We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Onsen Hot Pools Retreat & Day Spa
Open today: 9:00 am - 10:00 pm
Save
Review Highlights
onsen hot pool

a beautiful onsen spa in such a lovely spot. We loved the original onsen hot pool experience, it... read more

Reviewed 6 days ago
meganagladman
,
Australia
Nice way to spend a relaxing afternoon

Nice relaxing way to spend an afternoon with a drink and a snack in the hot-tub. Views were... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
taunts75
,
Menai, Australia
Read all 2,258 reviews
  
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Recommended experiences in and around Queenstown
from AU$279.59
More Info
from AU$152.49
More Info
from AU$111.28
More Info
from AU$599.42
More Info
Reviews (2,258)
Filter reviews
2,258 results
Traveller rating
1,716
364
102
44
32
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,716
364
102
44
32
Show reviews that mention
All reviews shotover river private pool ultimate relaxation retractable roof perfect temperature my partner perfect end time slot amazing views new zealand tub session jets mountains nz
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
827 - 832 of 2,258 reviews
Reviewed 26 May 2019 via mobile

We booked well in advance as Onsen Pools is clearly very popular. We used the complementary shuttle (must be booked in advance) which was on time taking us there. We had to wait quite a long time for the shuttle back to the town centre due to timing of available of our pool. Regardless the experience was amazing. Instagram perfect photos! A must try when in Queenstown. Book in advance!

Date of experience: May 2019
2  Thank garyaucknz
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Marketing U, General Manager at Onsen Hot Pools Retreat & Day Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2019


Hi Gary,

Thank you for taking the time to review.

We are glad that you loved your session, we strive to deliver great experiences and it really makes us proud knowing that we got it right for you.

We do our best to accommodate all guests, due to scheduling and staff constraints we only run our complementary shuttle service once every hour, which unfortunately does result in some guests having a short wait we hope this gave you time to relax after your pool.

Remember to share your experience with us and tag us in your photos.

Sincerely,
The Onsen Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2019 via mobile

Did a night spa with my husband. The staff were lovely on arrival. We were showed to our room which was filled with night lights and once in, the spa itself was perfect temperature. We opened the door and were in awe at the beautiful star lit sky. It was like a movie! Towards the end of the hour it was getting quite hot but you can add cold water to help manage the temperature. At the end of the hour there is a shower in the room to wash off and change in private before you leave.
Would 100% come back here (next time during the day to see the river)

Date of experience: May 2019
Thank 358oliviaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Marketing U, General Manager at Onsen Hot Pools Retreat & Day Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2019

Hi Olivia,

Thank you so much for your review.

It really makes our day recieving such amazing feedback.

We hope you have the opportunity to visit us again soon.

Sincerely,
The Onsen Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2019 via mobile

This was amazing! We were on our honeymoon, very romantic and relaxing and just what we needed for our trip. We got the onsen and massage package and it was well worth the money, this was one of the best massages I’ve ever had!
Wonderful experience.
Thanks

Date of experience: May 2019
Thank Hannah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Marketing U, General Manager at Onsen Hot Pools Retreat & Day Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2019

Hi Hannah,

When we first read your review we could not help it but smile.

We could not ask for a better compliment. Knowing that your selection was exactly what you needed, It is good to know that our team exceeded your expectations and made your experience memorable.

We hope you enjoyed the rest of your honeymoon.

Sincerely,
The Onsen Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2019 via mobile

Went with a group of friends to relax after a hiking trip. Beautiful location and very well set up for privacy while you relax. We were lucky to get a last minutes booking due to a cancellation but otherwise they are booked ahead well in advance so get in early!

Date of experience: April 2019
Thank KellyK79
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Marketing U, General Manager at Onsen Hot Pools Retreat & Day Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2019

Hi Kelly,

Thank you for letting us know how we are doing.

Good advice we often book out 6 weeks in advance. We are glad you got the chance to enjoy a well deserved soak.

We hope you visit again,

Sincerely,
The Onsen Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2019 via mobile

BOOK EARLY to avoid disapointment.

Such a treat, fabulous service... enjoying your private spa in the outstanding Queenstown elements then on to our massage... where they taloired relaxation for me and deep tissue for hubby. First class!

Date of experience: May 2019
Thank Jacks1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Marketing U, General Manager at Onsen Hot Pools Retreat & Day Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2019

Hi,

We are so delighted you took the time to try us.

We are even more delighted that we were able to be all that you expected us to be. It is great to know that we were able to provide you with the highest levels of service.

Thank you,

Sincerely,
The Onsen Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews