We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Austravel58

Central and comfortable

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 4 weeks agovia mobile
A touch of France in the middle of Queenstown. Probably the most central of any hotel in town. No views but very comfortable rooms. Highly recommended if you don’t want or need a car. Easy walking distance to all of the best restaurants in town. Also a great breakfast with good coffee.
Date of stay: June 2024
Room Tip: There is parking out the back of the hotel but it’s a bit expensive. This hotel is better for...
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Pradnya Lohate, Other at Sofitel Queenstown Hotel and Spa, responded to this review
Responded 2 weeks ago
Bonjour Austravel58,

Thank you for your wonderful review! We're delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciated our central location. It's great to know that our comfortable rooms and convenient proximity to Queenstown's best restaurants met your expectations.

We're also thrilled that you enjoyed our breakfast and coffee. We strive to offer our guests a little touch of France right here in the heart of Queenstown, and it's always rewarding to hear positive feedback.

We hope to welcome you back soon for another memorable stay!

Kind Regards,
Pradnya Lohate
Front Office Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
AU$333
Save more with IHG One Rewards
  • Tripadvisor
    AU$333
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
0.3 km from Sofitel Queenstown Hotel and Spa
Free Wifi
Restaurant
AU$236
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • eDreams
0.7 km from Sofitel Queenstown Hotel and Spa
Free Wifi
Pool
Exterior
AU$332
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
0.4 km from Sofitel Queenstown Hotel and Spa
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Hotel reception
AU$264
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
0.3 km from Sofitel Queenstown Hotel and Spa
Free Wifi
Exterior
AU$261
  • Booking.com
  • Mercure
    AU$261
  • Hotels.com
1.8 km from Sofitel Queenstown Hotel and Spa
Free parking
Pool
Hotel exterior (seen from the water taxi)
AU$287
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
5.5 km from Sofitel Queenstown Hotel and Spa
Restaurant
Room service
Sudima Queenstown Five Mile Remarkable View King room
AU$176
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    AU$176
6.9 km from Sofitel Queenstown Hotel and Spa
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$340
  • Algotels
2.2 km from Sofitel Queenstown Hotel and Spa
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    AU$267
  • eDreams
5.4 km from Sofitel Queenstown Hotel and Spa
Pool
Restaurant
Guest room
  • Hotels.com
  • Lol.travel
    AU$264
  • Algotels
2.1 km from Sofitel Queenstown Hotel and Spa
Free parking
Restaurant
View more hotels in Queenstown
Reviews (1,965)
Filter reviews
1,965 results
Traveller rating
1,401
374
120
40
30
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,401
374
120
40
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviews left bank the club lounge prestige suite luxury room steam room the general manager beautiful hotel middle of town central location new zealand per day heated floors south island tv accor lake fergburger
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 1,965 reviews
Reviewed 31 May 2024 via mobile

Charming place to stay and very clean. We had a room with the view of the Gondola. I thought my friend would complain but he was ecstatic about it! I had a problem with the mattress which the hotel was quick to rectify.
It was a wonderful experience. Concierge was friendly and booked our tours and taxi.

Room tip: Do have the buffet breakfast. It will keep you going for a full day ;)
Date of stay: May 2024
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Fearless12057945055
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Pradnya Lohate, Other at Sofitel Queenstown Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Bonjour Fearless12057945055,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience at Sofitel Queenstown Hotel and Spa. We're thrilled to hear that you had a fantastic stay and enjoyed the view of the Gondola from your room. It's great to know that your friend was equally ecstatic.

We apologize for the inconvenience with the mattress but are glad our team could quickly resolve the issue for you. Our goal is to provide a seamless and enjoyable experience for all our guests, and it’s heartwarming to hear that our concierge was able to assist you with your excursion and taxi arrangements.

We hope to welcome you back for another delightful stay in the near future!

Kind Regards,
Pradnya Lohate
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2024

This hotel is beautifully decorated and furnished. Beds are comfortable and rooms are lovely and spacious We had a delectable menu dining experience. Chef Lindsay prepared mouthwatering pulled pork medallion and the best Brussel sprouts I've ever had.
The dessert was amazing to eat and the presentation was top class.
Mindy and the Operations manager were our waiter and waitress. Both were very attentive , friendly plus professional.
Concierge and desk staff were all so friendly very happy to help with anything we needed.
All in all definitely 5 stars
Sofitel Queenstown is a beautiful place to stay highly recommend.

Room tip: Use the Vallet parking as parking is almost non-existent in Queenstown
Date of stay: May 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Pradnya Lohate, Other at Sofitel Queenstown Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2024

Bonjour Sharon,

Thank you so much for your glowing review! We are thrilled to hear that you had such a wonderful experience at Sofitel Queenstown.

It's fantastic to know that you found our hotel beautifully decorated and furnished, and that you enjoyed the comfort and spaciousness of your room. We are particularly delighted that you had such a memorable dining experience. Chef Lindsay will be overjoyed to hear your praise for the pulled pork medallion and Brussels sprouts!

We're also pleased to hear that Mindy and our Operations Manager - Shakthi provided attentive and professional service. Our entire team, including the concierge and desk staff, strives to ensure every guest feels welcomed and well taken care of.

Thank you for highly recommending us and for awarding us 5 stars. We look forward to welcoming you back to Sofitel Queenstown in the future!

Kind Regards,
Pradnya Lohate
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2024

Everything about our stay here was top tier. We arrived earlier than our check in time and we greeted very warmly, and were provided a short overview of town and given (very good) lunch recommendations. The location of the hotel is outstanding - we walked everywhere during our stay. The room was ready a bit early, and they contracted us to let us know this. Finn handled our check in and provided a tour of the property once the room was ready. He was very helpful and really helped us make sure we got the most out of our short stay. We wish we could have stayed longer! We were in penthouse no. 5, which was impeccable. A big highlight of the suite - beyond the wonderful view of the Remarkables, and outstanding amenities - was the washer/dryer. The breakfast was excellent, and everyone on the staff we interacted with during our stay was outstanding. This was far and away the highlight of our entire New Zealand itinerary from a lodging perspective. If we return to Queenstown, this is where we are staying.

Date of stay: April 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BL1009
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Pradnya Lohate, Other at Sofitel Queenstown Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2024

Bonjour BL1009,

Thank you so much for sharing your experience at Sofitel Queenstown Hotel and Spa. We are delighted to hear that every aspect of your stay was top tier and that you had such a wonderful experience with us.

It’s great to know that our team, especially Finn, made your check-in smooth and enjoyable, and that you appreciated the early readiness of your room. We are delighted you found our location convenient and enjoyed the impeccable penthouse no. 5 with its stunning views and amenities.

We’re glad you found our breakfast excellent and that our staff left such a positive impression on you. Your kind words truly mean a lot to us, and we are honored to have been the highlight of your New Zealand itinerary.

We would love to welcome you back to Queenstown in the future. Please don't hesitate to reach out when you plan your next visit.

Kind Regards,
Pradnya Lohate
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2024

Sofitel is the best hotel in Queenstown! Amazing staff, fantastic rooms, delicious food (the pastries at breakfast are outstanding!), a great club lounge expertise and generous welcome amenities for frequent travellers. I can’t fault anything about our stay. Special thanks to Jeremy, Shakthi, Karishma Fredrick and Ha Thu for looking after us so well 👏

Date of stay: April 2024
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Pradnya Lohate, Other at Sofitel Queenstown Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2024

Bonjour Julie,

Thank you so much for your glowing review! We're thrilled to hear that you had another magical stay with us at Sofitel Queenstown. Providing exceptional service and creating memorable experiences for our guests is always our top priority, and we're delighted that our staff, including Jeremy, Shakthi, Karishma, Fredrick, and Ha Thu, went above and beyond to ensure your comfort and enjoyment. We're glad you enjoyed our luxurious rooms, delectable food offerings (those pastries at breakfast are indeed a favorite!), and the exclusive club lounge experience. We truly appreciate your kind words and can't wait to welcome you back for another incredible stay! 🌟

Kind Regards
Pradnya Lohate
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2024

We enjoyed staying at this hotel so much because the staff are so friendly and helpful. They go out of their way to make you feel welcome and attend to your every need.

I loved it so much that I would love to live there when I retire! The staff who work in The Left Bank, Le Salon Rouge, reception and concierge service were amazing! They really make the atmosphere of the place. We have stayed at a number of Sofitel hotels and this by far is the best!

Rooms were very clean and comfortable as was the bed.

We ate breakfast at the Left Bank which has a great range of buffet food as well as a wide selection on the a la carte menu. Each morning we were greeted by the friendly staff who remembered our names and preferences. It was like coming down to breakfast with family. We felt very welcome.

If you book a suite at the hotel, of an afternoon you can enjoy drinks and a small selection of canapes from Le Club Lounge Apero Chic menu in Le Salon Rouge between 1700-1900. This was included in our package as we booked a suite and it is also available to Platinum or Diamond Accor Plus members.

The hotel is centrally located and the valet service is great. It would take only minutes for the concierge to bring out our car. It was reasonably priced at $50 per day, however, we were charged only $30 per day as a room upgrade was not available to us. (This is also part of Accor Plus Platinum membership.)

I highly recommend this hotel. It really is the best!

Date of stay: April 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank funtastic123
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Pradnya Lohate, Other at Sofitel Queenstown Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2024

Bonjour Mary,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your wonderful experience at Sofitel Queenstown Hotel and Spa! We are absolutely delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that our staff made such a positive impression on you.

We take great pride in providing exceptional service to all our guests, and it's truly rewarding to know that our team's dedication to hospitality made your stay memorable. Your kind words about The Left Bank, Le Salon Rouge, reception, and concierge service are greatly appreciated—we'll be sure to pass on your compliments to our hardworking colleagues.

It's fantastic to hear that you found our rooms clean and comfortable, and that you enjoyed the breakfast offerings at The Left Bank. We strive to create a warm and welcoming atmosphere for our guests, and we're thrilled that you felt like part of the family during your breakfast time.

We're also glad to know that you enjoyed our club offerings from Le Club Lounge Apero Chic menu in Le Salon Rouge, and that you found our valet service convenient. Your recommendation means a lot to us, and we're grateful for your support.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to our hotel in the future for another memorable experience.

Kind Regards,
Pradnya Lohate
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews