We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (139)
Filter reviews
139 results
Traveller rating
111
22
5
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
111
22
5
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews excellent hosts frankton arm stunning views lesley lake ensuite
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 139 reviews
Reviewed 22 April 2017 via mobile

We stayed at the warm and comfortable Larch Hill B&B. Lesley and Chris were fantastic hosts greeting us with tea and a slice, having a chat but not being "in your face" at all.
Lovely breakfasts with a selection of cereals, pastries and toast and cooked items that changed daily.
Couldn't get over the spectacular view from the balcony and lounge room, and fortunately for us - our bedroom window.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Supers_2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2017

The hosts Leslie and Chris were very friendly. The views from their home are lovely of the lake.Pick up from the airport was much appreciated.We Booked the shuttle for the morning pick up to campervan hirer they had no problems with finding the B&B address. The room we booked with separate en suite was a lot smaller than we visualized by the pictures on web,which was disappointing for the price. But was adequate. Do not open the window to the small en suite as all the moths and bugs come in. The room was very clean and had all the facilities. The B&B is a little way out of town to walk but has regular bus service down the hill. There is a sitting room for guests. Breakfast was good. Coffee great. But we would of preferred a choice of cooked breakfasts not just being told what the host was cooking that day which was omelette. Their garden is full of wonderful plants the courtyard which must be gorgeous in the summer.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Yvonne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LarchHill, Owner at Larch Hill Homestay Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2017

We are glad you enjoyed many aspects of your very brief stay with us. It was no problem for us to collect you from the airport after 8.30pm, as pre-arranged, after your international flight had landed. The airline website on which you booked your stay with us does indicate dimensions of the room, but it can certainly be difficult to visualise sq metres; photos generally give a better reflection of the space. Our coffee is a blend of Papua New Guinean and Colombian coffee beans which are specially roasted in Dunedin (we love it too).
Best wishes
Lesley and Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2017

Hosts Lesley and Chris were friendly and welcoming and we enjoyed Chris’s somewhat quirky sense of humour. We were in ‘Pukeko’ room next to communal sitting room and balcony, with wonderful view over lake. The room was not particularly spacious but certainly adequate and it was spotlessly clean and regularly serviced. One window had magnetic insect screen, which meant we could have it open at night without admitting biting insects, but these didn’t really seem to be a problem. Tea and coffee facilities were provided in room. The room has a private bathroom (with shower and separate bath) accessed across common hallway. We were provided with bathrobe (but only one, which may simply have been an oversight) and slippers. There is a fairly busy road down below running alongside the lake, so traffic noise is audible. Room included fridge in wardrobe, but it wasn’t switched on or easily accessible, so we didn’t use it. Breakfast was freshly cooked, but limited to one main offering each day. We stayed three nights so as to take advantage of some of the many activities on offer in Queenstown, which could be booked through Lesley if required. The B&B was on hillside about 3km from the town centre, but could be accessed by regular bus service. We appreciated Chris’s help taking heavy cases up steps to our rental car.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jack023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2017 via mobile

We booked this as our last stay in New Zealand.
Our hosts were very kind and accommodating.
They greeted us with coffee and bakery.
Breakfast is great as well. The room has a great view of the water and city. The B&B sits up on a hill. The garden is so beautiful. Only drawback is our spacious room has twin beds. The room was so beautiful and clean. It also contains a nice kitchen area.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank ester94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2017

We had a lovely stay at Larch Hill. The yard and views are magnificent. Our hosts, Leslie and Chris, were helpful. They directed us to restaurants in walking distance. We had a great meal at the Rees. The next day we walk into town. It took about 45 minutes. Our room had a view of the harbor. The breakfast was very good, - an egg in a bacon cup! The bed was very comfortable and I enjoyed a hot bath in the soaking tub! The airport is only a couple of kilometers away.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Susan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews