We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A special place on earth...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Eichardt's Private Hotel
Ranked #20 of 58 Hotels in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A special place on earth...”
Reviewed 12 March 2012

I had the great pleasure to enjoy an evening at Eichardt's Private Hotel, from the warm hospitable welcome, and ever attentive team, warm homely accommodations and sumptuous beds, this hotel was superb. The tapas menu in the bar made for the perfect end to the day, and I haven't even commented on all that Queenstown has to offer. I would highly recommend Eichardt's Private Hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShaunLux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eichardts, General Manager at Eichardt's Private Hotel, responded to this review, 22 March 2012
Dear Shaunlux
Thank you for reviewing your stay with us at Eichardt’s. It was a pleasure to meet you during your time in Queenstown and it is fantastic that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay. My staff and I are dedicated to ensuring we offer THE best guest experience available in Queenstown . We look forward to seeing you again at Eichardt’s.
Kind Regards
Chris McIntosh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    226
    17
    7
    4
    4
See reviews for
56
158
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2012

Eichardt's is small and in located at the centre of Queenstown, right by the lake. We have stayed there three times. and it is one of the best, and friendliest, hotels on the planet. We are fussy and have been in many great hotels, but Eichardt's is a true NZ jewel.

Room Tip: If we told you the best room it might not be available for us next time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Neil9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eichardts, General Manager at Eichardt's Private Hotel, responded to this review, 16 February 2012
Dear Neil9999

Thank you for posting a review of your stay with us at Eichardt’s Private Hotel. It was great to see you enjoyed your stay with us again. We appreciate your kind words and I will be passing the feedback onto the staff. I am pleased to announce were just named in the top eight hotels in the World by Tatler UK as forever fabulous! Thank you and we look forward to seeing you again at Eichardt’s.

Kind Regards
Chris McIntosh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2012

Our second stay at The Cottages and have lost count of the times stayed at Eichardts Hotel...which really says it all. !!! Fantastic staff, fabulous rooms, great little bar, great food...The cottages are great for families or groups and the hotel for couples...
Only downside was there were no offerings for children on the menu....but I know they are going to rectify that..!!!
Queenstown has to be one of the most magical places on earth and should be on everyones "bucket list".

Room Tip: Front rooms have beautiful lake views..
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fran W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eichardts, General Manager at Eichardt's Private Hotel, responded to this review, 1 February 2012
Dear Fran W

Thank you for providing feedback for your stay with us at Eichardt's Private Hotel. It was fantastic to see you again and I am happy to say after receiving your feedback we are now rolling out children's menu options in the next two weeks. We look forward to seeing you again at Eichardt's

Kind Regards
Chris McIntosh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2012

We were welcomed by a friendly lady at the desk. All service was kind and helpful. We stayed in one of their 2nd floor/top floor apartments next to Botswana Butchery (great place for lunch and dinner). It was clean, spacious, nice view of the lake, had a washer and dryer, and kitchen. The bed was large and comfortable, fluffy pillows. My only dislike in the bedroom was the skylight over the bed. It has a shade, but light still comes in. I recommend using an eye mask if you'd like to sleep late. There is a DVD player, but it doesn't take US DVD's and there are not a lot of channels (and the sound was not in sync). BUT if you're in Queenstown you're hopefully more interested in everything you can do outdoors.

If you don't plan your activities beforehand, an Eichardt employee would be happy to make recommendations and book for you.

BREAKFAST was delicious every day, great options and service.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CMMlovestotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eichardts, General Manager at Eichardt's Private Hotel, responded to this review, 1 February 2012
Dear CMMlovestotravel

Thank you for your feedback about your stay with us at Eichardt's Private Hotel. It was great to read that you enjoyed your stay with us - and interesting information regarding the eye mask suggestion - I will look at that option as a guest amenity! The Television has now been reprogrammed after the strong winds we have experienced here. Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you again at Eichardt's

Kind Regards
Chris McIntosh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2012

This was our second stay at the Eichardt's cottage and we enjoyed it as much as the first time, when the cottage was just completed three years ago. The cottage has a magnificent view over the lake and is very tastefully decorated. It is very private but with friendly service immediately at hand. The front desk staff in particular are extremely helpful and no request is too much. The breakfasts were superb and we are already looking forward to our next stay! In our view, this is the best place to stay in Queenstown.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laetitia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eichardts, General Manager at Eichardt's Private Hotel, responded to this review, 26 January 2012
Dear Laetitia P

Thank you for your feedback - we appreciate the time it takes to write a review to let everyone know about your return Eichardt's experience. The guest services team certainly are brilliant! – Please let me know if there is something special we can organise for your next stay. Perhaps we can tailor an experience for you in Queenstown that you haven't done on your previous two trips. We look forward to seeing you again at Eichardt's Private Hotel

Kind Regards
Chris McIntosh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.1 km away
The Spire Hotel Queenstown
The Spire Hotel Queenstown
#17 of 58 in Queenstown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
0.6 km away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
0.2 km away
Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Central Ridge Boutique Hotel
Central Ridge Boutique Hotel
#7 of 58 in Queenstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
0.3 km away
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
#19 of 58 in Queenstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,413 reviews
0.5 km away
Queenstown Park Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eichardt's Private Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eichardt's Private Hotel

Property: Eichardt's Private Hotel
Address: Marine Parade | PO Box 1340, Queenstown, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
#19 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
#20 Family Hotel in Queenstown
Price range (per night): $807 - $1,886
Hotel Class:5 star — Eichardt's Private Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HM Magazine (Australia) Best New Zealand Hotel 2014. World Luxury Hotel Awards Best boutique ski hotel 2013 and 2014 Eichardt's Private Hotel provides fine accommodation in five luxurious Hotel Suites, four Lakefront Apartments, and the Eichardt's Residence, all located in the historic district on a premium lakefront position at the heart of Queenstown's cafe and restaurant precinct with some of the finest international shopping labels an easy stroll away. The Hotel reflects contemporary provincial elegance, its modern features in perfect harmony with the distinctive antiques and luxurious furnishings of this New Zealand icon. The Lakefront Apartments, just a few paces away from Eichardt's Private Hotel offer stunning views of Lake Wakatipu and nearby mountain ranges. The Residence, located on an elevated position, a few minutes walk from the hotel is set over three levels and offers three suites, each with large ensuite, movie theatre, full European kitchen, and three lakefacing balconies. Queenstown's premier lakefront address offers a welcoming and stylish environment for sampling mouth-watering creations and timeless cocktails. Eichardt's Bar oozes the warmth, comfort and style of this beautiful old hotel with amazing views of the lake and surrounding mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Wotif.com, Agoda, Hooroo Pty Ltd, lastminute.com.au, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Eichardt's Private Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eichardts Private Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing