We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the bad news is: this is already good in te anau.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas
Ranked #9 of 23 Hotels in Te Anau
Certificate of Excellence
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“the bad news is: this is already good in te anau.”
Reviewed 11 May 2012

the quality of hotels and restaurants in te anau are generally very VERY average if not below. for that prices are extremely high. once i entered this villa park it felt like a deserted movie set from the 70s. the villas are very out of date, very close together and the windows face in all direction with only blinds to get privacy. i "upgraded" to the hotel rooms which were surprisingly clean and new. according to the front desk renovated 3 years ago. bathroom was new. a relief.
but since one is in the middle of nowwhere everything costs. no wifi in the room but at least in the lounge area for free. dining is a ripoff. at least 30 bucks for very very average main courses. the soup of the day cost 12 and was also the same soup being served the next morning at their breakfast buffet. fortunately i had a very friendly staff. although one should not expect a delighted answer if one requests to "extend" for another night - rather "but i cannot give you your initial rate". in general people in the south seem quite harsh and cold compared to the north i noticed. so i tried to get used to it.
the sauna and pool area is so early 80s that it is cool again. one truely feels like in another decade. this actually could be really charming if it was well maintained and sanitaries were new.
the place is huge and meant for large loads of tourists who just stay there to see milford sound and the boring glow worm caves. thats why the whole place and hotel feel like a motorway restaurant. you quickly pass through. dont really bother to complain much because the other guests incl yourself probably wont return soon anyway.

Room Tip: dont take the villas. the hotel rooms are renovated. the villas are not.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hedonisticjetset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brent S, General Manager at Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas, responded to this review, 30 September 2014
Thanks for your review and time taken to write it. We appreciate your comments

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

743 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    234
    270
    182
    35
    22
See reviews for
141
409
24
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2012

We stayed here two nights as a base for Milford Sound and Queenstown holiday. We were impressed by the lake views and size of room but we were very angry with frontline service from one staff member in particular. Maybe some training in how to speak to customers when checking in might help. Bad attitude was given when a question was misunderstood is not the way to speak to customers staying at your hotel. Because of this we will not be staying here again when coming back to Te Anau.This is a real shame as it was coming to end of our holiday and we had received excellent service from all other accommodation in New Zealand. Also reflects badly on the rest of the hotel in frontline staff and management.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tropicalbliss12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brent S, General Manager at Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas, responded to this review, 30 September 2014
Thanks for your review and time taken to write it. We appreciate your comments

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2012

Everything you could hope for in accommodation except atmosphere. Cannot fault this place. It is just not our demographic. Agree with other reviewers comments on the retirement village feel. Also agree on the grotty spa The rooms are big, beds are really comfy and the gardens are lovely.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brent S, General Manager at Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas, responded to this review, 30 September 2014
Thanks for your review and time taken to write it. We appreciate your comments

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Feilding, New Zealand
Level Contributor
54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2012

Having read the reviews good and bad for this complex we were pleasantly surprised and also bemused at the negative feedback.

We had an upstairs room overlooking the lake with a kingsize bed that must have been XXL!

Staff were friendly and helpful, wi fi in the bar was great, room was fresh and clean

One surprise was the lack of Sky TV, so had to go next door to the Moose to watch the rugby.

Location is great, is one of the nearest to the visitor centres, shops and cafes.

Room Tip: Some upstairs rooms have decks, all the downstairs rooms have decks and chairs, you couldn't bea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mahuia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brent S, General Manager at Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas, responded to this review, 30 September 2014
Thanks for your review and time taken to write it. We appreciate your comments

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
51 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012 via mobile

A great spot and a beautiful room, of the 5-10 hotels we used in our month on the south island this was close to our favourite. The villa was a good size, had a nice layout, good bathroom, everything was clean and it was an easy walk to town. Staff were always helpful and the free wifi in the lobby/bar didn't miss a beat. Would always come back here if staying in Te Anau again!!

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Shane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brent S, General Manager at Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas, responded to this review, 30 September 2014
Thanks for your review and time taken to write it. We appreciate your comments

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Te Anau hotels
0.3 km away
Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau
0.1 km away
Lakefront Lodge
Lakefront Lodge
#3 of 23 in Te Anau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
0.9 km away
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#5 of 23 in Te Anau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
0.2 km away
Explorer Motel & Apartments
0.1 km away
Radfords on the Lake
Radfords on the Lake
#1 of 23 in Te Anau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas

Property: Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas
Address: 64 Lakefront Drive, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park 9681, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Te Anau
#7 Luxury Hotel in Te Anau
#13 Romantic Hotel in Te Anau
Price range (per night): $138 - $303
Hotel Class:4 star — Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the Te Anau Lake Front, a short stroll from the Te Anau Town Centre, Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas is perfectly situated for you to make the most of this beautiful area. Surrounded by extensive, colourful gardens and overlooking spectacular Lake Te Anau and the Fiordland ranges, this Hotel and Villa accommodation sets the tone for your stay in one of the world’s most breathtaking regions. Designed for your comfort, we offer 115 luxurious rooms, including Hotel rooms with Garden and breathtaking Lake Views, and a range of spacious One and Two Bedroom Garden View Villas. On-site is the renowned MacKinnon Room Restaurant offering the very best of South Island cuisine, and the Explorer Bar and Lakefront Terrace where you can relax and enjoy the uninterrupted views of Lake Te Anau. The hotel offers the largest hotel based conference centre in the area, and its very own lakefront wedding chapel, plus extensive recreational facilities, including a spa, sauna, heated outdoor swimming pool and massage services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Wotif.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Distinction Te Anau Hotel And Villas Fiordland National Park
Distinction Hotel Te Anau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing