We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (232)
Filter reviews
232 results
Traveller rating
208
18
6
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
208
18
6
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews black labrador freshly baked muffins each morning breakfast provisions the cottages hunter valley bedroom cottage amazing hosts spa bath home away from home a great place to stay hermitage road excellent accommodation two couples longer stay the main house on arrival
Filter
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 232 reviews
Reviewed 22 February 2018

We visited The Grange as part of a touring holiday around the Sydney area in February 2017. The room was excellent and genuinely perfect for our 2-night stay, The setting was beautiful and within easy walking distance of a number of local wineries. My only regret is not booking for a longer stay!

Date of stay: March 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CoDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGrangeonHerm, Owner at The Grange on Hermitage, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2018

Hi CoDorset
Thank you so much for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at the Grange on Hermitage.
The Hunter Valley certainly has a lot to offer and is so close to Sydney. The new cycling/walkway in Hermitage Road, makes our area ideal for walking to nearby restaurants and cellar door outlets.
Glad you enjoyed your visit.
Kind regards
Chris & Ken

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2018

Loved the relaxed atmosphere of The Grange on hermitage. The bed was comfy and the baked treats were the icing on the cake for this home away from home. Will definitely stay here again - I wont bother looking anywhere else.

Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank PruM7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGrangeonHerm, Owner at The Grange on Hermitage, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2018

Hi Pru
It is so nice to hear you enjoyed your recent stay with us.
We look forward to welcoming you back when you next visit the Hunter Valley.
Regards
Chris & Ken

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2018

Booked this on booking.com but the owner Chris says to book direct from her website as can offer better deals and also wine vouchers.
Had a wonderful stay! The Hermitage road area has so many more interesting smaller family owned wineries than the big estates down in Cessnock. So you get more personalised service from the owners at the tastings down this end.
The room was lovely - humongous comfortable bed and great shower and bath. Kitchenette was stocked with so much fresh fruit, orange juice, yoghurt and toast as well as gorgeous freshly bakes muffins delivered to your door in the morning along with a visit from their black lab Zena! Would highly reccomend.

Date of stay: January 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jennifer T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGrangeonHerm, Owner at The Grange on Hermitage, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2018

Hi Jennifer
Thank you for taking the time to write a lovely review .Hermitage Road is definitely a very popular area in Hunter Wine region , due to its peacefulness and many family operated businesses.
We are pleased you enjoyed the comfort of our king spa guestrooms and enjoyed the complimentary breakfast provisions.
Thank you for your recommendations and hope to see you again sometime soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2018

We had a wonderful stay here for 10 nights over Xmas in one of the two bedroom cottages. Everything was of a very high standard and my wife, daughter and I really enjoyed the relaxing break. The cottage is very well fitted out and maintained and spotlessly clean.

Probably best to start with the wonderful Zena, the black Labrador who welcomed us and took us to reception, and then came down to the cottage every morning and afternoon to check we were o.k.

Plenty of breakfast provisions which were topped up when necessary during the stay - bacon, eggs, yoghurt, fresh fruit salad, bread jams etc. and of course the delicious freshly baked muffins which appeared on the balcony each morning. And when a friend who is a celiac joined us for the last 3 nights a gluten free muffin was added each morning! Also a good coffee machine with plenty of coffee capsules.
We additionally made good use of the large BBQ at the back as well.

Ken and Chris were very friendly and helpful and were always checking if there was anything we needed.

Great location for many wineries and restaurants in Pokolbin.

We will certainly return and would highly recommend a stay at Grange on Hermitage

Date of stay: December 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank rikrikennedy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGrangeonHerm, Owner at The Grange on Hermitage, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2018

Hi Rikrikennedy
We so enjoyed you staying with us at Christmas and pleased you found the 2 bedroom cottage met you requirements .
Zena certainly provides great hospitality , showing people to reception and checking if they are ok.
If only we could teach her to talk, who knows what she could do???
Thanks you for such a lovely review and hope we will see you on another visit to the Hunter Valley.
Regards
Chris, Ken & Zena( the Labrador)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2018

We spent 4 perfect nights here and we couldn't fault it in any way. We had the two best hosts in Ken and Christine who made sure we were not in need of anything and made us feel at home. Our room was immaculately clean, comfortable and beautifully furnished and oozed comfort and warmth. Set in a great location and so close to great wineries we will definitely come back again to experience such amazing hospitality with a personal touch that went above and beyond... oh yes and those fresh, warm muffins delivered every morning! Thank you for a memorable experience.

Date of stay: January 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Susan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGrangeonHerm, Owner at The Grange on Hermitage, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2018

Hi Susan
We are so pleased your visit at the Grange was memorable. As on site owners we do enjoy meeting our guests and being able to offer
friendly country style hospitality.
We look forward to being able to welcome you back on another occasion.
Chris & Ken

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews