We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Austin230

Wonderful hotel in perfect location

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 25 Feb 2024
We stayed at the Sofitel for 6 nights and loved it. We hated to leave! It is perfectly situated in Queenstown to be able to walk to everything. They serve small plates and drinks from 5 to 7:00 p.m. which are delicious. The breakfasts are very good especially the eggs Benedict. And the service throughout the hotel is A+.
Date of stay: January 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Pradnya Lohate, Other at Sofitel Queenstown Hotel and Spa, responded to this review
Responded 27 Feb 2024
Bonjour / Kia Ora Austin

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience at Sofitel Queenstown Hotel and Spa with us! We are thrilled to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your 6-night stay at Sofitel Queenstown. It's delightful to know that our prime location made exploring Queenstown convenient for you.

We're delighted that you enjoyed our evening offerings of Canapé and drinks, as well as our breakfast selections, particularly the eggs Benedict. Your compliments on our service are truly appreciated, as we strive to provide top-notch service to all our guests.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back for another memorable stay whenever your travels bring you to Queenstown again!

Kind Regards / Ngā mihi
Pradnya Lohate
Front Office Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
AU$430
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • eDreams
0.1 km from Sofitel Queenstown Hotel and Spa
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
AU$373
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • CrownePlaza.com
    AU$373
0.3 km from Sofitel Queenstown Hotel and Spa
Free Wifi
Restaurant
AU$414
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
2.2 km from Sofitel Queenstown Hotel and Spa
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior
AU$398
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
0.4 km from Sofitel Queenstown Hotel and Spa
Free Wifi
Restaurant
AU$438
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
2.3 km from Sofitel Queenstown Hotel and Spa
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hotel reception
AU$287
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
0.3 km from Sofitel Queenstown Hotel and Spa
Free Wifi
Hotel exterior (seen from the water taxi)
AU$314
  • Booking.com
  • Algotels
  • Hotels.com
5.5 km from Sofitel Queenstown Hotel and Spa
Restaurant
Room service
Entrance
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$214
  • Hotels.com
0.5 km from Sofitel Queenstown Hotel and Spa
Restaurant
Room service
Exterior
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    AU$341
  • Priceline
5.4 km from Sofitel Queenstown Hotel and Spa
Pool
Restaurant
Guest room
  • Hotels.com
  • Lol.travel
    AU$324
  • Priceline
2.1 km from Sofitel Queenstown Hotel and Spa
Free parking
Restaurant
View more hotels in Queenstown
Reviews (1,964)
Filter reviews
1,964 results
Traveller rating
1,400
374
120
40
30
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,400
374
120
40
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviews left bank the club lounge prestige suite luxury room steam room the general manager beautiful hotel middle of town central location new zealand per day heated floors south island tv accor lake fergburger
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 1,964 reviews
Reviewed 19 February 2024

We choose Sofitel before the start of Routeburn trek is because is the only hotel has a gym and is directly opposite Ultimate hikes meeting point. Front desk staff French guy was very nice to check us in. Room is good size and functional. I like the fact we can help ourselves to the mini bar snacks and they top up daily + all the non-alcoholic beverages. I love their Happy hour lounge 5-7pm. They have canapés and selection of wine, sparkling and cocktail (cocktail I wish they can revamp as only 3 and not great). Gym 24hrs is a super plus however they really need to revamp the gym equipments (super old) except the 2 treadmill.

Ok why no 5 star?

Gym has to revamp.
Their breakfast is not great. You can have a semi-buffet that's like those 3 star hotel you get with bake beans, mushroom, bacon in the hot metal holder + order ONE egg/pancake from the menu. I only need eggs daily. 2 days in a row, I need to wait at least 45min. to get it delivered. 2nd day I thought I was smarter and came down at 8am and ordered immediately, waited and by 840 I ask the lady who took my order where're my eggs? She said they've sent it to the other table. So I've to wait again.
I'm sure they must get a handful of people who stay in Sofitel for Routeburn trek which has to gather at 6:15am sharp. I ask them if they can be so kind to get me 2 eggs at 545am as my partner is Gluten free, he can't eat their sandwich. The Asian guy at front desk was quite haughty in his response and simply said not possible. The French guy who checked us in overhear him and came to my rescue. Said he'll speak to chef and see what he can do. Next day I ask the front desk again if they'll assist us on the breakfast at 5:45am. She said she'll look into it and call us that night. Nothing happen after. I gave up.

Date of stay: February 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank SuperShan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Pradnya Lohate, Other at Sofitel Queenstown Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 29 February 2024

Bonjour SuperShan1,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your detailed feedback following your recent stay with us at Sofitel Queenstown Hotel and Spa. We are thrilled to hear that you found our location superb and enjoyed our lounge offerings. It's delightful to know that our front desk staff, particularly Paul, made a positive impression on you during check-in.

We appreciate your constructive comments regarding the gym equipment and the variety of breakfast options. Please rest assured that your feedback has been shared with our management team for further review and improvement. We apologize for any inconvenience you experienced in waiting for your breakfast orders and for the oversight regarding your request for early breakfast service. This does not reflect the level of service we aim to provide, and we sincerely apologize for falling short in this aspect.

We are glad that our team members were able to assist you eventually, albeit with some delay, and we will strive to ensure smoother communication and execution of guest requests in the future.

Once again, thank you for your valuable feedback, and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back for a more seamless experience in the future.

Kind Regards,
Pradnya Lohate
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2024 via mobile

We had a standard room which was excellent. Bathroom was spotlessly clean and had bathtub and shower. The buffet breakfast at Left Bank Bistro is good and adequate. With a small footprint, it is a bit crowded for a Sofitel, and the selections are limited. La Salon Rouge has limited food items for dinner. We have special food requirements and the chef was kind enough to make something special for us, making us have most of our dinners there. Both restaurants accept Accor plus.
The wifi is weak, but ok. It is good at the restaurant, lobby, and corridors. If it drops in the room, open the door slightly for a second!

Room tip: Wifi is weak in the room but better in the corridors (lounge and restaurants). Just open the door slightly.
Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Nagaratnam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Pradnya Lohate, Other at Sofitel Queenstown Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2024

Bonjour / Kia Ora Nagaratnam,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments about your recent stay at Sofitel Queenstown Hotel and Spa. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay in our standard room and found it to be excellent, particularly noting the cleanliness of the bathroom equipped with both a bathtub and shower.

We appreciate your constructive comments regarding the buffet breakfast at Left Bank Bistro and the dinner options at La Salon Rouge. Rest assured, we will take your feedback into consideration as we continuously strive to enhance our dining offerings to cater to all our guests' needs and preferences, including special dietary requirements.

It's wonderful to hear that our chef was able to accommodate your special food requirements and that you enjoyed most of your dinners with us as a result.

Regarding the WIFI, we apologize for any inconvenience you experienced. I'm very excited to share that we are working on upgrading our Wifi this mid year.

Thank you once again for choosing to stay with us, and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back for another enjoyable experience in the future.

Kind Regards / Mihi Aroha,
Pradnya Lohate
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2024

From check in to check out, this was a beautiful stay. After a tiring drive back from Christchurch, both Mario at Concierge and the lovely gentleman at Check in made me and my sister feel welcome.

The hotel felt and smelt luxurious with that signature "Sofitel scent". Despite not dining at the many eateries at the hotel, they looked well presented. Maybe next visit I will try them! Our room was magnifique and the beds were like sleeping on a cloud, same with the pillows!

Location wise, you are right across from the iconic Fergburger and near the Skyline Gondola and coach pickups. I would strongly recommend to anyone to stay at this property. The nightly rate may be one of the highest in Queenstown, but is worth it!

Room tip: There is no self parking at this hotel due to location but valet parking is available. If you wish to self park, there are garages nearby.
Date of stay: February 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank kellyh124
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Pradnya Lohate, Other at Sofitel Queenstown Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2024

Bonjour / Kia Ora Kelly,

Thank you so much for taking the time to sharing your experience with Sofitel Queenstown Hotel and Spa! We are thrilled to hear that your stay at Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa was nothing short of exceptional.

It's wonderful to know that Mario and our check-in team made you and your sister feel welcome from the moment you arrived. We take great pride in providing warm and personalized service to all our guests.

We're delighted that you found our hotel to be luxurious and enjoyed the signature Sofitel scent. We're sorry you didn't have the chance to dine at our eateries this time, but we hope you'll give them a try on your next visit. Our culinary team works hard to create memorable dining experiences for our guests, and we're confident you'll love it.

It's fantastic to hear that you found your room to be magnifique and that our beds and pillows provided you with the comfort of sleeping on a cloud. We want all our guests to feel relaxed and rejuvenated during their stay, and it sounds like we succeeded in providing you with a restful night's sleep.

Thank you for highlighting our prime location, just steps away from iconic attractions like Fergburger and the Skyline Gondola. We're glad you found it convenient and enjoyed exploring the area.

We truly appreciate your recommendation and kind words about our property. Providing excellent value, top-notch service, and a prime location are our top priorities, and we're thrilled that you found all three during your stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa for another memorable stay in the future!

Kind Regards / Mihi Aroha,
Pradnya Lohate
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2024

We loved the Sofitel. Classy, atmospheric, our room was comfortable and clean. Modern bathroom. Hotel is in a great location, a few blocks from the downtown area and restaurants as well as the Skyline and Kiwi Park. The place to stay in Queenstown.

Date of stay: October 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Philip Riley, Other at Sofitel Queenstown Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2024

Bonjour msoz45

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your positive experience at Sofitel Queenstown! We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay and found the hotel to be classy and atmospheric. It's wonderful to know that your room was comfortable and clean, and that you appreciated the modern bathroom.

We take pride in our prime location, and we're delighted that it contributed to your overall satisfaction. Being just a few blocks from the downtown area, restaurants, Skyline Gondola, and Kiwi Park, we aim to provide our guests with convenient access to the best of the best of Queenstown.

We truly appreciate your kind words and recommendation. It was our pleasure to have you as our guest, and we hope to welcome you back to Sofitel Queenstown for another exceptional experience in the future. If there's anything specific that stood out during your stay or any suggestions you may have, we'd love to hear more about it.

We look forward to seeing you again

Philip Riley
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2024

Our 3 night stay at Queenstown Sofitel was something we had been looking forward to for some time.
Hotel reservations staff member Harriet was extremely helpful when original booking had to be cancelled due to Pandemic. Reception desk staff, Nik and Paul could not have been more welcoming. Our room had been upgraded to 6th floor with a beautiful view of the lake and city.

Breakfast in Left Bank Bistro was excellent. Being Accor members we chose to dine at Le Salon Rouge restaurant which serves sharing plates. It was a different experience to hotel dining, most enjoyable but perhaps not to everyones liking. The Creme Brûlée desert was excellent. Lounge staff, Jaypee and Karishma made the experience very special, particularly on the night of my birthday, it was a wonderful evening. The lady chef delivered my desert personally.

There is another restaurant in the hotel, Jervois steakhouse, which is not part of the hotel therefore Accor dining discounts do not apply.

We have stayed at Queenstown Sofitel several times and always enjoyed the experience.
Rooms facing the city have the best view. Rooms are spacious, spotlessly clean and well maintained. Improvement could be made with mattress and pillow comfort. Hotel is just a short walk to shops, restaurants and lakeside.

Date of stay: December 2023
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Carol H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Philip Riley, Other at Sofitel Queenstown Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2024

Dear valued guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your wonderful experience at Sofitel Queenstown. We are delighted to hear that our team, including Harriet, Nik, and Paul, contributed to making your stay special and memorable.

It's fantastic to know that you enjoyed the upgraded room on the 6th floor with a stunning view of the lake and city. We appreciate your positive comments about the excellent breakfast at Left Bank Bistro and the unique dining experience at Le Salon Rouge. We're thrilled that Jaypee and Karishma in the lounge, along with Chef Imogen, went above and beyond to make your birthday evening a wonderful one.

Your insights on room comfort are also duly noted, and we will certainly take them into consideration for future improvements.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Queenstown Sofitel on your next visit, and please do not hesitate to let us know if there is anything specific we can do to enhance your future stays.

Warm regards,

Philip Riley
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews