We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Te Anau Highlights & Lord of the Rings Small Group Tour from Te Anau
14

Book in advance
from
AU$186.08
per adult
Check availabilityView full product details
  
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Ways to Experience Te Anau Bird Sanctuary
from AU$186.08
More Info
from AU$724.69
More Info
Reviews (323)
Filter reviews
323 results
Traveller rating
149
106
51
12
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
149
106
51
12
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews native birds gold coin donation free attraction free entry great opportunity to see new zealand worth a visit walk around lovely walk duck takahe kaka enclosures feeding chick doc aviary
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
209 - 214 of 323 reviews
Reviewed 9 November 2017

There isn’t much free to visit these days so this small collection of native birds is a welcome find. The takahe was the one we found most interesting with its characteristic hesitant walk. There isn’t a lot here and it relies on visitor donations to keep it going.

Date of experience: November 2017
Thank Mark T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 30 October 2017

Small bird sanctuary. Go at feeding time !. You get up close, into some of the enclosures, and the commentary from the Ranger brings it alive.

The DoC info centre can tell you when feeding time is. Was 9.30am at my visit.

Date of experience: October 2017
1  Thank NZerGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 October 2017

Daily feedings every morning offer visitors the chance to step inside the Takahe enclosures. As there are only about 350 in the wild this is a must see if you'd like the chance to see a live Takahe and other birds!

Date of experience: October 2017
1  Thank Eric V
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 26 October 2017 via mobile

Short walk along the Te Anau shoreline. Variety of birds that are easily viewed and easy to access from paths. Donation box provided and well worth the donation to get up close with these amazing birds! Visited with our 3 year old son and he loved feeding the ducks with food provided by staff. Highly recommended!!

Date of experience: October 2017
1  Thank KatherineG1840
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 24 October 2017

We stopped off here on our way back from Milford Sound to Queenstown and it was a great place to visit and see some endangered species and absolutely fascinating.

Date of experience: October 2017
1  Thank 1945DJM
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews