We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (767)
Filter reviews
767 results
Traveller rating
112
341
209
62
43
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
112
341
209
62
43
Show reviews that mention
All reviews budget hotel bathroom pod hunter street room was clean short stay breakfast was included per night would stay again queen bed convenient location reception staff saturday night honeysuckle wharf harbour foreshore cafes
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 767 reviews
Reviewed 19 August 2018

The staff at the hotel make this hotel exceptional. They were very helpful prior to arrival, were warmly welcoming on arrival and went 'the extra mile' throughout our stay.Our room had a slither of waterfront view, was sunny and the bed wonderfully comfortable. A winter warmer dinner made up for the chilly breeze outside.The hotel is close to cultural venues, weekend markets and a lovely waterfront walk.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank hawdownunder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisNewcastleGM, General Manager at Ibis Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2018

Dear hawdownunder,
thank you for such a lovely review. It is just great to hear that the team made you feel so welcome and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again
Regards
Jo-Anne Ashby, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2018

The Ibis in Hunter Street is in a perfect location for restaurants, shops and near the waterways. It should be a 'mecca' to visit. Unfortunately, the Council are letting Newcastle down. The streets are dirty and the sidewalk is uneven with tree roots reaching up approximately 7 inches in places as a trip hazard.

If you have a room with an outlook over the water, then you are fortunate. The outlook over Hunter Street, in my opinion, leaves a bit to be desired. My room was small, clean and compact, as was the bathroom. The staff were very polite and helpful. I had breakfast on one morning of my stay, and it was excellent value for the cost. Couldn't do justice and eat it all.

My trip to Newcastle was to attend a funeral. Many calls and web searches later, I could not hire a vehicle for my two day planned visit. All the car hire companies advised that they were sold out, and not hiring until 'possibly the next afternoon'. This made it very difficult to get around.

A bus from the airport and a short walk to the Ibis Hotel was reasonably smooth, took an hour, provided some sight seeing opportunities, and only cost $5.80. Not being able to have access to a vehicle meant that I was able to walk to the Church approximately 15 minutes away, but meant that I was unable to attend the crematorium later in the day and join in the get togethers that had been organised. A taxi back to the airport cost $120.00. If there had been a bus at 4.00am, I would have caught the bus!

Room Tip: A room over looking the river has nice views and is quite. Rooms overlooking Hunter Street and noisey.
  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trish H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisNewcastleGM, General Manager at Ibis Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2018

Dear Trish
thank you for taking the time to post a review.
I am so sorry that the stay was not for a happier reason but was pleased to read that the team were helpful.
Sincerely
Jo-Anne Ashby, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2018

When we entered the hotel lobby and walked to the reception, we were greeted with warm and friendly smile, together with a professional attitude with made our first impression of the hotel a good one. The room on first glance was small, therefore wheeling 2 average sized suitcase around and finding a place to keep them were they wouldn't get in the way was a little difficult. The room however had everything we needed. A reasonably priced mini bar (free tea, coffee and water), a comfortable queen bed, and a bathroom with all the amenities required. The buffet breakfast had a variety of foods and was delicious, Checkout was quick and easy. Thank you Ibis for a wonderful stay in Newcastle.

Room Tip: Check in with light luggage or small suitcases. Rooms are comfortable but small.
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisNewcastleGM, General Manager at Ibis Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2018

Dear Jan R
what a fabulous review. I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that the team looked after you!
Regards
Jo-Anne Ashby, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2018

Stayed for one night getting in late leaving next morning. Hotel was quite adequate for the price. Staff were fantastic at check in and check out. Room was clean and it was quite enough despite all the light rail work going on. Breakfast were good and once again staff were very friendly

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank SawtellRocket70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisNewcastleGM, General Manager at Ibis Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2018

Dear SawtellRocket70,
thank you for taking the time to post a review, it is really great to hear you enjoyed your breakfast and that the team looked after you
Regards
Jo-Anne Ashby, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2018

Great location and top staff. The assistant manager Taylor is just terrific.
Everyone there so helpful and the room spotless.
I have stayed at the Ibis five times and everytime is just magic.
Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank susanehardy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisNewcastleGM, General Manager at Ibis Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2018

Dear susanehardy
what an amazing review! I am so pleased you have enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back for your 6th stay! Taylah was just thrilled to receive your feedback
Sincerely
Jo-Anne Ashby, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews