We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great place to stay!”
other traveller has booked this property

Review of Silky Oak Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
15 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Pokolbin, Cessnock, Greater Newcastle, New South Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
anne b
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place to stay!”
Reviewed 6 March 2012 for a stay in December 2011

The house was beautiful. Very comfy and well equipped. We took pleasure once we were there in walking around the house and property with a glass of wine in hand and finding all the little surprise items placed around the property. The stepping stones, the pond, the little birds on the barrel, the old antiques around the place too, the comfy outdoor chairs etc. Very cute.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and gardens
Liked least: Wanted to stay longer, only there for a w/end
Travelling group: With Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan O
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Great Weekend Escape”
Reviewed 21 February 2012 for a stay in June 2011

Thank you very much we have a wonderful weekend and absolutely loved the cottage, and are already planning our next visit. Loved the location, privacy and loved the cottage amenities.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and the open fire
Travelling group: With Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gayb0
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“We had a wonderful weekend....”
Reviewed 15 February 2012 for a stay in July 2011

The cottage was lovely, the furniture and bedding were comfy and the surroundings were so relaxing, we didn't want to leave.

After the fire was started it turned into a warm winter getaway…

We plan on making our visit an annual event and if Silky Oak is available we would definitely stay there

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The bush surroundings
Liked least: Leaving....Returning to work....sob...sob....
Travelling group: With Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
611Pam611
Belmont, Australia
1 review
“Great weekend retreat”
Reviewed 15 February 2012 for a stay in November 2011

We were extremely happy with the cottage. It had ample room for the six adults in our party. The location was great. It was lovely and clean and had all utensils that we needed for our stay. Beds quite comfortable

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole family was together in the one house, beautiful surroundings.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janelle H
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Relaxing country stay amongst the vines”
Reviewed 14 February 2012 for a stay in October 2011

We loved the property and will certainly stay again. There is plenty of room with 3 good sized rooms with 2 bathrooms which is a must when staying with large numbers of people. The location is great and very close to Tyrrell's for Jazz in the Vines. The cottage is very comfortable and has everything you need. With a wrap around verandah there is place to sit no matter what time of day. How very peaceful..our stay was not long enough. Would certainly stay again and would recommend to my friends. I want to thank you for making our weekend a very lovely weekend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and style of the home, plus the facilities of outdoor BBQ area.
Liked least: Just few items like foil and no dishwashing detergenetc had run out but nothing major. Once the owner was notified they came with some replacements!
Travelling group: With Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing