We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant stay- Will be back!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Copthorne Hotel and Resort Queenstown Lakefront
Ranked #37 of 58 Hotels in Queenstown
Dunedin, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Pleasant stay- Will be back!!”
Reviewed 21 March 2012

We booked the leap year package. Basically this meant that we got a lot of extras, like a room up-grade, free parking, late checkout, and a free desert/entrée and drink. The only downside was finding our room. The hotel can be a little ‘maze-y’, so we did tend to get lost a bit (but that may be in part due to our lack-of-directional skills). Overall we had a great stay, the staff were friendly, and the price was great!!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robertoakes, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel and Resort Queenstown Lakefront, responded to this review, 10 April 2012
Thanks for your comments and glad you enjoyed your stay at the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

783 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    158
    348
    182
    64
    31
See reviews for
145
354
61
69
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2012

Like at least another review we arrived at the wrong Copthorne. Our fault, we didn't read the sign properly. You would think Copthorne people could make the names more clearly different. Our check in girl was efficient, but not really welcoming or friendly. Got a lovely room, but with noisy air-con right outside our door. We asked if the air-con switched off at night. They didn't know! They boast environmental credentials, they aught to re-examine them. The corridor was very cool and it wasn't that warm outside. No need to have air-con at all, never mind not knowing if or how they can control it. We got new room on level 2 which does not have an elevator down to it. (You come into reception from the road on level 5.). No sign of any porters so had to carry our luggage down stairs (quite narrow and steep). Room ok, but you had to lie on the floor to see instructions for security safe as well as operating it. Breakfasts a bit chaotic. Dinner ok, but comments regarding lack of taste in sauces were just ignored. "Did I ask the chef about my comment?", I was asked. Did they expect me to walk into the kitchen? Altogether almost spoiled the Queenstown visit. Very much below the standard I expected.

Room Tip: Don't allow them to give you a room on level 2
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robertoakes, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel and Resort Queenstown Lakefront, responded to this review, 10 April 2012
The names between the 2 Copthornes are a little confusing, sorry you did not enjoy your food and beverage experience, I will pass on your comments to the Restaurant Manager and Chef, we appreciate your feed back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Queenstown hotels

Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2012

Spacious room; large comfy bed but pillows not so good (read later you could request pillow of choice). I choose not to use lifts and as hotel has many confusing levels became "lost" a couple of times - signage is poor and would be confusing to escape incase of emergency. Staff friendly.

Room Tip: Request room with lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennyts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robertoakes, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel and Resort Queenstown Lakefront, responded to this review, 6 March 2012
Thank you for your feed back I will pass on to the team your comments about friendly staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sendai, Japan
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2012

Stayed two nights at this property in February 2012 with a friend. This was my second M&C stay, and I was very happy with everything.

The good

Property is well-maintained
Amazing views
Roomy, light rooms

The bad

The water pressure in the shower was a bit weak
Internet is not free

Overall

Loved the hotel and will be back. One caveat is that it is about a 5-10 minute walk into town, including a fairly steep hill. Fine for us, but for less mobile people this might be an issue.

Room Tip: Any of the lakeside view rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sendaiben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robertoakes, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel and Resort Queenstown Lakefront, responded to this review, 6 March 2012
Thank you for your comments on the hotel, am glad you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2012

This was a late night find on January 1st and the best find of our travels through NZ. The room was as new, obviously some recent refurbishment had occurred. Staff were great too.
Our room was huge and beautifully appointed. Can't wait to get back there. Didn't want to leave!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tmcmaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robertoakes, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel and Resort Queenstown Lakefront, responded to this review, 6 March 2012
Thank you for your comments on your stay in early Jan and really glad you enjoyed yourselves.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.4 km away
Copthorne Hotel & Apartments Queenstown Lakeview
0.1 km away
Millennium Hotel Queenstown
Millennium Hotel Queenstown
#32 of 58 in Queenstown
827 reviews
2.2 km away
Mercure Resort Queenstown
Mercure Resort Queenstown
#27 of 58 in Queenstown
1,388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#21 of 58 in Queenstown
3,121 reviews
0.2 km away
Scenic Suites Queenstown
Scenic Suites Queenstown
#24 of 58 in Queenstown
881 reviews
0.3 km away
Heartland Hotel Queenstown
Heartland Hotel Queenstown
#33 of 58 in Queenstown
618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Hotel and Resort Queenstown Lakefront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel and Resort Queenstown Lakefront

Property: Copthorne Hotel and Resort Queenstown Lakefront
Address: Corner Frankton Rd & Adelaide St, Private Bag, Queenstown DX ZP95021, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
Price range (per night): $162 - $384
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Hotel and Resort Queenstown Lakefront 4*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Copthorne Hotel & Resort Queenstown Lakefront has a Qualmark Enviro Gold Award for Sustainability. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Hooroo Pty Ltd, lastminute.com.au, Odigeo, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia APAC, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Copthorne Hotel and Resort Queenstown Lakefront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne Hotel Queenstown Lakefront

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing