We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fresh quality Pasta with friendly staff”
Review of Don Beppino's

Don Beppino's
Ranked #99 of 661 Restaurants in Newcastle
Cuisines: Italian
Restaurant details
Reviewed 18 July 2016

All pasta dishes are made in the morning & are in Bain Maries to be served quickly on order. You can have the dishes cold or heated for you, they are fresh & cooked al dente. The staff were really friendly & happy to answer any questions
The garlic bread was yummmmm
Would definitely eat there again

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank TMighell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (67)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

31 - 35 of 67 reviews

Reviewed 20 June 2016

We had some friends up from Sydney and seriously didn't think we would get a table for four at short notice on a Thursday night but we did - most surprising and welcome!

The restaurant is BYO but, being across the road from the Mary Ellen pub and its very well stocked bottle shop, just made it very easy to get something to have with our meals.

We had the marinara and supreme pizzas which looked yummy when they were first brought to the table by the most courteous and friendly waitress. However, the bases were rather soggy (not thin nor crispy) and we felt they both lacked adequate topping.

This may have been a bit disappointing but we would most likely go back but try some of their other yummo dishes which may be selected from the display cabinet - all fresh too!

Shame the sit-down restaurant area isn't just a bit larger.

Date of visit: June 2016
Thank Stewey52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2016

Been a customer now for over 30 years.Small eat in Restaurant.Great pasta and Pizza.Select hot or cold takeaway.Small or large Party Platters are great value.

Date of visit: June 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Golfin16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2016

The pasta and pizza here is amazing, this has been a Merewether favourite ever since I was a kid. You will not be disappointed..

Date of visit: May 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Pat C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2016 via mobile

Have been a local all my life, but have only ever been to Don Beppino's a couple of times years ago. So when we decided to go there to get some takeaway for dinner i couldn't remember much. First of all, the service was terrible. But not all staff, just the grumpy, unhelpful old lady that took/made our order. The pastas were conveniently in the window to look at which was handy instead of picking off the menu, however, stupidly they were not labelled AT ALL and when we asked what a few of them were called, what was in them, etc she could barely look at us and just mumbled their names (which we couldn't understand), chewed on her gum and acted like we were wasting her time or she didn't want to be there. We also asked if we could have a particular dish without mushroom and she snapped saying something like "as you can see they're already pre-mixed so no" which is funny considering we were under the impression it was all made fresh to order. We definitely felt rushed and unappreciated which was unusual for a successful family operated business. The wait wasn't too long, and when we got home we realised one of the pastas wasn't wrapped properly and the mass amounts of sauce had spilled out everywhere. We had both pizzas and pastas and both were okay, but nothing special for the price paid. My pasta in particular (wouldn't have a clue of name thanks to the lady's non existent customer service skills) had way too much pasta and sauce and not much of anything else. I'm confused as to how i've always heard good things about the place as our experience was so terrible. Very disappointed as it's local, but wouldn't go back.

Date of visit: May 2016
Thank Liamjames2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Don Beppino's also viewed

Newcastle, Greater Newcastle
Newcastle, Greater Newcastle
 
Newcastle, Greater Newcastle
Newcastle, Greater Newcastle
 
Newcastle, Greater Newcastle
Newcastle, Greater Newcastle
 

Been to Don Beppino's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing