We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
USD 121
USD 96
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lakefront Lodge(Te Anau)(Great Value!)
USD 112
USD 109
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 132/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Bella Vista Motel Te Anau(Te Anau)(Great Value!)
USD 78
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 92/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas(Te Anau)(Great Value!)
USD 118
USD 115
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 148
USD 139
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Arran Motel(Te Anau)(Great Value!)
USD 77
USD 69
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park(Te Anau)(Great Value!)
USD 42
USD 34
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 38/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Te Anau Top 10 Holiday Park(Te Anau)(Great Value!)
USD 52
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aden Motel(Te Anau)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (691)
Filter reviews
691 results
Traveller rating
515
137
30
9
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
515
137
30
9
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmilford soundbedroom suitethe ground floornew zealandspa bathexcellent locationfirst floorrestaurants and shopslittle touchescomfortable bedthree nightsa great place to stayfree wifisky tvsouth islandglow worm cavesyogurt
Filter
Updating list...
26 - 31 of 691 reviews
Reviewed 5 April 2018

Kerri, owner of Radford’s, makes sure you have a truly magnificent time in Te Anau. She provided concierge level care. Radford’s is 5 star place to stay in New Zealand. The location, the view of the lake, all of the extra amenities, I love everything about Radford’s.

Room Tip: Hotel Rating buttons didn’t work. I give Radford’s 5 stars for Service, Value and Location.
Stayed: March 2018, travelled solo
Thank 232MaryN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Radfords56, Owner at Radfords on the Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Hi 232MaryN,

This was a lovely start to the day reading your kind comments. We are always delighted when our guests have loved their stay and enjoyed our hospitality.

Thank you for choosing to stay at Radfords and we hope to see you back again.

Kind regards,
Kerri & Steve James

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018

We stayed a total of 10 days in Te Anau, two 4 night blocks at Radfords. Kerri was a fantastic host and very helpful in assisting us during our stay. We went off on a 3 day tramp in-between stays so they helped to store our luggage. The accommodation was excellent, we had a studio GF room. Large enough so that we had storage space and enough room for the longer stay. A great big bath too! The only downside was the small kitchen area, but we managed to cook simple pasta meal on two nights and there is a massive selection of great places to eat in Te Anau itself which is minutes walk away. We also needed to do washing whilst staying and the facilities were excellent. Highly recommend staying here - clean, comfortable and modern.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank RachelAlex2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Radfords56, Owner at Radfords on the Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Hi RachelAlex2018,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. You were both an absolute pleasure to host, I'm sorry that I wasn't here on check out to say goodbye but Shelley passed onto me just how much you enjoyed your time here. The double spa bath is a welcome sight especially for our guests that have walked one of Fiordlands spectacular tracks. The kitchen in the studios are a little smaller so we have had installed the undercover barbecue area behind the ground floor laundry to give guests more flexibility with their cooking. We hope you can make it back again in the future to do another hike.

Kind regards,
Kerri & Steve James

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018 via mobile

Loved the location of this hotel and our room was attractive, comfortable and sparkling clean. Leading up to our stay the owners could not have been more responsive and helpful. They booked a trip to Milford Sound for us with pickup at the hotel. They also advised we could leave our car at their property while we spent a night on Doubtful Sound. So what was the problem? The day before our scheduled departure, we asked for a one hour delay in our checkout time so we could be picked up at the hotel at 11 am for our trip to Doubtful Sound. The owner hemmed and hawed saying they would have to get in to get the linens--to the point that I said never mind. So we left at 10 and had to cart our stuff up to the Relaxing Journeys Office to begin our trip to Doubtful Sound. Not the end of the world, but certainly not the convenience we expected.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Judgefoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Radfords56, Owner at Radfords on the Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Hi Judgefoodie,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review and for choosing to stay at Radfords. We are pleased that your room and our service met with your expectations and that you enjoyed the convenience of being able to leave your car here whilst on your overnight excursion. We are sorry that you felt the check out time of 10am wasn't acceptable, as we have very high cleaning standards and to give the room time to air out before the next guests arrival and to get linen through the laundries on a busy day this is the best we could do with back to back bookings.

We hope you have enjoyed the rest of your holiday.

Kind regards,
Kerri & Steve James

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2018

On arrival at Radfords we were met by Kerri, what a lovely lady, so welcoming and keen to ensure our stay in Te Anau was the best it could be. She recommended we took a trip to Milford Sound the following day with the company Trips and Tramps, we had originally planned to drive up there, but on hearing what Kerri had to say we decided to go with her recommendation, and how glad we were. The trip was excellent, with Douglas as our guide, everything was so well organised and this made our trip to Milford Sound all the more special.
Accomodation in Radfords is absolutely first class, the rooms being beautifully furnished, and well thought out, our spa bath was lovely at the end of a long day. The view overlooking Lake Te Anau is beautiful, it made sitting out on our veranda with a glass of vino very enjoyable
I would definitely recommend a stay here, nothing was too much trouble for Kerri and her hard working team, the welcome you receive is fantastic and the rooms are awesome.

Stayed: February 2018
Thank 60sued2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Radfords56, Owner at Radfords on the Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2018

Hi 60sued2018,

Thank you so much for placing your valued feedback and for choosing to stay at Radfords. Always nice to hear that our guests have had a great experience and that you enjoyed our southern hospitality. We do encourage people to take a small bus to Milford as you are getting an informative commentary with local guides and they know all of the good stops along the way with the added bonus of the driver getting a day off to sit back and relax!

We hope that you had an enjoyable end to your holiday and wish you well.

Kind regards,
Kerri & Steve James

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2018 via mobile

The Radfords is a little more money than we typically spend on hotels, but it was well worth the money. We had a lot of space in the 2 bedroom apartment and felt right at home with all the extras in the room. The fridge was well stocked and we were able to make breakfast for ourselves every morning. We also used the tour booking services offered through the hotel and found the tours to be great. Kerri is incredibly helpful with tours, town info, and other questions we had. She also emailed us to let us know that we forgot a couple of items in the room and asked where she could mail them to. This hotel exceeded our expectations.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
Thank Lindsey P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Radfords56, Owner at Radfords on the Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2018

Hi Lindsey P,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Radfords and for taking the time to review your stay. Lovely to hear that you enjoyed your time here and that you felt right at home. Our breakfasts are always well received with the plentiful amount and the convenience of having everything there to make at your own leisure in the morning. It was our pleasure to give you our recommendations and to also book your tours so that you could make the most of your time spent here.

We hope that you have taken away many wonderful memories of your time in NZ.

Kind regards,
Kerri & Steve James

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews