We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Josh is amazing!”

Queenstown Water Taxis
Ranked #22 of 132 things to do in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Queenstown Water Taxis is a great way to see exclusive scenery surrounding Lake Wakatipu, only accessible via water taxi. Charter your vary own boat with an expert guide to make the most of your Queenstown experience, transport to hiking trails, biking trails, golf courses, lakeside dining & much more. Travel in style, "TAKE THE LAKE"
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

It is a unique yet amazing type of transportation for tourists. Josh, our favorite driver, is very welcoming. The transfer cost is a bit pricy with $10 each one way.

Thank Mariam A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haley K, Manager at Queenstown Water Taxis, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2018

Hi Mariam

We also thing Josh is fantastic, very accommodating to our customers. Thanks for traveling on our service while visiting Queenstown, very happy to hear you enjoyed your experience.

Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (125)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"hilton hotel"
in 9 reviews
"kelvin heights"
in 5 reviews
"car taxi"
in 3 reviews
"normal taxi"
in 3 reviews
"kawarau village"
in 2 reviews
"always on time"
in 2 reviews
"frankton arm"
in 3 reviews
"enjoyable ride"
in 2 reviews
"boat driver"
in 2 reviews
"these guys"
in 3 reviews
"lake wakatipu"
in 2 reviews
"new zealand"
in 2 reviews
"nz"
in 8 reviews
"wharf"
in 3 reviews
"stops"
in 3 reviews
"bike"
in 2 reviews
"boats"
in 2 reviews
Filter

6 - 10 of 125 reviews

Reviewed 5 April 2018

My family and I took the water taxi several times to get to and from our hotel to Queenstown. The cost was a bit pricey at NZ$10 each way, but the views along the lake made up for the cost along with the convenience of it verses the limited schedule that the Hilton Resort shuttle us had to offer.

Thank Nelson A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haley K, Manager at Queenstown Water Taxis, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2018

Our water taxis service is defiantly the most scenic and convenient way to travel from The Hilton Resort, thanks for you feedback, we hope you enjoyed your short stay in Queenstown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2018

Bad service, rude staff. They only take cash. What vendor only takes cash in 2018? Worse, they have a credit card machine at the kiosk next to the water taxi in town and refuse to take credit cards. Also, there is no ATM / cash machine nearby.

Also, the taxis run late and take three times as long as the shuttle or taxi.

Don't waste time with these incompetent people.

1  Thank Eric E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haley K, Manager at Queenstown Water Taxis, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2018

Hi Eric

Thanks for your feedback, as mentioned the kiosk beside the water taxis is a separate business. Sorry to hear you did not make the taxi on time and as a result were not able to fully experience our service, if you are ever back in Queenstown let us know :)

Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2018 via mobile

We were staying in a cottage/ bach just beside the lake at Frankton, and walked round the Queenstown Trail to the bridge over the river, and on to the Hilton Hotel. Had a coffee and delicious carrot cake, then caught the water taxi to Queenstown. For the standard fare of $10 per person regardless of where you board the taxi, it was a really enjoyable and relatively cheap way to get into town and have a boat trip on the lake while doing so. It seemed to be possible to book to join the taxi at numerous points on either side of the Frankton Arm, and there also seemed to be multi-journey tickets at lower cost. Would be worth considering if you were staying out of town and wanting to get into Queenstown fairly often. We walked back on the Queenstown Trail at the end of our day in town, so it made a very pleasant Round trip.

Thank iMunros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haley K, Manager at Queenstown Water Taxis, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2018

Thanks for choosing to 'Take the Lake"

We totally agree with you, this is a fantastic service to utilise our amazing local walking, and biking tracks, all while enjoying a short scenic cruise on the lake.

Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 24 March 2018

Great for getting from the Hilton to central Queenstown, and back. Just $10 per person, each way. You pay the driver. Fast and efficient with a scheduled timetable, but you can get a bit wet at times if you sit right at the back - some drivers also drive jet boats on the lake, you can tell.

The water taxi also has other optional stops and seems to operate like a bus service for locals, but it's still a fast way to and from Queenstown.

If you're staying at the Hilton pick up an information sheet that gives the water taxi times and also the free bus times on the hotel run shuttle. The water taxi is much more fun!

Thank RichPWade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haley K, Manager at Queenstown Water Taxis, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2018

Hi Rich

Thanks for your feedback, you are right our drivers multi task :)

Glad you enjoyed our service and thanks for the recommendation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Queenstown Water Taxis also viewed

Queenstown, Otago Region
Queenstown, Otago Region
 
Queenstown, Otago Region
Queenstown, Otago Region
 

Been to Queenstown Water Taxis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing