We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best price” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shotover Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Shotover Lodge
Ukraine
Level Contributor
63 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
“The best price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2012

My wife, daughter and I had two wonderful nights in the hotel. If you have a car, it is only 10 minutes drive along the beautiful road from the center of Queenstown. There are few dishes and a microwave in the room. Very clean rooms and wonderful views of the mountains. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roman073
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    81
    98
    46
    12
    6
See reviews for
47
120
14
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Greater Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2012

we were a little disappointed with the Shotover Lodge this was from before we even arrived

we emailed the day before asking for an early check in and sent an email stating
As we are in our peak season ,we can’t guarantee an earlier check in.
check in time is usually after 2pm. However you can come and drop your baggage if needed.

when asked where we could leave our luggage he said just put it behind the couch ... so we waited until after 2.00pm to Check in

5 minutes after Checking In to the room one of the cleaners walks in didn't even knock ....at the same time as I was pulling my pants down right by the door I don't know who got more of a shock her or me ...she asked would we like our room cleaned ...even though we had only just walked in the room

we had a single bed and a double bed ...well it was 2 single beds put together in our room ...

the room was very basic I thought it was more suitable to staff accommodation for people working at Coronet Peak

for our 3 night stay the room wasn't serviced at all which was very disappointing ...we couldn't do the dishes as we had no washing liquid

overall loved the area but the stay at Shotover Lodge was very disappointing

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wargab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
matthew h, General Manager at Shotover Lodge, responded to this review, 21 February 2012
thank you for your feed back. The points you have raised are valid ones and as such I have spoken with staff and re iterated the importance of following the systems we have in place to ensure our guests feel completly at ease while staying with us. The servicing of rooms is done every third day , this is to keep the room cost toour guests down, however as written on the check in form that all guests sign, it does say that at any time should you require towels, tea, coffee etc to contact reception and we will replace for you, the staff will do a full room service if requested to. We are currently putting together a compendium for in the rooms that will make it clearer for guests to understand. Once again thanks for your feed back and I hope your travels in New Zealand were enjoyable. Go the All Blacks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lower Hutt, New Zealand
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2012

Really good value for money large room with cooking facilities and ensuite
Very clean good mattresses and great location Recommend

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Christine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level Contributor
40 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2012

10 minute drive away from Queenstown and its party scene, Bus stop across road, good timetable, late night bus from town at 0200 and 0400, (cheaper than a taxi). Next to the Onsen hot pools and 3mins walk from the Shotover Jet, Supermarket on the road into town.

Spacious, clean accommodation with adequate room facilities, comfy bed, ensuite with shower, kichenette, tv, decent sized balconies, parking, laundry and communal kitchen and lounge. Wifi available but a bit pricey.

Friendly and helpful staff.

Excellent value for money (please dont put your prices up!)

Will defo stay here again if im back in Queenstown!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank di73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
north yorkshire
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2012

Stay five days and get your room serviced. Stay for two to four and get nothing! For the NZ120 per night I expect better!
On the positive side Shotover Lodge is well situated for both Queenstown and Arrowtown. Pleasant balconies on the upper floors are particularly welcome after a long day.
If you are prepared to wash your own towels and bedding this is definitely the place for you!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank journeyman064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
7.0 km away
Ramada Hotel & Suites Queenstown Remarkables Park
5.4 km away
Coronet View Accommodation
Coronet View Accommodation
#46 of 57 in Queenstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
0.2 km away
Nugget Point Queenstown Hotel
Nugget Point Queenstown Hotel
#28 of 57 in Queenstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 km away
Sherwood Queenstown
Sherwood Queenstown
#40 of 57 in Queenstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
6.2 km away
Absoloot Value Accommodation
Absoloot Value Accommodation
#7 of 90 in Queenstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
5.5 km away
Queenstown Holiday Park & Motel Creeksyde
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shotover Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shotover Lodge

Property: Shotover Lodge
Address: 157 Arthurs Point Road | RD 1 Arthurs Point, Queenstown 9371, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 90 Speciality Lodging in Queenstown
Price range (per night): $94 - $118
Hotel Class:3 star — Shotover Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In beautiful mountain scenery just a few metres from the access to Coronet Ski Field, a short drive from five golf courses and within walking distance of hot pools, Shotover Lodge is a perfect all-year-round base for exploring the adventure playground that is the Queenstown area. Sporting types searching for adrenaline and adventure will find opportunities for skiing, snow boarding, mountain biking, kayaking, bungee jumping and much more. This quiet retreat is also ideally situated for a spot of sightseeing in historic Arrowtown. An old gold rush town, Arrowtown now caters for visitors from around the globe. Just minutes from Shotover is Queenstown, nestled on the shore of Lake Wakatipu and offering a great choice of shops to browse in and restaurants to try. New, stylishly furnished, clean, friendly and affordable, Shotover Lodge offers a choice of comfortable rooms to cater for the needs of independent travellers, families, groups, wedding parties and corporate get-togethers. Facilities also include a communal kitchen and lounge room, a guest laundry, an outdoor fireplace and barbecue, fully equipped guest kitchen and ample parking space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, lastminute.com.au, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Shotover Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shotover Hotel Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing