We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A really excellent stay over a weekend for our son's wedding at Bignor Park”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The White Horse at Sutton
Ranked #1 of 1 Sutton B&B and Inns
Reviewed 25 September 2015

We were made welcome and given comfortable, good sized rooms with en suites. It met all our needs. Our little dog was also made welcome and we had no problems with her staying there. We had a very nice pre wedding dinner and breakfast the day after with all the family. The hotel was very accommodating in arranging these meals as there were extra people. It is a friendly, helpful, cosy and characterful inn.

Room Tip: The ones at the front are nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Ann C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (125)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

33 - 37 of 125 reviews

Reviewed 1 September 2015 via mobile

We went and the kids had the mixed grill, what great value for money, it worked out cheaper than McDonald's which is great for over the holidays.
It is pub food.
Great play area outside too.
Staff friendly.

Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
Thank SharonDryhurst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2015 via mobile

We stayed here whilst attending a wedding nearby. There were 4 couples altogether and all 4 were happy with the location, price, hosts and food! Having seen 4 of the 5 rooms available they were all nicely presented and one in particular had a quirky balcony and 4 poster bed leading to a further garden up a small slope.

On arrival we ate and although we all had burgers the burger was by far the best I've had in a long time. The owners kindly gave us directions to the venue for the wedding and furthermore re opened the bar early in the evening to allow us to have pre drinks.

Breakfast was of plenty with as much as you wanted to eat and good quality.

We really enjoyed our mini break here and thank you for making us feel so welcome. If only you were closer to home, it's a good contender for my local.

Ignore negative reviews this is a cute place in the middle of nowhere. If you are looking for this then book.

Stayed: August 2015, travelled with friends
Thank Vincep1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2015 via mobile

Having stayed here but not trying the restaurant on that visit we vowed to return. We did, and wow!!! This guy can cook!! Really fantastic tasting, well presented food. Quiet night in the pub but still made to feel very welcome, not rushed. Would put high on my recommendations list.

Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank James W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2015

Booked through laterooms.com but the room was not as described and service was at best surly. By booking the more expensive room (£85pn) meant that early arrival was possible ie before 6pm. This was impossible as the inn was not contactable from 4:30pm to 5:30pm.
On arrival we were ignored for some time. Once we had the attention of the barmaid she insisted on serving anyone except us. We assume this is due to understaffing. Eventually we were shown to our room, no attempt was made to hide the inconvenience to the member of staff.
The inn was advertised as newly decorated, new beds and Egyptian cotton sheets. The decoration was not new, the mattress was sunken and the sheets were polyester. We decided not to stay.
When we went to inform the staff that we were leaving we were told by the barmaid that we couldn't speak to her because she's not the owner. The owner was a long time in appearing and told us "If you don't like it, don't stay, no charge!" The tone was far from friendly.

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank steebiefish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to The White Horse at Sutton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Horse at Sutton

Address: Whitelocks The Street, Sutton RH20 1PS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Sutton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Sutton
Price Range: $95 - $147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The White Horse at Sutton 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The pub/Inn is situated near Arundel/Chichester and Petworth. It is a small family run place with friendly staff We decorated the pub in a simple style without compromising its character, the pub has log fires a small restaurant with unique arched ceiling and nooks and crannies to sit and dineOur food is all fresh, simple but cooked well and good value ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your The White Horse at Sutton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing