We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious steaks and wine, great entrees”
Review of Chophouse Grill

Chophouse Grill
Ranked #108 of 816 Restaurants in Newcastle
Price range: AU$18 - AU$44
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Rib eye cooked for 18 hours in a smokey marinade, then gently grilled to order, might just be the best cut of meat you will eat in your life. At Chophouse the signature Blackened Slow Cooked Rib Eye is incredibly popular because it is incredibly good. The slow cooking process makes the steak as soft as butter and busting with flavour. It is just one feature on an outstanding menu of hearty meal options including six varieties of steaks, ribs, burgers and plenty of tasty options for the whole family. Chophouse is an authentic steak house in New Lambton. Before you begin your dining experience you can view cuts of meat hanging in a chilled display area adjacent to the kitchen. From here you can also watch the chefs at work, stoking the wood fire and cooking steaks to perfection. The classy restaurant brings a touch of rural to the city, with timber features and cowhide chairs to welcome guests. There are a large variety of beers and wines to accompany whatever amazing meal you choose.
Reviewed 10 December 2019 via mobile

The only thing that was average was the chicken ribs which were okay (you can't really have bad fried chicken) but didn't impress at all.

Everything else, including the service, was fantastic. I highly recommend the rattlesteak- their signature steak crumbed with a delicious mix of spices and fried- which I've had twice now. The spring rolls melt in your mouth, and the chorizo and squid entree is absolutely fantastic. The entree share board is a great mix and great value, but the chicken ribs are a bit disappointing.

Wine is outstanding, and perhaps a little pricey.

Date of visit: December 2019
Thank 171traviss
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (149)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 149 reviews

Reviewed 29 November 2019 via mobile

Delicious food, nice atmosphere. My steak was Devine. The kids meals are beautiful and they give the kids a fun little colouring pack which kept them busy. Recommend booking a table in advance

Date of visit: October 2019
Thank thesekingsadventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 9 October 2019 via mobile

Overpriced and poorly presented food with slow and disinterested service. We both ordered the eye fillet, medium rare for $46 a pop. 50 minutes later we were served incredibly dry, overcooked and over seasoned steaks with some sloppily cooked veggies on the side. We raised this with the waiter who claimed that was how medium rare steaks looked and walked away. We raised it again at the counter and the staff member acknowledged they were well done and not medium rare, and advised she would tell the chef. I emailed the restaurant to formally complain and received no response.

For the last 18 months or so, this restaurant has been a regular for our family celebrations. Unfortunately, we won’t be back. Whilst we understand that all restaurants occasionally have a bad day, the complete disinterest and lack of empathy from the staff has ruined it.

Date of visit: October 2019
1  Thank Angela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 26 September 2019 via mobile

One of the best waiters we have ever had. Thank you Matthew for making our night including bring my cocktail’s to a different bar

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank ajlav0404
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 September 2019

We have been to the Chop house grill three times had the slow cooked steak twice it was awesome also went for the pork ribs absolutely delicious. The specials have to be ordered by 6:30pm and are available Monday to Thursday. The food would be fantastic value anyway but with the special discount it is tremendous.

Date of visit: September 2019
    • Service
    • Food
Thank stephencN6699BF
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Chophouse Grill also viewed

Newcastle, Greater Newcastle
Newcastle, Greater Newcastle
 
Newcastle, Greater Newcastle
 

Been to Chophouse Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Australia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.