We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely house and easybooking”
other travellers have booked this property
Matakauri Place
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Matakauri Place
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
13 reviews
Matakauri Place
Matakauri House
Matakauri Pad
Matakauri Pad
Matakauri Pad
Matakauri Pad
Matakauri Pad
Matakauri Pad
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Queenstown, Otago Region, South Island

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
johnsingo
Hong Kong, China
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Lovely house and easybooking”
Reviewed 5 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We stayed at the house in August 2016. It was as expected, quite a lovely and well appointed home. The outlook is simply stunning. Location is good for getting in and out of town but you are not in the hustle of queenstown which is exactly what we wanted. The owners where a pleasure to deal with. I would happily return when next in QT.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: lovely property
Liked least: a little expensive
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
X966LLjan...
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
“Amazing Luxury Home with Stunning Views”
Reviewed 17 April 2016 for a stay in February 2016

We stayed at Matakauri in Feb 2016 - 4 couples. It was an amazing place to stay! Modern, stylish, all beautiful bedrooms and equipped with everything we needed. Spacious living areas, beautiful fireplace and the views were stunning. Our group couldn't stop raving about how wonderful it was. We can't wait to return one day. Easy, friendly transactions with the host. Highly recommended!

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shaun D
Perth, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Just stunning”
Reviewed 16 February 2016 for a stay in January 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We spent 2 weeks at Matakauri Place with 2 families including 4 adults and 5 kids. The house was fantastic with plenty of room for all of us and excellently appointed. We never got tired of watching that stunning view change with the light and weather. It quickly became a home away from home for us. Location relative to town is brilliant too - just 1.5km away is the hustle and bustle of Queenstown but it was so peaceful. Absolutely no hesitation in recommending others to stay here.

Rob looked after us with a few little extra that capped it off - use of his mountain bikes, cleaners half way through our stay and a couple bottles of beautiful local wine waiting on arrival.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
helena211...
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A 21st birthday to remember ”
Reviewed 14 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

Had the most amazing 5 night stay here. Stayed with my family, partner and family friends for my 21st birthday. View was absolutely stunning. We all had to keep pinching ourselves as we couldn't believe what we were waking up to each day. My partner chose to be on dishwasher stacking duty as he said it's the best view he will ever see whilst doing the dishes haha! We all had a blast and couldn't have chose a better house to rent for the week. We were all very sad yesterday to be leaving, we are already missing the house and the view. We have created memories in that house that will last a lifetime. We will have to visit again one day soon. Thank you for sharing your beautiful house with us! The Fitzys & Co :)

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sara R
Townsville, Australia
2 reviews
“Peaceful, comfortable, enjoyable”
Reviewed 5 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015

We stayed with extended family for Christmas, the house was perfect for everyone to have their space and to gather together. The gardens and rural setting was so peaceful and pretty. Having the tennis court was a over expectation for us and we enjoyed many late afternoons on the court. Safe to say we all thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: How spacious the house was and the lovely gardens
Liked least: nothing was least
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing