We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Just what we wanted and excellent value” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Caples Court

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Caples Court
Certificate of Excellence
france
1 review
“Just what we wanted and excellent value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2010

We had a room with a balcony overlooking the harbour and the funicular. It was clean, comfortable, nicely furnished and had everything we needed for a short stay - we would have been equally happy to stay longer. The staff were friendly and helpful and showed us two rooms to choose from - we chose the more expensive one which was bigger and had the lovely view. The centre of town is a very short walk away so the location is perfect. There was ample covered parking underneath. We would certainly go back there. Geoffrey Gaskell-Blackburn

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank felixFrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    130
    64
    15
    7
    2
See reviews for
47
115
13
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2009

I had a garden apartment, which meant no view but no noise, either, and that was fine with me. I had plenty of room, a comfortable bed (always a plus, never a given), and I thought the place was clean and well furnished enough. I wanted a convenient place from which to go hiking without a car, and this motel was perfect for that. After a hard day's climb, I had room to put my feet up and a great laundry room. I thought the owners were accommodating, and I'd go back.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FoodandHike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2009

Very disappointing. Owners very offhand, room was not clean and also a bit shabby. Wouldn't recommend it - lots of other better places nearby.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chipmunk68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Caples Court, responded to this review, 22 May 2010
In response to your complaints-.
Firstly regarding 6.30pm arrival- on your confirmation it is written reception hours are at minimum 6pm and to inform us of your estimated arrival time as after hours arrival instructions are given- no on-site management.
Secondly- you booked directly via booking page and on the conditions it clearly states "we cannot guarantee requests". Unit 9 and 10 are our budget units and equivalent value. You requested unit 9 which was not available so were given unit 10. If you had specifically requested a view we do have other units which you chose not to select.
Thirdly- The dirty linen. this was checked. Yes there were marks on the sheets from the sofa bed springs and were clean when the bed was made up.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2009

We chose this place because of it's proximity to the city centre and for the views, as we are both photographers.
We booked and prepaid unit 5 for our 4 teenages and Unit 9 with its own private balcony overlooking the mountains for ourselves.
When we arrived it was about 6.30 and although still daylight reception had closed and there was an envelope on the door with keys for unit 5 and unit 10.
Unit 10 was a poky little place out behind the car parking with no views. One of our sons slept in his cloths on top of the fold out sofa because when he pulled it out the sheets were dirty and the extra blankets in the unit were also stained and dirty.
We left a complaint about the room change and the cleaning and were assured the owners/managers would be informed and get back to us. But we have heard nothing.
In one word avoid, there are many similar priced etc places in Queenstown.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank snaphappy19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2009

Hi there

We honeymoon'd NZD in May this year. We spent 10 days in the south islands. The worst part of the honeymoon for us was the Caples Court Motel. Their service was horrible and the rooms were small and suffocating....compared to rest of NZD, where people were incredibly polite and friendly, these guys were not!!!

The view from the room was INCREDIBLE...but the balcony was tiny! We spent as much time as possible away from the rooms....the location was also quite good - an easy walk to shopping and other areas...

I highly recommend booking somewhere else!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Salag22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.2 km away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#22 of 57 in Queenstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,977 reviews
0.1 km away
Scenic Suites Queenstown
Scenic Suites Queenstown
#24 of 57 in Queenstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 839 reviews
0.9 km away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 km away
Mercure Resort Queenstown
Mercure Resort Queenstown
#27 of 57 in Queenstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,293 reviews
0.6 km away
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
#20 of 57 in Queenstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,376 reviews
0.5 km away
Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caples Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caples Court

Property: Caples Court
Address: 20 Stanley Street, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 89 Speciality Lodging in Queenstown
Price range (per night): $122 - $319
Hotel Class:3 star — Caples Court 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Caples Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caples Court Hotel Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing