We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ignore the Maitre'D”
Review of Chophouse Grill

Chophouse Grill
Ranked #108 of 817 Restaurants in Newcastle
Price range: AU$18 - AU$44
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Rib eye cooked for 18 hours in a smokey marinade, then gently grilled to order, might just be the best cut of meat you will eat in your life. At Chophouse the signature Blackened Slow Cooked Rib Eye is incredibly popular because it is incredibly good. The slow cooking process makes the steak as soft as butter and busting with flavour. It is just one feature on an outstanding menu of hearty meal options including six varieties of steaks, ribs, burgers and plenty of tasty options for the whole family. Chophouse is an authentic steak house in New Lambton. Before you begin your dining experience you can view cuts of meat hanging in a chilled display area adjacent to the kitchen. From here you can also watch the chefs at work, stoking the wood fire and cooking steaks to perfection. The classy restaurant brings a touch of rural to the city, with timber features and cowhide chairs to welcome guests. There are a large variety of beers and wines to accompany whatever amazing meal you choose.
Reviewed 30 September 2015

We ate here last week and had a lovely meal. We tried to eat here the first night of our stay in Newcastle and were turned away as we had no reservation despite the fact the restaurant was only one third full, many empty tables. We booked the next night and were again unimpressed with the host who seemed to have a huge chip on his shouder. Once inside our experience changed for the better. Friendly efficient staff and great food. I had the slow cooked lamb risoni which was to die for. Serves are huge, I asked for my leftovers to be packed up, which they were happy to do. I would eat here again happily.

Date of visit: September 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Val G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (149)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

113 - 117 of 149 reviews

Reviewed 28 September 2015 via mobile

Been to chophouse grill Aroind 5 times now.

I am always surprised at the calibre of staff here. More like staff at a hatted restaurant than a steakhouse. Decor is classy. Inside the steakhouse you would never think you are inside a club.

Food is plentiful, well cooked, perfectly presented and quick. I normally have entree for
Main as the servings are large. Good selection of wine.
Photo of sliders 3 ways...hubby's main.

No complaints here.

Date of visit: September 2015
1  Thank Butterwick68
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 September 2015 via mobile

If we ever feel like a good meal of steak or meat we never go past Chophouse. Consistently great food, always great service

Date of visit: September 2015
Thank oj_sb
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 21 September 2015 via mobile

Found this place due to limited choice on a Sunday night and was pleasantly surprised.
The staff were friendly and efficient, we ordered drinks and they were bought to us straight away, and while service was prompt throughout the evening, we were not made to feel rushed.
It is a steakhouse so we ordered steak! The food was well cooked and filling, the portions are a good size while not being too big, pricing is no better or worse than any other steakhouse, around $35 for a steak.
Overall we had a really pleasant evening, unrushed, not cramped, good atmosphere and bloody full when we left.
We'll be back.

Date of visit: September 2015
Thank Wheeeelz
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 September 2015

Stay here again had the steaks as they have changed the restaurants around here. I liked 88 but the Chophouse has now moved in.
My client and I enjoyed our meals. Not cheap, but good large sizing and quick.

Date of visit: August 2015
Thank MarkW465
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Chophouse Grill also viewed

Newcastle, Greater Newcastle
Newcastle, Greater Newcastle
 
Newcastle, Greater Newcastle
 

Been to Chophouse Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Australia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.