We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfort in the snow”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Nugget Point Queenstown Hotel
Ranked #29 of 59 Hotels in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 September 2017

Being very close to Queenstown, but away from the mobs was a very successful. Friendly and helpful staff at reception, bar and restaurant. Comfortable room and excellent shower which didn't flood is always an advantage. The pool complex was the best - heated pool, hot tub and steam room made our stay really great.

Room Tip: Car park or mountain view is the choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stephen h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aaronwinder, General Manager at Nugget Point Queenstown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2017

Kia ora Stephen,

Thank you for taking the time to submit your review. It is great to see that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back to THC Nugget Point Hotel next again soon.

Kind Regards

Aaron Winder
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (639)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

9 - 13 of 639 reviews

Reviewed 10 September 2017

We loved the view, the rooms and the ambiance. We didn't love the bullying and dishonest service. At breakfast we were overcharged about $30. Only when I questioned the bill were we told that someone had accused us of stealing extras from the buffet (we had ordered from the menu). when I remonstrated I was told that "lots of guests do that" - so apparently it was appropriate not just to assume we were stealing but to add it to our bill without informing us. Nice. Not going back.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank philip319
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aaronwinder, General Manager at Nugget Point Queenstown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2017


Kia ora Philip,

Thank you for your review and please accept our apologies around the confusion over breakfast. We discussed your comments and have introduced another breakfast option that includes the express and A La Carte menu in order to avoid situations like this happening again.
Kind Regards

Aaron Winder
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2017 via mobile


Booked room for labour weekend last year after falling in love with the stunning photos advertised online and great reviews.

Great location, overlooking the Shotover river, beautifully maintained gardens, lovely rooms, restaurant and spa onsite.

On arrival we were surprised by what we had actually booked. Overgrown gardens, untidy carpark and dirty fountain.

Reception staff were blaze, and not overly welcoming ignoring us on arrival.

On the way to the room, hallways were very tired, with chipped paint, holes in walls and heavily stained carpet.

Room was huge, but not anything like the photos advertised online. Stranger still was the lack of furniture in the room - with only a bed, couch, coffe table and tv.

Bathroom again was huge with spa bath, but had weird layout. When we went to use the spa bath, it shot our so much dirt and gunk it was disgusting. Looked like it had never been cleaned out.

Fireplace had been dismantled (and looked hazardous).

Kitchen was empty with no sitting area eg. Table and chair despite having a breakfast bar and huge counter. Drawers were also empty, only provided a microwave, 2x tea cups, 2x glasses and 2x teaspoons. No knives, forks or plates???

On top of this the hotel is Non smoking, another detail that was not advertised. We never smoke inside, but having to go offsite for a cigarette was ridiculous.

When I spoke to staff at reception about the state of the room we'd booked versus what was advertised they simply said hotel was under new management and they were in process of renovating. When we requested we be moved to another room, they said we'd have to pay more.

Avoided spa and restaurant after long list disappointments.

Attempted to book alternative accommodation, but being a long weekend there was little available so we had to stay. This was definitely the worst place we have ever stayed.

Hopefully they have finished renovations and updated website to reflect what is actually offered.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank lenaf_NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aaronwinder, General Manager at Nugget Point Queenstown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2017

Kia ora lenaf_NZ,

Thank you for submitting your review on your stay back in October 2016. At the time, we had just changed ownership and management of the hotel and we are pleased to advise the Hotel has been undergoing an extensive refurbishment program since this time and this is almost complete. We apologize for the experience you have had and I assure you the points you have raised have been rectified some time ago. If you take the time to look at our website you will see the updates. We have also introduced a Burmese Restaurant, The Bodhi Tree which is proving to be very popular with not just our Hotel guests but also the locals.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to THC Nugget Point in the near future where you will get to see the changed for yourself.

Kind Regards

Aaron Winder
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2017

Wow what a surprise package Nugget Point was. Staff are so nice. It's quiet & the views are amazing from our room 212. My daughter & I are staying for 8 nights. Close to Coronet Peak for her races. Reasonably priced, rooms are spacious, beds comfortable & the restaurant is so good. Open fires that are so inviting & the internet is fast & free. It has a laundry which is great for our long stay. I would stay here without a doubt when we return

Stayed: August 2017
Thank MaParker33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aaronwinder, General Manager at Nugget Point Queenstown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2017

Kia ora MaParker33,

Thank you for your review on your resent stay with us. It sounds like you had a great time and we look forward to welcoming you back to THC Nugget Point next winter.

Kind Regards

Aaron Winder
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2017

I've read mixed reviews on this place and I have no idea why! we got a rental car and glad we did as it is about 15minutes from airport. As soon as we arrived we were impressed, check in was easy, the fire was going it was so nice and warm! the heater was on in our room which was appreciated! Craig on reception was one of the best I have ever dealt with, good local knowledge and nothing was a problem. The view from the restaurant and pool/spa is amazing, will def stay here again

Room Tip: View of the garden was fine but recommend the river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WinesieTime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aaronwinder, General Manager at Nugget Point Queenstown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2017

Kia ora WinesieTime,

Thank you for your review and kind comments of which I have just shared with Craig.

We are happy we could make your stay and enjoyable one and we look forward to welcoming you back to THC Nugget Point again soon.

Kind Regards

Aaron Winder
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
7.1 km away
Heritage Queenstown
Heritage Queenstown
#22 of 59 in Queenstown
1,628 reviews
5.9 km away
Scenic Suites Queenstown
Scenic Suites Queenstown
#23 of 59 in Queenstown
910 reviews
6.9 km away
Ramada Hotel & Suites Queenstown Remarkables Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 km away
Mercure Resort Queenstown
Mercure Resort Queenstown
#27 of 59 in Queenstown
1,467 reviews
6 km away
Swiss-Belsuites Pounamu Queenstown
4.8 km away
Sherwood Queenstown
Sherwood Queenstown
#36 of 59 in Queenstown
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nugget Point Queenstown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nugget Point Queenstown Hotel

Address: 146 Arthurs Point Road | 146 Arthur's Point Road, Queenstown 9371, New Zealand (Formerly Nugget Point)
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Queenstown
#17 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
#27 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range: $162 - $381 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Nugget Point Queenstown Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled at the base of Coronet Peak and overlooking the stunning Shotover River, Nugget Point Hotel is the ultimate boutique hotel in Queenstown, just a stone's throw away from shops, restaurants, bars and nightlife of central Queenstown. To complete the perfect picture, Nugget Point is just 10 minutes by car or public transport to Coronet Peak Ski Area for that very special winter getaway. The hotel boasts 36 spacious boutique rooms, accommodating up to 74 guests, and all rooms have an open plan bedroom and lounge area, ensuite bathroom, and private balcony or patio. Nugget Point Hotel offers a wide range of facilities for our discerning guests. Unwind at The Spa at Nugget Point for a truly luxurious escape, indulge in beauty and massage treatments in our beautiful spa which resembles a modern version of Roman baths whilst taking in the views of the surrounding mountain ranges and Shotover River. Then relax in the Shotover Lounge Bar for a refreshing drink or enjoy an exquisite dining experience in Birches Restaurant surrounded by awe inspiring views of the rugged Queenstown landscape. Take advantage of our Home Theatre to enjoy a unique movie experience, with your own private viewing. For the more active guest, there is a well-equipped gym, or challenge your companions to a game of tennis or squash on a private court, and avail yourself of our drying room after an enjoyable day on the ski field. Bookings necessary for these facilities and they are subject to availability at the time of booking. Nugget Point Hotel is also the perfect venue for small conference retreats and incentive groups with our luxury boardroom catering for up to 30 people, with all the modern conveniences and with breakaway rooms available during the period of the conference. For each of our guests there is something special that appeals. It may be the prospect of stretching out in a spa bath with a glass of champagne at the end of the day, or a gourmet meal in our Birches Restaurant admiring the views, or simply curled up on a couch in front of an open fire in our lounge bar with your favourite bottle of wine. One thing's for sure, at Nugget Point we've got the mix just right. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, lastminute.com.au, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Wotif.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hooroo Pty Ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Nugget Point Queenstown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Distinction Queenstown, Nugget Point Boutique Hotel Queenstown
Distinction Queenstown, Nugget Point Boutique Hotel And Spa
Nugget Point Boutique Resort
Nugget Point Boutique Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing