We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern, comfortable place to stay.”
Review of Shotover Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Shotover Lodge
Reviewed 11 March 2012

This was a lovely place to stay, only minor issue was the location but it didn't really take that long to get to the main centre, just had to go over 2 one way bridges. Was very modern and new and comfortable.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Meekz101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
matthew h, General Manager at Shotover Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2012

Hi Meekz, thanks for your review, we are a little out of town, but that ensures a quiet nights sleep away from the partying. Hope to see you again. Thanks, Shotover Lodge crew.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (256)
There are newer reviews for Shotover Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

190 - 194 of 256 reviews

Reviewed 1 March 2012

Stayed here for five nights but could have stayed longer. Very spacious modern rooms - bed and bedding was the most luxurious we have ever slept in. Spotlessly clean modern bathroom and kitchen area. Stunning views from the balcony all around of the mountains - perfect to watch the sunrise and sunset. Young friendly staff, very helpful and efficient. Only a 10 minute drive outside Queenstown. Huge very well equipped communal stainless steel professional kitchen provided if you wanted to cook your own food - great fun when there are a few people cooking at the same time at the end of the day - lots of cookers, sinks etc. and nice dining area to eat in if you did not want to eat in your room. Will definitely stay here again on our next trip to NZ.

Room Tip: 2nd and 3rd floors for best views
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elaine J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
matthew h, General Manager at Shotover Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2012

Hi Elaine, pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and that you made the most of the facilities. Shortly we will be starting a facebook campaign for returning guests to print off a value add voucher, so when you come to stay with us next if you book direct you will recieve a little something to further enhance your stay. Autumn is here and soon the whole area will be turning every colour of red and gold. Look out for photos on our website. Hope to see you again. Regards, Matt and the crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2012

This lodge is a clean and modern three-storey complex of apartments located 5.5km (3.5 miles) outside Queenstown at Arthurs Point. The lodge has a free parking area. There is a small reception that has a soft seating area, local information and small shop with food items to purchase. Wireless internet is available via timed vouchers purchased from reception. The reception opens at 8am and closes at 8pm, however a key provided during check-in gives 24 hours access to the apartments and your room.

The lodge is very similar to Premier Inn rooms available in the UK, although this lodge is independant and not part of a chain. The check-in was quick and friendly and room rate is very good value. I paid about 100 NZD per night. The room was a good size, had one double and one single bed, there was a kitchenette, microwave, cutlery and crockery provided. There was a kettle, toaster and tea and coffee making facilities. The room also had a large flat screen television with a selection of channels, including the normal terrestrial channels and some satellite channels. My room was on the ground floor with a sliding patio door out to a seating area with table and chairs. The rooms on the upper levels have a balcony with a similar seating area.

A couple of negative points which didn't bother me but worth a mention, the double bed was actually two single beds pushed together and dressed with double sheets. The television wasn't tuned in properly so I had to retune it to get all the channels. Rooms are cleaned once per week if you are staying for a week or more. This wasn't an issue for me since I only stayed two nights.

There is an en-suite shower room containing an enclosed shower and toilet. Some complimentary shampoos and soap were provided with clean towels. The rooms were clean and tidy.

I slept well on both nights of my stay and the room was generally quiet although you do sometimes get noise from adjancent rooms, especially when taps are run or toilets are flushed. The lodge is away from the road and the road itself is not busy.

You would ideally have a car because the location is outside of Queenstown and about 6-8 minutes drive to the centre. The car journey is very simple along Gorge Road which goes directly to the centre of Queenstown. Between the lodge and the centre of town you also pass other attractions including the Shotover river, this makes the lodge very convenient to access these facilities. There is also a local bus service (R8 Connectabus) that runs from just outside the lodge to the centre of Queenstown. Good cheap parking is available at the recreation ground on the edge of Queenstown.

This is a very good value lodge considering the quality of the facilities available. I would imagine this lodge becoming very popular over the next few years. This was recommended to me by friends and I would definately recommend this lodge if you have a car and don't mind staying somewhere just outside Queenstown.

Room Tip: A room on the ground floor means that you can go out through the patio door of your room to get some...
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lonewayfarer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
matthew h, General Manager at Shotover Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 29 February 2012

Kia ora Lonewayfarer, Wow! That was a very thorough review, thank you for your comments. Very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and I have taken on board your feed back. Our sole aim is to provide people like your self with friendly service and a warm clean place to stay and hopefully enhance your experience while staying in our lovely country. I hope you have some fantastic memories (and photos) to take back home with you. Thanks, Matt and the crew.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2012

We stayed overnight to get an early start for a bike race. Room was clean, a good size, and had a kitchenette making it easy to make a quick breakfast before heading out.
Would be a good base for heading up Coronet Peak, or just visiting the Queenstown area.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JediNeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
matthew h, General Manager at Shotover Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2012

Hi Jedi Neo, thanks for your feed back, hope the race went well, we are perfectly placed for people wanting a quiet nights sleep before the next days activities, be it hiking, cycling or skiing. Hope to see you again! Matt and the crew.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2012

No regrets booking this place. It's only a 5 minute drive from Queenstown central and far enough away to get a good quiet nights sleep. Our room was pretty spacious, didn't have road noise, has a handy little kitchenette and a decent flat screen tv. It's certainly clean and the guest (shared) kitchen is perfect for self catering - clean and well equipped.

Certainly recommend it for anyone with a hire car and have seen loads of guests using the regular bus service into town - the bus stops are right outside.

Can't think of anything bad to say. We'll be back to stay each time we're in Queenstown.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ek_NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
matthew h, General Manager at Shotover Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2012

Absolutely Positivley Wellingtonians! Great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, seen us in the summer, hope to have you stay with us in winter! The whole area changes into a winter wonderland! The lodge is warm, right next to Coronet Peak and I will be brewing up some home recipe mulled wine!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.8 km away
Queenstown TOP 10 Holiday Park
6.2 km away
Absoloot Value Accommodation
Absoloot Value Accommodation
#6 of 93 in Queenstown
368 reviews
6.2 km away
Queenstown Lakeview Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 km away
Earnslaw Lodge
Earnslaw Lodge
#11 of 93 in Queenstown
391 reviews
6.9 km away
YHA Queenstown Lakefront
YHA Queenstown Lakefront
#15 of 93 in Queenstown
323 reviews
5.6 km away
Pinewood Lodge
Pinewood Lodge
#76 of 93 in Queenstown
492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shotover Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shotover Lodge

Address: 157 Arthurs Point Road | RD 1 Arthurs Point, Queenstown 9371, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 93 Speciality Lodging in Queenstown
Price Range: $91 - $122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Shotover Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In beautiful mountain scenery just a few metres from the access to Coronet Ski Field, a short drive from five golf courses and within walking distance of hot pools, Shotover Lodge is a perfect all-year-round base for exploring the adventure playground that is the Queenstown area. Sporting types searching for adrenaline and adventure will find opportunities for skiing, snow boarding, mountain biking, kayaking, bungee jumping and much more. This quiet retreat is also ideally situated for a spot of sightseeing in historic Arrowtown. An old gold rush town, Arrowtown now caters for visitors from around the globe. Just minutes from Shotover is Queenstown, nestled on the shore of Lake Wakatipu and offering a great choice of shops to browse in and restaurants to try. New, stylishly furnished, clean, friendly and affordable, Shotover Lodge offers a choice of comfortable rooms to cater for the needs of independent travellers, families, groups, wedding parties and corporate get-togethers. Facilities also include a communal kitchen and lounge room, a guest laundry, an outdoor fireplace and barbecue, fully equipped guest kitchen and ample parking space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, lastminute.com.au, Evoline ltd, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, Agoda, Hooroo Pty Ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Shotover Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shotover Hotel Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing