We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (184)
Filter reviews
184 results
Traveller rating
34
65
50
18
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
34
65
50
18
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviews huge shower head converted convent nice furniture breakfast and dinner stayed for two nights sunday night room service room was spacious hunter valley wineries an upgrade tea coffee in the room booked a standard room an overnight stay nice stay netball gateway orphanage
Filter
Updating list...
69 - 74 of 184 reviews
Reviewed 11 September 2016 via mobile

I had a wedding to go to in the Hunter. I booked a standard room. It was nicely refurbished, good bathroom, had everything we needed. Staff were lovely and helpful, we will definitely be staying again!

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with friends
Thank kaydee595
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2016 via mobile

Large room with balcony access. Older hotel but has been renovated. Check in was quick & easy. Room service was reasonably priced, very prompt & the room service staff were fabulous. Spacious bathroom with good water pressure in shower. Check out was quick & easy. All staff were wonderful. Walls are a little thin. Lovely neighbour kept me up for most of the night on the phone and turning on taps but apart from that, would stay again.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled on business
1  Thank Mel Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2016 via mobile

Mercure Monte Pio stay was shocking and was a good example of how accommodation should not be! We were greeted by a dead cockroach in the carpet, carpets old and smelling dust, no mild in the fridge for tea/coffee, when tried to contact reception phone in the room not working, stain marks on bathroom bench tops and walls, toaster and kettle uncleaned and very dirty outside, found stains on the bathroom towels, absolute horror story!! I would never go back, cannot believe that Mercure has such poorly maintained rooms at high rates! Please see the attached photos taken - unbelievably bad!!

Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
6  Thank TravellerAussieGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2016 via mobile

The restaurant is open mainly to cater for in house guests and does not seem to promote its existence to the local community but the dining experience is one of the best in Maitland, genteel fine dining. Unfortunately, the restaurant is not open to the public every day and therefore booking is essential. The menu is not extensive but there are enough choices and the quality of the food is very good. The service is attentive and personal and the atmosphere is refined. I recently discovered that the Monte Pio is now an Accor property with Accor club dining privileges which makes eating at the restaurant even more appealing.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
Thank cmistoneridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2016 via mobile

Stayed here for 1 night on a business trip. The room was well appointed with all the basics you need for a night. (If you aren't a 'princess' and don't go in there expecting the Hilton, then you'll be fine). The room was clean, had a nice big king bed, a work desk, tv, great reverse cycle aircon (it was cold outside and it heated the room perfectly), iron & ironing board, mini fridge, tea & coffee in the room, and a modern renovated bathroom. My room was on the inside of the building and instead of a window it had a door that led out onto a verandah that is shared by several other rooms - so be sure to keep the drapes closed if you want privacy, as anyone can walk past and look in.

Check in and out was fast. Our group didn't eat at the restaurant so I can't comment on that department. We went to the local pub about a 3 minute walk away for a meal.

Overall, it's a top spot to rest your head for a night or two.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled on business
Thank Dainus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews