We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Message from TripAdvisor:

Condominiums at this property are owned and operated by several different management companies, so quality and service standards may vary. If you wish to book a specific unit or a unit owned or managed by a specific company, please ask about that unit before booking your trip.

“A miss on a trip full of hits”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
St. James Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 March 2012

This was our first stop on a 3-week south island trip. Luckily, it didn't set the tone for the rest of the trip. We'd asked our "agent" for something with a cooking facility, and the apartment did have that -- poorly equipped and no directions for use of the unusual cooktop. When we were trying to cook and couldn't figure it out, I called the manager for help. He was "busy eating dinner" and wouldn't come up. After our two engineer husbands kept trying to figure it out, we gave up and used an electric skillet. I called the manager back and insisted he send someone in to look at it in the a.m. Later, my husband actually got it to work, and the next a.m., as we left for the day, he left a note for the manager at the desk -- telling him we'd resolved it. Nevertheless, the manager came into the apartment, put a pot of water on the stove, left it to boil and did not return! He could've burned the building down, if we'd not come back at lunch time. When asked about it, he insisted he'd come back in and found it turned off -- however, we were there the entire time and saw no entrance by him. There are so many great little restaurants in Queenstown that we wouldn't waste the money to stay in a cooking facility -- particularly this one.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OregonNamma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andy E, General Manager at St. James Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2012

First of all I want to thank you for taking your time to write a comment for St James Apartments at Trip Advisor. We believe that you have enjoyed your stay with us. There is an old saying that there are two sides in every coin thus please let me clarify my side of the story.

The cooktop that we have in the room is an ordinary cooktop which shouldn't be hard to operate. On the phone you mentioned that you were unable to get the rice to cook which meant that you could work the stove only could not get the temperature hot enough. When you called, we were in a restaurant and our food has just arrived. When I tried to explain it to you on how to work the stove over the phone, you got impatient and asked me to check it the day after instead.

In regards of the note that you left, I did not get it until the housekeeper finished her shift, which was why I went up to your room in the afternoon to make sure that the stove was working by putting on a big pot of water to boil since the problem was that the stove was not hot enough. As I had to wait for the water to boil, I had set an alarm on my phone for a few minutes. However when I came back to your unit, I found it had been turned off which I assumed it was done by you. When you came back in the evening, I informed you that I did not get the note until later on that evening, and thus earlier that afternoon I had gone into your unit to boil a big pot of water however found it had been turned off a few minutes later when I came back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (254)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

235 - 239 of 254 reviews

Reviewed 24 March 2012

On first inspection the apartment looked very good but ---

There was only one laundry for all the apartments and the staff servicing the apartments.

The 'kitchen' facilities were basic and you were clearly discouraged from self catering - a charge of $150 would be levied if you created a 'smell' and a charge of $10 would be made if you left washing up in the sink.

We were accused of causing a stain on the carpet and were told our credit card would be charged with the cost of replacement. We were sent a quotation with the promise of an invoice. However the card was charged clearly before the work was done and we have not received an invoice or any proof the work was actually carried out.
On closer inspection of the apartment it was evident that previous occupants had caused some damage which had not been rectified and it made us wonder whether they had been charged without the work being carried out - heat marks on the wooden table and stains on the dining chairs.
We had to pay in full up front before we were given the key - something we had not experienced in the remainder of our 33 days travelling round New Zealand.
The final insult was to be charged for Freephone telephone calls. We made two calls and were told that because they were a business they were charged and therefore passed the cost on to the customer. We checked the accuracy of this statement with other places we stayed and none of them said they were charged.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DrobboEssex_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andy E, General Manager at St. James Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2012

First of all I want to thank you for taking your time to write a comment for St James Apartments at Trip Advisor. We believe that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We are writiing this reply to clarify the situation that has been brought to our attention through your comment.

We have been apointed as a manager at St James Apartments and as the manager we are obliged to look after each individual unit owners property. We have many years experience in hospitality industry thus we will never missed to spot any damages that is made to the unit after each individual occupant left the room. As the occupant of the room you are also obliged to look after the unit you occupied as you will expect others to do the same if they are occupying one of your unit.

As per previous conversation, the stain was not there prior to your stay and invoice has been sent to your email as a proof that work has been done.

As advertised, the apartment you booked is equiped with kitchenette facilities, not full kitchen facilities. The $150 charge would only incur if we had to close the room due to the smell that we cannot resell the room and have to reallocate our guest to another hotel. The $10 charge is for guests who request for the dishes to be done for them.

It is our policy to take full payment on arrival, just like a few other motels in Queenstown are practising.
As per advised in the in-room information, additional charges apply to phonecalls made from the rooms, including freephone numbers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2012

Our apartment was great! it was clean, comfortable, nicely furnished, and spacious. And the location.. definitely very central and close to a lot of bars and restaurants. Staff was very friendly and helpful.
It's highly recommended if you're looking for something central in Queenstown.

Room Tip: i booked our apartment from their website stjamesapartments.co.nz
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tamara J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2012

The apartment was spacious and, basically, comfortable. Quite expensive for the limited facilities but very close to centre of town with many bars and restaurants within 5 min walk.
no free internet

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grocklestaunton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2012

My family & I stayed there recently for a few days. We booked the Executive 2 Bedroom Apartment and what a great apartment! They have great facilities in the room and the location is so central that we literally need no car to go anywhere.
Andy & Mel are so friendly & helpful. They helped us to book our activities in Queenstown, even making sure that we can do a few activities in one day so we can make the most of our holiday. They definitely have made our stay in Queenstown the more wonderful.
We will definitely will come back again in the future to this beautiful place.

Room Tip: Executive rooms are better than the standard rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank George T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.1 km away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#20 of 58 in Queenstown
3,194 reviews
0.5 km away
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
#17 of 58 in Queenstown
1,475 reviews
0.2 km away
Scenic Suites Queenstown
Scenic Suites Queenstown
#23 of 58 in Queenstown
898 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Central Ridge Boutique Hotel
Central Ridge Boutique Hotel
#8 of 58 in Queenstown
445 reviews
0.8 km away
Pounamu Apartments
Pounamu Apartments
#11 of 58 in Queenstown
1,418 reviews
0.8 km away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. James Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. James Apartments

Address: Queenstown Town Centre, Otago 5 Coronation Drive, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Price Range: $141 - $347 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — St. James Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
St James Apartments is centrally located in the level hub of downtown Queenstown giving you the opportunity to meander easily amongst the multitude of shopping, dining and adventure retailers. The closest café is a mere 30 metres from our doors and the beautiful Queenstown Garden's are but only a few steps away. You will find us set back amongst tranquil landscaped gardens and trees offering secure off-street under cover parking within our private courtyard. Lift access and a dry ski & storage room will ensure your convenience on arrival and during your stay with us year round. We offer a superb place to relax after a long journey, to enjoy a much-needed break, or to locate yourself centrally for your business trip. Ten apartments are within the St James Apartments complex. All are quiet and have convenient self-catering and bathroom facilities. The apartments range from Studio to our magnificent Executive 4 Bedroom Apartment, the diverse range is sure to meet your needs. Our helpful and experienced staff are only too happy to help you with suggestions as to where to go in Queenstown and its beautiful surrounds; whether you are interested in the local restaurants, wine tours and spa's; or whether you are interested in adventure sports such as the world famous bungy jump we are on hand to book any of the available activities at our friendly reception or assisting you to create an itinerary for your stay in Queenstown. We look forward to welcoming you to our special part of the world soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Hooroo Pty Ltd, lastminute.com.au, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your St. James Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing