We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is a wonderful place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Grange on Hermitage
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 March 2011

We had a great time staying at the Grange. We were greeted by Chris with homemade cake and so much warmth that we felt instantly at home. The setting for the accomodation is excellent. If you want to see kangaroos, just look around at dusk, they are everywhere! Ellie the dog is also ever present waiting for a stroke too.

The suit we had was spot on. On one very hot day we cycled round the valley (on bikes loaned to us by Chris) and came back to our own spa to sit in and cool off.

A wine tour is definately recommended and Chris will give you information about them. We had a really good time in the Hunter Valley and it is an essential place to visit if you are travelling to New South Wales.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DorisB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (205)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

192 - 196 of 205 reviews

Reviewed 2 November 2010

Recently spent two nights at this lovely property. The owners went above & beyond in assisting us and the cottage was very clean, quiet, cozy, modern & well equiped. Included were provisions for a very delicious breakfast. Would highly recommend!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CanadianAdventurers2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2010

My husband and I booked one of the guest rooms for a friend's wedding in the Hunter. It was our first time in the Valley, and we had no idea what to expect.

Ken and Ellie (the labrador!) were perfect hosts, the guest room was just GORGEOUS! And the breakfast provisions were wonderful - particularly the hand cut fruit salad with the most plump and delicious blueberries I think I've ever had!

I heartily recommend staying here!! And, if you do, and want to try some amazing wines, I heartily recommend Mistletoe winery across the road from the Grange, and Briar's Ridge, which is a bit of a trek, but SO worth it!!

Thank you again Grange on Hermitage - we will return!!!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pulltabhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2010

Recently stayed at the Grange as we were attending a wedding in the Hunter Valley. The accommodation was fantastic(as were our hosts Ken & Chris). It was ideal for a group of us to all stay together. My husband and I stayed in a 2 bedroom cottage with friends, the cottage was spacious with 2 bathrooms, kitchen, lounge/dining and bbq area. Would highly reccomend the Grange if travelling to the Hunter Valley and looking for a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HappyOnHolidays79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2010

If you want somewhere relaxing, quiet and peaceful with all the modern comforts, then The Grange is the place. I stayed with a group of friends for a wedding in the valley. It was perfect for a group of us as we were able to book the whole place. Ken and Christine were very welcoming hosts and gave great advice about places to visit and where to get the best wine and cheese!
Loved the fire in the cabins and the spa baths! Kangaroos hopping around were such a treat for us city folk too. Book early!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shazzam79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pokolbin
2.9 km away
Spicers Vineyards Estate
Spicers Vineyards Estate
#1 of 15 in Pokolbin
905 reviews
2.2 km away
Splinters Guest House
Splinters Guest House
#5 of 15 in Pokolbin
306 reviews
8.8 km away
The Convent Hunter Valley
The Convent Hunter Valley
#12 of 15 in Pokolbin
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11 km away
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley
7 km away
Hermitage Lodge
Hermitage Lodge
#2 of 8 in Pokolbin
376 reviews
6.9 km away
Wine Country Villas
Wine Country Villas
#7 of 39 in Pokolbin
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grange on Hermitage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grange on Hermitage

Address: 820 Hermitage Road, Pokolbin, New South Wales, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Pokolbin
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 39 Speciality Lodging in Pokolbin
Price Range: $192 - $457 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Grange on Hermitage 4.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Affordable Country Style accommodation in Hunter Wine Country. Self catering 2 bedroom cottages & Guest Rooms on 28 acres of parkland & family vineyard. Enjoy the peace & tranquility by relaxing on the verandahs watching the kangaroos at dusk or wandering through our parkland or family vineyard accompanied by our Black Labradors, Ellie & the youthful, Zena. You could stroll across the road to the Mistletoe Winery. Our property is situated within minutes of a wide range of wineries, restaurants, H. V. Gardens, golf courses & many other attractions. Generous breakfast provisions included in your tariff. Your Hosts, Chris & Ken Bray & the Labrador Zena. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and lastminute.com.au so you can book your The Grange on Hermitage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grange On Hermitage Greater Newcastle/Pokolbin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing