We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
William B
Dubbo, Australia

Dinner for two

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 19 Feb 2019via mobile
Went in for a special dinner and was quite happy with the friendly staff and the food was very nice indeed. The entree was destroyed in no time at all, the mains were just as good. We will be heading back for a dinner again soon.
Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
AU$175
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    AU$175
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$150
  • Hotels.com
    AU$175
0.3 km from Matilda Motor Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$134
Fully refundable
Multiple ways to pay
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$184
  • Algotels
  • Priceline
0.2 km from Matilda Motor Inn
Free parking
Pool
AU$269
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    AU$269
  • Agoda.com
    AU$206
  • Hotels.com
    AU$269
0.4 km from Matilda Motor Inn
Free Wifi
Fitness centre
The Pool at the Cattleman's Country Motor Inn
AU$224
  • Expedia.com
    AU$224
  • Hotels.com
    AU$224
  • Priceline
    AU$224
1.2 km from Matilda Motor Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$217
Fully refundable
  • Official Site
    AU$189
  • Priceline
    AU$217
  • Vio.com
0.6 km from Matilda Motor Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$158
  • Booking.com
    AU$177
  • Priceline
    AU$177
  • eDreams
    AU$177
0.2 km from Matilda Motor Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$207
  • Expedia.com
    AU$187
  • Priceline
    AU$214
  • Hotels.com
    AU$208
2.4 km from Matilda Motor Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior view
AU$80
  • Booking.com
    AU$80
  • Priceline
    AU$80
  • Agoda.com
    AU$80
1.2 km from Matilda Motor Inn
Free parking
Pool
our very spacious dining room can easily cater for all of your function options
AU$92
  • Priceline
    AU$95
  • Vio.com
    AU$83
  • Expedia.com
    AU$87
0.9 km from Matilda Motor Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hotel exterior
AU$125
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    AU$125
  • Priceline
    AU$125
  • Hotels.com
    AU$125
2.0 km from Matilda Motor Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Dubbo
Reviews (587)
Filter reviews
587 results
Traveller rating
363
157
30
13
24
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
363
157
30
13
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviews budget room bedroom cottage executive room new managers clean rooms great place to stay electric blankets on site restaurant friendly service rsl club walking distance bed was comfortable good size single bed home away from home the main street centre of town
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
194 - 199 of 587 reviews
Reviewed 7 February 2019

We booked the whole venue for an Apex (Community Service organisation) Zone 9 Reunion (NSW) on 26/28 October 2018. We brought approx. 80 people from different parts of Australia to the venue over the course of the weekend. Previous owners, Murray and Sharon, were most obliging and couldn't do enough to help us when the booking was made. Regrettably, by the time we got to Dubbo, they had gone, and a husband and wife team, were operating as relief managers.

Food was great, rooms were good, Bar prices were reasonable, but oh brother, the attitude and customer service skills of the then relieving managers was deplorable. We had numerous complaints over the course of the weekend about the rudeness and lack of customer face to face skills.

On the Friday morning of the event, during setup (before our guests had arrived) I had a stand up yelling match with the husband of the duo, all over the movement of one table, to accommodate our memorobilla. The husband was abusive, yelling and had a couldn't care less attitude. This flowed onto the wife over the course of the weekend. I reminded the husband that we were his customers, bringing approx. $15,000 to the venue over one weekend, which he didn't seem to care..

Our guests made the most of the weekend at the venue, but the lack of customer service skills by these relief managers dampened the whole weekend.

As a result, our organising committee are now looking at alternative venues in Western NSW.

I understand that new managers have been installed. I wish them well in their attempts to recover the damaged brand caused by the relief managers.

Room tip: The Corporate rooms are bigger than the standard rooms.
Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank millerk259
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
matildamotorinn, Owner at Matilda Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2019

Dear millerk259,

Gary here, owner of Matilda Motor Inn. Thank you so very much for bringing your dreadful experience to our attention.

We are sincerely sorry & so very disappointed that you & your group had such a shocking experience with the short term manager. Yes, you are right, the previous managers were moved on very quickly. Infact, only a couple of weeks after your stay. And our new managers Karl & Georgia are doing a brilliant job rebuilding relationships & reputations. As I am sure you can see from recent posts, our guests are very much enjoying the wonderful customer service, cleanliness of the motel & fabulous meals under the management of Karl & Georgia.

Again, I am personally very sorry that you had this experience at Matilda. I have no doubt if you & your group decide to stay at Matilda again in the future you'll see that things have improved out of sight.

Best wishes to you & your APEX group for the year ahead.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2019

Thanks for being so welcoming Karl and Georgia. I am a regular guest who travels for work and for appointments in Dubbo from further our West. You are wonderful new managers, so kind. The food has really stepped up a notch, the rooms are clean and comfortable, I appreciate getting a better rate when we called and booked direct rather than through those other sites.

Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Sarah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 26 January 2019

Some changes here since a year ago. A great stopover place enroute either east or west. Staff were friendly. WE rented a cabin this time, at the rear of the complex. It had a good sized king bed and a made up sofa bed, so plenty of space. The cabin also contains a kitchenette and a good sized bathroom. The A/C was quiet and effective, especially given the 40+ degree temperatures being experienced in the region at present. The large pool, partially shaded, was a welcome relief at the end of a hot day. We were happy to come back.

Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank PLCSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 January 2019

Stayed here earlier in 2018 & more than happy to return. Stayed in a Standard Room which more than suits my needs. Perfectly clean and spacious. Staff are very friendly & helpful. Unfortunately the chef is enjoying a brief, well deserved, holiday so I don't get to enjoy his perfectly cooked steak :( Will be passing through Dubbo again in 5 weeks so looking forward to my steak then :)

Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank tahimccann
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 26 December 2018

Have stayed a couple of times. Last trip booked a Corporate Room. Much more room as the std rooms are quite cramped. The rooms a clean, the bed comfortable and being just off the highway is easy to access but nice and quiet. Will be staying here every time I am in Dubbo from now on.

Room tip: Corporate rooms are much bigger
Date of stay: December 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank ontheroadagain233
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews