We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“suited our needs but expected better”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Millennium Hotel Queenstown
Ranked #31 of 57 Hotels in Queenstown
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
93 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“suited our needs but expected better”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2012

after the high of earlier hotels on our NZ trip this hotel left me feeling ho hum and there is no reason for us to return - for our next Queenstown hotel we will be staying at another hotel

we arrived at 1pm (checkin is 2pm) and waited in the lobby. the hotel porter who was managing the checkin counter as the actual reception staff were no where to be found (wish i got his name) was super helpful and friendly but sadly he was the highlight of the hotel staff, it was very average from then. the other front desk staff seemed to want to do only the basics

while we sat iin the lobby i noted a lot, and i mean A LOT of the furniture is worn and tired - ripped and worn fabric was noticable

we had room 527 and to be honest, after checking out the tired lobby furniture i was pleasantly surprise. it decent sized, we had a comfortable queen sized bed, a round table and chairs, tv & computer table plus mini bar. i was able to move the table & chairs to the side and had a massause come in with a full massage table without any issues. view from our room was over a tin roof and you could see a small amount of water and hills but its nice to open the window and get some fresh air

the bathroom is standard, shower over the tub with a sign saying for our safety to use the rubber mat but no mat was provided

breakfast was a $27pp buffet but as i rarely feel i can eat almost $30 of food for breakfast so we used the al la carte menu. Ordered the eggs benedict (note "eggs" as in plural) and was VERY disappointed - got one only half muffin with a slice of ham, poached egg and hollanaise sauce and we were charged $16 for this, would it kill them to give you an entire muffin? is there a muffin shortage in Queenstown? what happened to my other egg? sadly the waitress i asked never came back to tell me what happened to our breakfast

we were not charged for parking and the garage was easy to access but the hotel also has an hourly bus shuttle run into town for drop off and pickups

we asked for a late checkout and was told absolutely not

oh and i emailed them days before our arrival and asked about arranging a massage in our room (as their website says they will arrange this) and yeah, still waitiing for them to reply to that email


pro:
close to town
hotel bus shuttle available until 9pm
was happy with room 527
turn down service with choc mints on our bed - a nice touch
security parking available
the porter that greeted/assisted us


con:
no late checkout
very average staff
breakfast is disappointing
staff lack communication skill - check & answer your email enquiries guys


will i return to this hotel: no

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Denali68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John C, General Manager at Millennium Hotel Queenstown, responded to this review, 13 January 2012
Thank you for your frank and detailed review of your stay with us. Firstly, I agree that our lobby furniture is worn and tired, but it is all being re-covered, re-upholstered and refurbished in February.
I would also like to assure you that I have spoken with my new Housekeeper, who will be ensuring that an audit of all rooms supplies is undertaken - we have plenty of spare bath mats, so I am at a loss to understand why it was missing from your room. Similarly, I will be speaking with our Executive Chef on his return regarding our a'la carte breakfast offerring. Queenstown is not experiencing a muffin shortage or a shortage of eggs for that matter, so I am inclined to think that my chef and I have a training issue to deal with.
All joking aside, my thanks for your feedback, and my assurance that I will be addressing the issues that you have raised. PS. I will also endeavour to track down your email.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

799 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    154
    368
    208
    53
    16
See reviews for
91
372
54
148
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2011

Hosting a conferenc at the Millennium Hotel Queenstown New Zealand was brilliant.

The property was first class, the staff excellent and the food also excellent.

Nothing was too much trouble for all at te venue.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2011

The Kingsgate is far better quality and value for money .
overpriced for so called top of the line in the millenium group
Pillows were terrible and the beds are starting to get a bit tired
airconditioning was not working
bathrooms are shabby
One staff member was exceptional the rest were average
Cobwebs in the spa room on windows also on most of the windows outside
Definately would not stay there again

Room Tip: don't have a garden view room on bottom floor dark and dingy
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Binghamton, New York
Level Contributor
115 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2011

This hotel was nice and the rooms were very clean. The staff was ok. They looked exhausted. the hotel is a bit of a walk up a big hill into town. We were there for two days, which was fine. We left Queenstown and then came back again and stayed at the Crown Plaza Hotel which was much cheaper and right in town.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sldingman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2011

This hotel is not far from the middle of town, its on the hill just before you get to the main intersection to the town on Franklin road. The service was great but the food in the restaurant was "okay". Good value, about a 10 minute walk into town, there is a hill to walk back up too. They also had a shuttle for guest use and it is within 10 minutes drive to the airport.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.3 km away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#22 of 57 in Queenstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,031 reviews
0.1 km away
Copthorne Hotel and Resort Queenstown Lakefront
0.8 km away
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
#18 of 57 in Queenstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 km away
Mercure Resort Queenstown
Mercure Resort Queenstown
#27 of 57 in Queenstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,333 reviews
1.0 km away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
0.2 km away
Scenic Suites Queenstown
Scenic Suites Queenstown
#24 of 57 in Queenstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 859 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Millennium Hotel Queenstown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Millennium Hotel Queenstown

Property: Millennium Hotel Queenstown
Address: 32 Frankton Road, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Queenstown
#30 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
Price range (per night): $144 - $316
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Millennium Hotel Queenstown 4.5*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant hotel located 1 km from downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, lastminute.com.au, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Hooroo Pty Ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Millennium Hotel Queenstown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Millennium - Queenstown Hotel Queenstown
Queenstown Millennium Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing