We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average hotel but great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Ranked #20 of 58 Hotels in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Average hotel but great location”
Reviewed 7 April 2012

As crowne properties go tnis property is very dated and the rooms are on the smaller side. Staff are very friendly though and the location is great. Its right at the base of beach street, the main street in queenstown.

Room Tip: Choose a lake view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Uts_student
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NZIHG, Manager at Crowne Plaza Queenstown, responded to this review, 10 April 2012
Thank you for leaving your feedback on trip advisor. We are very pleased that our staff provided a friendly service and that you found our central location to be great for exploring Queenstown. It’s regrettable to read that you found the rooms to be dated and we hope it did not stop you from having a comfortable stay. Your feedback is duly noted and we will certainly discuss your comments internally to see where we can make improvements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,442 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    702
    571
    117
    34
    18
See reviews for
279
755
79
113
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (439)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hawkesdale, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2012 via mobile

Had a great stay at crowne plaza staff were excellent would highly recommend to stay here !!!!!!

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Robyn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2012

Get a room in front of the hotel facing the lake. The views are terrific.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gonezen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
183 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2012

I think it would be hard to find accommodation in a better location. The hotel is only separated from the lake by one street. It is right in the heart of the town and makes exploring so easy.

My husband and I stayed for Christmas and were lucky enough to select the hotel from the 'secret hotel' category on last minute. We received a substantial discount on the rate. When we arrived we were given a room upgrade and a complimentary bottle if sparkling wine.

The room was very clean and modern and had fantastic views of the lake and mountains. The balcony was a great place to sit. The courtyard was fairly dull and the resort has no pool, but that is the only critism I have.

I was especially impressed by the staff at the resort. The concierge service was the highlight. We booked a few tours through the desk and really appreciated the friendliness and professionalism of the staff.

I'm so glad we stayed!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TrekBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
1 review
Reviewed 3 April 2012

I have stayed at the Crowne Plaza Queenstown 7 times over the last 4 years so I know it very very well. I keep coming back for the same reasons; staff, views, location and a super comfy bed. This review is well overdue.

Staff - A special thank you to Guy, the wonderful Front Desk Manager who manages his team so well in addition to looking after his guests. He has been there since the beginning and has assisted me so many times with anything from bookings, all front desk matters to help with being stranded in Queenstown during a snowstorm. What a wonderful addition to the CP team. The rest of the staff are always friendly and helpful.

Views - The views from the lakeview rooms are amazing.

Location - So close the the town centre, the location is fantastic and everything is so close. No need for a car.

Rooms - The bed is fantastic, rooms are quiet and when combined with the views are a great combination. My one wish - a microwave oven in the room would make it complete.

Overall the CP Queenstown is a winner on all fronts.

Ethan

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ethan_sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NZIHG, Manager at Crowne Plaza Queenstown, responded to this review, 10 April 2012
Hi Ethan,

Thank you so much for continuing to stay with us at Crowne Plaza Queenstown and leaving such fantastic feedback for the trip advisor community.

The team all work really hard to make it a comfortable stay for our valued guests and Guy certainly runs a tight ship out on the front desk. We will share your feedback with him and the rest of the staff who will all really appreciate your kind words.

Thanks for providing your detailed description on our location, amazing views and comfortable rooms. These are all great details for other travellers to consider.

Thanks again for the review and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again on your next trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.4 km away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#21 of 58 in Queenstown
3,122 reviews
5.6 km away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
0.3 km away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa
2.5 km away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
0.6 km away
Queenstown Park Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Queenstown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Queenstown

Property: Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Address: 93 Beach Street, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Queenstown
#5 Business Hotel in Queenstown
#15 Family Hotel in Queenstown
#15 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
#18 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
Price range (per night): $200 - $531
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Queenstown 4.5*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the breathtaking Lake Wakatipu and The Remarkables mountain range, Crowne Plaza Queenstown is conveniently located just minutes from the town centre. Across the road is the popular Steamer Wharf – home to great dining, bars and entertainment. Whether you are here for business, leisure, or even a bit of both, your comfort and enjoyment are our priority. From luxurious bedding, spacious rooms to your own balcony or courtyard, we have everything to make your stay a magical one. We also have a dedicated Queenstown activity concierge to assist with recommendations and bookings to help you get the most out of your stay in Queenstown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Odigeo, Hotels.com, lastminute.com.au, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Wotif.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Crowne Plaza Queenstown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Queenstown Hotel Queenstown
Queenstown Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing