We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely breathtaking!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Villa Del Lago

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Villa Del Lago
Ranked #1 of 57 Hotels in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Absolutely breathtaking!”
Reviewed 2 April 2012

My fiancé (was my boyfriend at the start of our stay here) and I spent 5 glorious nights at Villa Del Lago in August 2011. The view is breath taking. The rooms were clean and had every modern convenience you could ever need ( even a dryer which was handy after a day snow boarding and then swimming). The staff always had a smile and went above and beyond for us. Do not think twice about this place, it's a no brainer!!!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Armich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillaDelLago_11, Owner at Villa Del Lago, responded to this review, 10 April 2012
Thanks for your positive review! We were so excited that your partner popped the question here!
We look forward to having you back at Villa Del Lago again one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

533 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    451
    71
    8
    3
    0
See reviews for
129
301
5
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
GA!
Level Contributor
65 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2012

Stayed at Villa del Lago for 3 nights. Beautiful ocean view room. Laundry inside the room was convenient and had daily room service. Very nice accomodation with thoughtful furnishings. Manager made late check-in easy. Facility was in the process of getting free wi-fi - unfortunately, we already paid for a day thru 3rd party before we discovered this. Only small complaint was that parking was somewhat precarious. 20 minute nice walk into heart of Queenstown.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank QueenOfTheRoad7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2012

The apartments are nestled into the hill side (the walk up to reception was a bit hard, but you could drive down to your apartment and then only had a few steps to get to your door). The view was amazing. We loved everything about the place. The only drawback I felt (not for us) but for people that cannot step into the bathtub to have a shower, I think they would find it hard. But I am sure if you talk to the owners they would have an apartment that would suit.
They even had umbrellas in the apartment but luckily we did not have to use them. They were great with advice with what to do and where to stay next:)

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Arrowhead, California
Level Contributor
106 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2012

We stayed in a one bedroom apartment that had absolutely everything we could have needed. The views of the lake from the floor to ceiling windows were spectacular--especially watching the sunrise over the mountains. The rooms were spacious, clean, well maintained and very fashionably furnished. We loved having the fireplace, and used it one rainy day after a long hike. Having our own washer/dryer (soap included) was just what we needed at that point in our trip. The hotel is about a 10 minute drive to the heart of Queenstown, but there is a nice foot/bike path just steps away that we used instead of driving. The 20-25 minute lakeside walk took us through pine trees and through the Botanic Gardens--very pleasant. The management was helpful, friendly and didn't even charge us for the long distance phone call we had to make. This one's a winner!

Room Tip: All rooms have views of the lake, but since the buildings are tiered, ask for one on the lowest leve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alison98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2012

Stayed for a mini honeymoon break and this was just what we needed to relax and unwind.
Such a beautiful location, with the treats and activities of Queenstown so close by and also a completely tranquil spot to come back to.
Comfortable well furnished rooms and the kitchen has everything you need for self catering.
It is a beautiful 20 minute lakeside walk into town and easy to taxi back.
Unfortunately we weren't told about the complementary wifi when we checked in so only discovered that nearly at the end of our stay when we went to buy some credit.
We also suffered from the ewwwww sewerage smells when sitting outdoors but also noticed it other places along the track towards Frankton so guess this is a generalised problem and not unique to this property? We had reported it to reception after our first experience of it and were told they would look into it, but no-one came back to us at all.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jandypandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillaDelLago_11, Owner at Villa Del Lago, responded to this review, 2 April 2012
Many thanks for your review and we are happy that you enjoyed your stay.

Our apologies re the Wifi, as you have commented we were just starting to offer complimentary Wifi and omitted to ask you during check in if you required a pass code. The payment option is still in place for people who are not our guests. Again we are sorry and when you come back we will certainly discount that cost to you.

The sewerage smell was reported to the Queenstown Council, the problem was along the Frankton Walkway and has been attended to.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.7 km away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
1.9 km away
Queenstown Park Boutique Hotel
3.6 km away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 km away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
1.8 km away
Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa
0.7 km away
Pounamu Apartments
Pounamu Apartments
#12 of 57 in Queenstown
1,356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Del Lago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Del Lago

Property: Villa Del Lago
Address: 249 Frankton Road, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
Price range (per night): $261 - $528
Hotel Class:5 star — Villa Del Lago 5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This peaceful lakeside small luxury hotel comprises one bedroom Suites and two and three bedroom Villas. Unsurpassed views of the crystal clear lake and the sparkling mountains. Only 1.7km from the bustling town centre, the Villa del Lago offers a genuine lake front setting with its own pebbled beach and jetty - a rare combination of exceptional quality and convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Odigeo, lastminute.com.au, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Villa Del Lago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Del Lago Hotel Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing