We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Chalet Queenstown

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Chalet Queenstown
Ranked #5 of 45 Queenstown B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Napa, California
Level Contributor
56 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2012

Had an excellent stay at the Chalet! It capped six weeks in New Zealand and was certainly one of the best places we stayed. Decor, rooms, views, the staff were all outstanding ... and a huge breakfast to boot. Just out of the centre city so you don't get all the noise and traffic, yet an easy walk into town. Thoroughly enjoyed our visit!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    211
    57
    9
    3
    1
See reviews for
28
184
19
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Enfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2012

Excellent accommodation and whilst a good walk from the town centre - don't take the car as parking a nightmare - Alex is a most convivial host and a few minutes walk is worth the effort! Thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christopher M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2012

Spent 3 nights here and what a superb place it is. Chalet Queenstown calls itself a B & B but to my mind is a small boutique hotel. Great decor, friendly welcome and service with nothing too much trouble for the owner Alex. The bedrooms are spacious, fabulous beds and a great breakfast. Walk into town is about 5-10 mins, bit longer coming back as uphill. We came on our friends recommendation and were not disappointed. Would definitely come again.
Thanks Sandra & Vince

Room Tip: We were in room no 6
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sandra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
71 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2012

Ok. I was spoiled because we had just spent 4 nights in the Historic Stone House. The upstairs room we were given (#1) was small. We had trouble moving around the bed with our luggage and a small chair pulled away from the small table provided. Also, our room made me feel like I was in a fishbowl. Upon entering the unit, the drapes were open on the sliding door and the bank of windows over the bed. I looked upon the windows of homes on the streets surrounding the Chalet. Didn't really feel like I could leave the drapes open because I felt exposed. Also, there was a lot of traffic noise from Frankton Road which is the main road into town and the Chalet is just off that road. The room and bath were very clean. We did enjoy the excellent breakfast that was provided. There was an assortment of cold dishes but you could also order a hot meal. The Chalet is also a little further from the town center. We only stayed the one night and I don't think this would be my first choice for an extended stay.

Room Tip: You'll have a lake view from room #2. But, room #1 and room #2 are affected by the traffic nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank durangodawgs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Veracruz,Mexico
Level Contributor
59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2012

Alex is a great Host, excellent location, room nice and clean. Lovely view of the lame and mountains . You will be at home.

Room Tip: Ask for the corner rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank galat29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
1.2 km away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
0.5 km away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#22 of 57 in Queenstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,027 reviews
1.6 km away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 km away
Mercure Resort Queenstown
Mercure Resort Queenstown
#26 of 57 in Queenstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,330 reviews
1.0 km away
Queenstown Park Boutique Hotel
4.7 km away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalet Queenstown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet Queenstown

Property: Chalet Queenstown
Address: 1 Dublin Street, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Queenstown
Price range (per night): $213 - $302
Hotel Class:4 star — Chalet Queenstown 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only 5 minutes walk to central Queenstown, Chalet Queenstown is a boutique Bed and Breakfast/Inn accommodation. Renowned worldwide for its perfectly appointed rooms and fabulous breakfasts Chalet Queenstown is the perfect place to enjoy all Queenstown, the adventure capital of New Zealand, has to offer. All seven guest rooms have private shower ensuites and balconies with the centrepiece of each room being King or Twin beds, covered in luxurious feather duvets, crisp white linens and capped off with a choice of pillows and a charcoal comforter. A sumptuous continental style buffet and freshly prepared a la carte breakfast is offered each day. With an emphasis on locally supplied goods, diversity and flavour are our focus. Cafe quality presentation has guests reaching for their cameras before they take their first bite. Chalet Queenstown also offers guests free onsite parking, along with WiFi access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, lastminute.com.au, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chalet Queenstown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chalet Queenstown Hotel Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing