We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breakfast by the Lake”

The Bathhouse Cafe, Bar and Restaurant
Ranked #41 of 291 Restaurants in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 3 - USD 31
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: The Bathhouse restaurant is a historical gem from 1911; its regal crown-like architecture is like nothing else in Queenstown. You’ll find us right on the beach along Marine Parade, with a sunny deck overlooking Lake Wakatipu and a nearby playground so you can keep any eye on the kids while you relax. A cosy fire will keep you toasty inside in Winter as you sip on hot Mt Rosa mulled wine, or cool down with a crisp local wine or beer in Summer (before you take a dip in the lake?!). We’re open for breakfast, fresh scones, lunch, coffee (including takeaway), and sharing platters and diner
Reviewed 6 April 2018

Lovely spot on the Lake (amazing view/vibe), good/hearty breakfast, lovely coffee & chai latte. LOCATION is everything here.

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank Dana A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (730)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

57 - 61 of 730 reviews

Reviewed 4 April 2018 via mobile

This is a fantastic cafe on the beach next to the botanical gardens. Sitting outside you look across the beach to the wharf. A great location.

We stopped here fo a late afternoon coffee but never got one. Sitting outside for the view, the friendly waitress came pretty quickly and took the order. Now I know that the kiwis care about coffee. They take their time to make it well. 20 minutes with a no-show means they are growing the beans !

I went up to see where our coffee had gone and the waitress thought I wanted a second cup. The first would have been good enough. Minor panic to chase it up resulted in them having to ask again what we had ordered. Clearly they had just lost it in their system. These things happen. However, they could see us outside and a smidgeon of attention in a not too busy cafe would have seen there was no coffee.

It’s a gripe over something small, I know, but holiday experiences are made of these things. The shame is I bet it was good coffee, il never know because we went elsewhere.

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank WindsurferAndy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018

had a coffee and a cheese board and a couple of wines old style place with magic views friendly competent staff worth a visit and the coffee was good and the stroll there nice

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018 via mobile

Be seated at the window seating viewing lake wakatipu, very tasty and big portion food with great services.
Like it very much, if ever visit Queenstown again will come back here again.

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank princessdyll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2018

My husband and I (2 HSPs from Vancouver , Canada ) came here for lunch a couple of days ago. We had a delightful cheese board, some wine and coffee to finish off. Views were beautiful and service was great. We are all about finding spots with views and this one had the best in Queenstown in our opinion. Super HSP friendly,very quiet and peaceful.

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank HSPtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Bathhouse Cafe, Bar and Restaurant also viewed

Queenstown, Otago Region
Queenstown, Otago Region
 
Queenstown, Otago Region
 
Queenstown, Otago Region
Queenstown, Otago Region
 

Been to The Bathhouse Cafe, Bar and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing