We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happy to return”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Travelodge Hotel Newcastle
Ranked #13 of 22 Hotels in Newcastle
Australia
Level Contributor
122 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Happy to return”
Reviewed 19 June 2009

Have stayed at Travelodge Newcastle several times over the last three years, and I have been happy to return after each stay. The rooms have always been in generally good condition, comfortable and clean, and the hot buffet breakfast selection has always been very good. Guests now have to pay for parking at the motel - some of the parking is undercover and the carpark can be a bit of a tight squeeze. While in a good location for Newcastle and within walking distance of the city centre, I would not recommend walking back to the hotel alone at night - particularly on a Friday or Saturday night! My most recent stay (a Friday night) had a room on the Eastern side of the motel and, despite being on the sixth floor, I had to turn the television up to hear above the live music coming from the hotel across the road.

The only minor gripe is that this Travelodge does not have stairs (other than the fire stairs, which are alarmed), so guests must use one of the two lifts. With lots of people checking out at the same time on Saturday morning there was a fair wait (i.e. several minutes) for the lifts to service some floors, and if stairs were available it would have been quicker to walk up to the room after breakfast, get the bags and walk back to reception again.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ThinController
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,371 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    256
    467
    409
    148
    91
See reviews for
250
404
102
454
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2009

i was so excited to book travelodge because the photos look great and the pool seems fantastic and according to the description, it's in the heart of the city. we got there and i asked the reception if there was another travelodge because the one we went to had only 6 floors, whereas in the photo it looked like 20 floors at least.

The lobby was next to a bar where a couple of old men were drinking, and one man, obviously very drunk already, stumbling thru the entrance. our room was on the 4th floor, and the hallways to the room are quite dim and daggy. the room has been refurbished, but it was still old in most aspects. the bathroom is so small that the door wouldn't close fully coz the toilet was blocking it. overall it was depressing. we booked to stay for 4 nights but i canceled the remaining nights.

the price was 176 including breakfast, which was very good - had all the basic stuff like bacon, sausages, eggs, tomatoes, and baked beans. they also have a continental breakfast of different cereals, fruits, jams, etc.

the pool was like a bigger bath tub. you can't really do your strokes. just soak in it maybe.

for the price i paid, i would've stayed somewhere newer, like the quest apartments, or add a bit more and stay at the crowne plaza. the travelodge was central, and there's a coles nearby, but you still need a car to get anywhere in newcastle as taxis are scarce.

if you don't mind a small room and a smaller bathroom, then stay at the travelodge. i found it depressing, but maybe my standards are too high.....

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jessica819
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Newcastle hotels

hull
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2008

I found the hotel to have everything you needed. Location isnt as close to the centre but its a 5-10 mins walk to beach. Newcastle has a lovely beach but the main street could do with a lick of paint.
The hotel room was spacious and clean, couldnt fault it for the money.

  • Liked — Room was adaquate
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed November 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fozzyontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiltshire, UK
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 13 August 2008

I stayed here on a Sunday and Monday night and therefore avoided the hen and stag parties.

It was quiet and the room was a standard normal travel lodge room. It was perfect for the price paid and is within walking distance of the quay side and the millenium bridge.

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thegoldfisherkeeper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2008

I arrived at the hotel late, after a cancelled 40 minute flight, followed by a one hour flight and two hour bus ride, so it was after midnight. Tired and wanting to sleep, the staff were great when I arrived. But, my room key didn't work, and two trips back down to reception resulted in me being let into my room by a staff member with a pass key. Good because I could sleep, bad because after breakfast the next morning, after another key reissue and another useless trip to my room to try it, I had to wait 15 minutes for a staff member to arrive to accompany me to my room to let me in - early morning, only one staff member on the reception desk, so she couldn't leave.

It's a reasonable hotel, perhaps a little overpriced, the decor is fine, food at breakfast basic but okay, the staff are friendly and service oriented, and do their best, but the room thing spoiled my stay. It's a short taxi ride from the train station (where the bus dropped us off at midnight), and seems to be reasonably well located for Newcastle things. There's a McDonald's across the road, if that takes your fancy. If you get a room with a key that works, it would be fine I think. And, I have to say, I like the small kitchen set up that Travelodge offers, that suits me much more than having to pay huge amounts for room service.

  • Liked — The hotel was new and clean, and the staff were friendly.
  • Disliked — Room keys that didn't work!
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mazza57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle hotels
1.0 km away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle
Crowne Plaza Newcastle
#3 of 22 in Newcastle
996 reviews
2.3 km away
Quality Hotel Noah's On the Beach
0.1 km away
Ibis Newcastle
Ibis Newcastle
#11 of 22 in Newcastle
680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 km away
Novotel Newcastle Beach
Novotel Newcastle Beach
#4 of 22 in Newcastle
832 reviews
1.2 km away
Junction Hotel
Junction Hotel
#1 of 22 in Newcastle
380 reviews
0.9 km away
The Clarendon Hotel
The Clarendon Hotel
#5 of 22 in Newcastle
396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Hotel Newcastle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Hotel Newcastle

Property: Travelodge Hotel Newcastle
Address: 12 Steel St, Newcastle, New South Wales 2302, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Newcastle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Newcastle
Price range (per night): $107 - $430
Hotel Class:4 star — Travelodge Hotel Newcastle 4*
Number of rooms: 131
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Toga Hotels, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, Odigeo, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Agoda, lastminute.com.au, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Travelodge Hotel Newcastle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Newcastle Hotel Newcastle
Travel Lodge Newcastle
Newcastle Travelodge
Newcastle Travel Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing