We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (242)
Filter reviews
242 results
Traveller rating
208
30
3
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
208
30
3
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews common room hunter valley rolling hills homemade jams warm hospitality great hosts group of friends easy access local vineyards place to stay rooms are comfortable lovely grounds close proximity beautiful property a lovely stay wine tasting stayed for nights
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 242 reviews
Reviewed 14 May 2018

Four of us stayed at Elfin Hill for a few days in April. We were visiting "The Hunter" for wine tasting. It turns out that Elfin Hill is in close proximity to many excellent wineries. After a day of wine exploring we would return to Elfin Hill for an evening of relaxation on the patio. During the evenings we encountered a great group of very interesting people including people from Spain, Italy, Ireland, the U.K., Australia(of course) and the U.S.(us). We had many lively conversations and even set records for wine consumption in the southern hemisphere.

Maddie is an excellent hostess and cooks a great breakfast.

One issue is that wifi is spotty with a weak signal. You will be frustrated if you need to be online while at Elfin Hill.

Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BobRChantilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2018

We stayed one night, initially was a little disappointed as to me it looked like a 'motel' with regard to the layout of the rooms all net to each other in a row and a very separate communal room/area.... for some reason we were expecting more of a guesthouse type accommodation.

The room was adequate and well appointed with a nice balcony overlooking the bush. However the rooms are not well sound proofed - we had young children in the room next door and heard every sound they made including early in the morning.....

Service was friendly and location is nice and quite yet still provides easy access to the wineries and good restaurants. Also the 'free' wifi was extremely slow to connect to and then we could not retain the connection on either of our 2 phones or iPad form within our room.

Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Andy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2018 via mobile

Our two night stay was soooo relaxing. The only noise was the birds! Lovely comfy spotlessly clean rooms rooms with delightful terraces over looking the extensive grounds. Nice breakfast served on the veranda. Nice pool.

Date of stay: April 2018
1  Thank anneuk-18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2018 via mobile

Booked 2 nights and stayed 3. Wonderful peace and views.
Superb hosts with nothing too much trouble.
Will be back on 2019ish trip. Hope Marie and Mark not lost at sea by then!
Pool superb with lovely grounds surrounding property. Garden an oasis of bird life.

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank DaveConiston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2018 via mobile

Set away from the hustle of parts of the Hunter, Elfin offers well appointed motel-style rooms with a separate communal verandah/Lounge.
Little touches include fortified wine awaits in the lounge after you return from dinner elsewhere. The pool is clean and sheltered.
Breakfast is included (continental) and is well enjoyed on the verandah looking down the property and the nearby Broken Back ranges.
Hosts are delightful engaging people who will make time to chat should you wish to.

Date of stay: February 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank jeremy s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marie B, Manager at Elfin Hill, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2018

Thanks Jeremy for your review. Mark and I enjoyed your company, you were very easy and happy guests. Makes our job easy and happy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews