaxing, quiet, perfect place to chill! We’ve stayed at multiple locations in the Hunter Valley, and this place delivered what we wanted. Far enough away from the bus loads of hens and bucks parties but close enough to everything! Place was clean and the only sounds were birds, winds through the trees and horses. Can’t think of any other place to stay when going to the Hunter. Ken and Chris as usual were welcoming and the breakfast treats of home made baked yummies was delicious as always.

Date of stay: April 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank velveteengroove
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ken and Chris Bray, Owner at The Grange on Hermitage, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2021

Hi Velveteengroove
Thank you so much for such a glowing review. We are thrilled that you have revisited, which is great reinforcement that we are doing something right!
Please come and stay with us again on another occasion,
Regards
Chris & Ken

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2021 via mobile

What an amazing stay we had with Chris and Ken. Thank you for making our family getaway for a wedding a memorable and lovely one. We stayed in one of the cottages and the cottage was perfect. Clean,spacious, well equipped all in a tranquil calm setting. Greeted by their beautiful dog who helped to deliver the warm homemade muffins each morning. Can't wait to stay again

Date of stay: April 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank mel000000
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ken and Chris Bray, Owner at The Grange on Hermitage, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2021

Hi mel000000
We are so pleased you had such an amazing stay with us. Glad to hear your family gathering was so enjoyable and our property and accommodation suited your needs. I do hope you will return and stay again on another occasion.
Regards
Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews