We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“The best hotel we stayed in by far!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Whistler, The Chancellor - Queenstown

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Whistler, The Chancellor - Queenstown
Ranked #25 of 57 Hotels in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The best hotel we stayed in by far!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2012

I LOVED the Whistler in Queenstown. The owners were just wonderful and so incredibly friendly and interested in where we were from and where we were going. They had a wide selection of DVDs available at reception and they left clear instructions of how to find our room, as we arrived too late to check in with them.

The apartment was fab too, large bedroom with large wardrobes. The bathroom was perfect for the two of us and the living room was also very spacious. The balcony was massive and could have easily fit a large table with 8 chairs around it. We had an incredible view of the lake and mountains and watched the sun set every night. The bed was comfortable as was the sofa and we never had a problem parking close to our room. The hotel is a 1 min walk from Queenstown center and you are close to all the restaurants, pubs and wharf. The gondolas are also only a 10 min walk away or a 3 min drive. We also drove to the shotover jet from the hotel and we were there in 15mins. The only thing I would have changed (and this is clutching at straws) would be the metal blind in the bedroom. It was very warm while we were there and so we had to have the window open, this made the blind bang contantly against the wall which did wake me up a few times. If there was aircon or a fan I could have shut the window but it was also light so ealry we couldn't leave the blind down. This was literally my only conplaint!

Thank you so much Jan and Wayne for a fantastic visit!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Megan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    173
    67
    19
    4
    3
See reviews for
56
159
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2012

We stayed at this holiday apartment during our recent trip to Queenstown. The staff were helpful, warm and friendly people who recommended a number of nice activities to do in this area. The rooms were very clean and in excellent condition. We were very comfortable staying there.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peachie_Fairy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2011

We stayed in the Whistler Holiday Apartments for 4 nights and we must say that this motel is one of the best accomodation that we have had as we travel around the amazing South Island. The rooms were especially clean and spacious with white modern designs, offering us an extremely pleasant and comfortable stay in Queenstown. The balcony also offers a fantastic view of the famous Skyline Gondola (and paragliders) as well as some of the rugged mountains surrounding Queenstown. Whistler is conveniently located on Gorge Road, which is just a 5 minute short walk from the city centre (where most of the shopping is), the FreshChoice supermart, and also the petrol station. What really impressed us was the quality service provided by the staff. The knowledgeable staff were extremely helpful and friendly. Not only did they help us book most of the activities that we wanted to do in Queenstown, but they were also very willing to help us book our accomodation for the subsequent days of our trip. The best thing is, we only paid an easily affordable price of NZ$145 per night! However, there's one slight drawback. The laundry machine would take a couple of hours before it completes one whole process and it also leaves the laundry rather damped even after drying them. Other than that, we find ourselves very lucky to book this apartment through Queenstown's i-site and we absolutely recommend this motel to anyone that's visiting Queenstown, be it a short or a long stay.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SD1023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2011

We stayed in the Whistler for three nights whilst in Queenstown on our trip around the south island. The rooms were very comnfortable clean and modern. We had a nice view of the mountains from the balcony. The only thing we would comment on is that the bedroom is located closest to the walkway and that the light remains on all night which makes the room quite bright. Other than this the stay was perfect. The Whistler is in a great location with a short 5 minute walk to the CBD. The hosts were very friendly and were great at helping us find things to do in and around Queenstown. The cooking facilities were more than adequate for making a great breakfast.
We would definately reccommend and would return to the Whistler any time!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank govenator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio
Level Contributor
156 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2011

Clean affordable good kitchen. $132Great innskeeper. Close to all attractions. Walking distance grocery store, food, luge, gondola. Friendly innskeeper.
Tips: don't walk down mountain from gondola unless you are used to hiking.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GlobetrotterBella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
2.6 km away
Pounamu Apartments
Pounamu Apartments
#12 of 57 in Queenstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,309 reviews
2.4 km away
Scenic Suites Queenstown
Scenic Suites Queenstown
#22 of 57 in Queenstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 836 reviews
3.9 km away
Mercure Resort Queenstown
Mercure Resort Queenstown
#26 of 57 in Queenstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 km away
Coronet View Accommodation
Coronet View Accommodation
#45 of 57 in Queenstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
6.2 km away
Ramada Hotel & Suites Queenstown Remarkables Park
3.5 km away
Nugget Point Queenstown Hotel
Nugget Point Queenstown Hotel
#28 of 57 in Queenstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whistler, The Chancellor - Queenstown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whistler, The Chancellor - Queenstown

Property: Whistler, The Chancellor - Queenstown
Address: Corner Gorge Road | PO Box 221, Queenstown 9999, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
#12 Family Hotel in Queenstown
#24 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
Price range (per night): $245 - $277
Hotel Class:4 star — Whistler, The Chancellor - Queenstown 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Hooroo Pty Ltd so you can book your Whistler, The Chancellor - Queenstown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whistler, The Chancellor - Queenstown Hotel Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing