We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not My Cup of Tea”
Review of Bella Vista Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bella Vista Motel
Ranked #7 of 22 Hotels in Te Anau
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 21 March 2012

Our compact Queen Studio Unit was the smallest room I have ever seen. Fortunately the wardrobe was large enough to accommodate the luggage. The bathroom was a decent size and the room was clean. There was a toaster and microwave. The location was excellent -
a two minute walk through the gardens to town. The queen size bed however was hard and uncomfortable: the worst we had in our two week trip.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (508)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

432 - 436 of 508 reviews

Reviewed 26 February 2012

We had two stays here pre and post Milford Track Tramp. Its about 500m off the lakefront and the room we chose was very small but just adequate. It's a stroll through the park into town, and Bella Vista is very peaceful. The manageress is lovely and nothing was a problem for her. We would use it again, but might consider another motel closer to the lake with views

Room Tip: Just be aware that some rooms are small
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Room was small. No sink, no microwave, no 2nd end table, no WiFi and no flat screen tv with limited channels. However, room & bathroom had a good heater and laundry room was also available at a reasonable cost. My IPad was able to pick up a WiFi network from a motel across the street and as a result, I was able to use that network to purchase 50Mb through Zenbu. Overall, I would've spent an extra night in Queenstown and taken a tour from there to Milford Sound and bypassed a stay in Te Anau.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RicknElsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2012

this motel is presentable enough on the outside and close enough to the small centre of Te Anau. On the inside it looks dated compared with the other Bella Vista we used around the South Island. No wireless internet was available and the old CRT television placed high up did nothing to improve the image.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fairviewbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2012

We stayed at the Bella Vista late December, as you expect from Bella Vista they are all the same. This time we had a downstairs disabbled room, although adequate the bathroom was fine no faults, the rooms are not that big. The kitchen facilities although adequate are sparse we stayed in other studio units on our trip and they were far better in the kitchen side of things.

The plus side of things right in the centre of Te Anau, good car parking. I find Bella Vistas the same price everywhere and were one of the dearest on our trip for value for money.
Not a bad stay though.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NZWoody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Te Anau hotels
0.9 km away
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
0.2 km away
Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas
0.2 km away
Lakefront Lodge
Lakefront Lodge
#2 of 22 in Te Anau
389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Explorer Motel & Apartments
0.6 km away
ASURE Amber Court Motel
ASURE Amber Court Motel
#8 of 22 in Te Anau
274 reviews
0.5 km away
Aden Motel
Aden Motel
#5 of 22 in Te Anau
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bella Vista Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bella Vista Motel

Address: 9 Mokoroa Street, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Te Anau
#3 Romantic Hotel in Te Anau
#6 Luxury Hotel in Te Anau
#11 Family Hotel in Te Anau
Price Range: $129 - $235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bella Vista Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We welcome you to the Bella Vista Te Anau Motel. Te Anau is the hub of the Fiordland region and the perfect base for your adventures. From the moment you arrive, you'll enjoy the convenience of being located in close proximity to the Te Anau town center for business, shops, entertainment and other activities. We are easy to find on Mokoroa Street, just two hours' drive from Queenstown and two hours drive north of Invercargill. Situated in a quiet location, adjacent to a park and the closest motel to the town center, we are just a few minutes stroll from the lakefront. We have ample safe parking so you can leave your car and explore on foot. Unlimited free WIFI is available with a spacious work desk in every room. Units vary from just tea and toast making facilities to those with cooking facilities. We offer continental breakfasts and evening meals charge back facilities. You can be assured of a warm welcome at reception where we will assist you in every way possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, lastminute.com.au, HotelQuickly, Hooroo Pty Ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Bella Vista Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bella Vista Hotel
Bella Vista Te Anau
Bella Vista Motel Te Anau, Fiordland National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing