We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a let down”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mandelson's of Goulburn
Ranked #1 of 7 Goulburn B&B and Inns
Reviewed 8 February 2016

My advice would be to stay somewhere else.
We live about 100km away and I wanted to celebrate our Wedding Anniversary at a nice motel that would spoil my wife.
How very disappointed I was. Nothing from the website was available to us on our special day.
There was no admittance to the advertised historic house, we were told that is was all Private Residence and we were not to enter. Service was almost non-existent, breakfast was not offered apart from a small container of milk for tea.
Most of the advertised amenities were not on offer, no plunger coffee, no sitting room, no tour of the Historic House, no four poster bed.
We were advised to park in the street because the gate would be locked. We ended up eating take away in the courtyard on hard wooden seats. Wine glasses were supplied by our hosts,though one was cracked. Cutlery was reluctantly offered, which we refused due to our rising bad tempers, at this point we were feeling like unwanted guests.
To top off the evening, the smell of sewerage was overwhelming.
BM and KM

Room Tip: Stay at the local pub
  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank 152bazzam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (110)
There are newer reviews for Mandelson's of Goulburn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 110 reviews

Reviewed 17 January 2016 via mobile

Beautifully restored property with delightful hosts who were warm, welcoming and incredibly helpful. The welcome shortbread was great as were the fresh apricots we were encouraged to pick from their tree. Our executive room was luxuriously decorated in traditional theme and the facilities and extra touches were 5 star. An absolute oasis in a town full of the usual motel accommodation.

Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank judeles500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2015

Originally the very best of hotels in Goulburn, has been lovingly full restored. All decor and fittings are top notch and depict era when hotel was at its best. Room quite spacious and very comfortable. Ensuite small but functional. Well optioned continental breakfast. Hosts are very pleasant and easy to chat with.

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Stuart M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2015

Mandelson's is set in a convenient location close to the main street, but on a corner with a major truck route which was noisy during the night. It is a lovely building and very interesting inside, it is really a museum. We arrived on a cold afternoon and found the building quite cold, and it never really improved. The heating is switched on and off at prescribed times and we were cold in our room, although very snug once in the comfy bed. The breakfast is a basic continental - cereal, yoghurt, canned fruit and microwaved pastry, with plunger coffee available. If you want to park, there is really only space for one vehicle on the premises, although secure parking is offered next door until about 7.30 am. If this is important to you (as it was to us) make sure you ask about parking so you don't end up having to leave the car on the street. I'm glad we stayed there, to see the building and historical displays, but not sure I would hurry back, particularly in winter.

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank happytravellersdandh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2015

If you are into history, this is a must. And Goulburn is a must place to stop. We were contemplating staying at Canberra for the night, then decided a small country town would be easier and quicker - so glad we selected Goulburn. It is obvious that Steve & Claire are enthusiastic about their Mandelson's - it is like walking into a different world. Our room was a good size & very comfortable with a modern ensuite. A Continental Breakfast is served in the large Dining room - & most adequate to send you on your way for the day.
There is tea/coffee making facilities in the room, but no fridge - however you can store any 'çold' goods in a kitchen fridge.
We will certainly be back & for a longer stay.

Room Tip: if you dont like stairs, request a ground floor room
  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank MyallTeaGardens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Goulburn hotels
1.6 km away
Best Western Goulburn
Best Western Goulburn
#2 of 16 in Goulburn
409 reviews
1.3 km away
Comfort Inn Posthouse
Comfort Inn Posthouse
#6 of 16 in Goulburn
104 reviews
0.3 km away
Goulburn Central Motor Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 km away
Mercure Goulburn
Mercure Goulburn
#1 of 16 in Goulburn
689 reviews
2.7 km away
Willows Motel Goulburn
Willows Motel Goulburn
#4 of 16 in Goulburn
285 reviews
0.5 km away
Goulburn Motor Inn
Goulburn Motor Inn
#5 of 16 in Goulburn
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Recently Reviewed Hotels around Goulburn

Been to Mandelson's of Goulburn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandelson's of Goulburn

Address: 160 Sloane St | corner Clinton Street, Goulburn, New South Wales 2580, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Goulburn
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Goulburn
Price Range: $162 - $171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mandelson's of Goulburn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the warm and welcoming atmosphere of Mandelson's of Goulburn, an 1840's fully restored and refurbished Colonial Landmark on the edge of Goulburn's CBD within easy walking distance to the main street for shopping and a great selection of Restaurants.Enjoy one of our luxuriously appointed guest rooms, central heating, air conditioning, electric blankets, free wireless broadband. Some off-street parking is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wotif.com, Evoline ltd, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com and lastminute.com.au so you can book your Mandelson's of Goulburn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandelson's Of Goulburn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing