We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“enjoyed the experience...” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Onsen Hot Pools

Onsen Hot Pools
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: While Queenstown is generally done at full pace, Onsen Hot Pools takes a step back to let you take in the beauty of the surroundings and simply relax. With uninterrupted views across the Shotover Canyon, our Cedar Hot Tubs are heated to 37.8C on warmer days and up to 39.8C during the winter and can accommodate up to four adults. Our natural setting is matched by the pure water captured on its endless journey between the sky and earth to continually fill and refresh the pools. With complimentary transport to and from Queenstown, Onsen Hot Pools is relaxation the natural way.
Useful Information: Lockers / storage, Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities, Baby buggy parking, Stairs / lift
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
126 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“enjoyed the experience...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2012

probably not enough time in the pools; felt a bit pressured and timed. Amazing view though!

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank Roberts1308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,030 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    739
    205
    51
    17
    18
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cowra
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Interesting spot”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2012

We spent a wet afternoon, one hour actually, at the hot pools just out of Queenstown. The place was tucked out of the way overlooking the River. Each person/ couple gets a private room with a hot tub and you can adjust the garage like window at the front to look out over a spectacular view while sitting in the tub.
It was all clean and friendly and a relaxing experience.Something we wouldn't normally do but would probably do again now we know about it.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Fagod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sudbury
Level Contributor
59 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Beautiful view, lacks atmosphere”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2012

Remember to take swimsuit and towels and any shampoo etc for afterwards. This is not like a north American spa and it was not well explained at the I centre. Towels are available at a cost.
However the room, the tub and the view were amazing and well worth the visit. Staff are very efficient, but once in your private room you can have a lovely time. Open the window and you see the boats go down shot over river ( a long way away). We even saw a rainbow, right in front of us!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank physiomom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
92 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“pleasant spa”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2012

We booked the spa straight after we finished the Milford Sound walk and found the temperature very pleasant but not nearly enough jets to soothe our aching muscles.
Staff were all quite friendly.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Robbyt19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chalong, Thailand
Level Contributor
156 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Just what the doctor ordered...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2012

After a day of hectic and wearying activities, this is exactly what is needed. Very well organised and not overly expensive.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank 69ingBishop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Onsen Hot Pools also viewed

Queenstown, Otago Region
Queenstown, Otago Region
 
Queenstown, Otago Region
 

Been to Onsen Hot Pools? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing