We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best steak house!”

Jervois Steak House Queenstown
Reserve a table
Ranked #9 of 271 Restaurants in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Steakhouse
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 4 September 2016

A local in the hospitality industry encouraged us to try this restaurant for a top-of-the-line food experience. He was right! Service (by Michael from Munich) was attentive, informative and caring. Bread was hot and fresh and flavorable and accompanied by carmelized butter that was unique and delicious. The salad was special and the meats and accompanying sauces were wonderful. To top it off, we had the best onion rings anywhere in the world!

Date of visit: September 2016
Thank 942LeslieD
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jervoissteakhouseqt, Manager at Jervois Steak House Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2016

Dear Leslie D

Thank you for your review,

It's pleasing to read that you were recommended to come and visit Jervois,

I certainly agree on your comments about our onion rings, their very tasty and always go down well with most tables.

I'll pass your kind words onto Michael, he'll be very pleased to read about your evening and how much you both enjoyed your experience.

Kind regards

Patrick Reihl

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (1,434)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

775 - 779 of 1,434 reviews

Reviewed 3 September 2016 via mobile

My partner took me here for. Birthday dinner last night. Heard a lot about it and we send people here for dinner so we thought we should check it out!

We ordered 2 entree sized and one main between us and shared the lot, we do this to save food envy! Started with the smoke bone marrow w gremolata and Parmesan crisps, great combination and perfectly cooked marrow! We followed with the Parmesan gnocchi, fresh curds and porcini... Wow! A taste sensation, perfect in every way!

Then came the steak! We went for the dry aged steak, the only one on the menu, the rest were wet aged. This meant the steak was Australian which sort of made me question my buy nz made, and grass fed beef! I'm not convinced about grain finished either, should be grass all the way! They had plenty of nz grown fully grass fed options too, there were plenty of wagu steak options too and I spotted the amazing waitresses dragging substantial cuts of steak around to show guests just what each one looked like!

So, we asked for the steak to be cooked as the chef would like it cooked and it came out perfectly grilled, a touch more rare than medium rare which suited us perfectly!

The wine list is fairly expensive but comprehensive and the wait staff were just great. I think there was only the briefest of moments where I was looking for more wine in my glass... It was addressed very quickly!

Nice job all round team, highly recommend and we will return!

Date of visit: September 2016
Thank Ian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jervoissteakhouseqt, Manager at Jervois Steak House Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2016

Dear Ian W

Thank you for taking the time to leave an in-depth review,

It's a big motivation for the team to keep up their hard work and we're all very happy to read you had such a nice time.

We look forward to your next visit,

Kind regards

Patrick Reihl


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2016

Delicious food with excellent service. Very enjoyable evening with several friends. We did not have a booking however the friendly staff found room for us.

Date of visit: August 2016
Thank Tyler A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jervoissteakhouseqt, Manager at Jervois Steak House Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2016

Dear Tyler A

Thank you for your review,

We appreciate you taking the time to give us feedback on your evening, and more importantly that you and your friends had a great experience. I'll pass on your review to the team.

We hope to see you back in the near future,

Kind regards

Patrick Reihl

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2016

The restaurant has a great ambience, but the staff, from around the world, really brought it alive - we thoroughly enjoyed your company, thank you all! We had the degustation meal, which was everything we would have loved to have tried anyway, paired with some very nice wines. Along with the fun we had, it was the generosity of both the food & the wine servings that's making me write - not bagging all NZ restaurants, but you know what I mean!?! Thank you JSH - great job

Date of visit: September 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jervoissteakhouseqt, Manager at Jervois Steak House Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2016

Dear FijiBliss

Thank you for your review,

The whole team are very pleased to read about your evening with us and that you had such a lovely time.

It was a pleasure looking after you and we all hope you back soon,

Kind regards

Patrick Reihl

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2016 via mobile

We was staying in the Sofitel and didn't want to go far and found this in our hotel, it was a busy night and we didn't think we would get a table but the helpful English guy managed to fit us in for dinner (this guys makes the restaurant).
We got a nice table for 2 by the window and we ordered the breads and 2 glasses of lovely red, and for mains we had the small steaks and sides and one of creamed spinach which was great.
We enjoyed our meal that much we went back again and had chicken the next night.
Again the staff are great and we had the same waiter 2 nights in a row and he was bloody good and the English guy was on again and was helpful.
The chicken was great.

Great staff and great meals/wine.

Will go back on our next trip.

Date of visit: August 2016
Thank 59paulj
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jervoissteakhouseqt, Manager at Jervois Steak House Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2016

Dear Paul J

Thank you for your review,

It was lovely talking you both when you visited and we appreciate you joining us for two of your nights during your stay in Queenstown.

I passed your kind words onto the team and we all hope to see you again next time your in Queenstown.

Kind regards

Patrick Reihl

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Jervois Steak House Queenstown also viewed

Queenstown, Otago Region
Queenstown, Otago Region
 
Queenstown, Otago Region
Queenstown, Otago Region
 

Been to Jervois Steak House Queenstown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Australia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.