We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really impressive Hilton. Total winner”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
Ranked #18 of 58 Hotels in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Really impressive Hilton. Total winner”
Reviewed 21 September 2012

After a couple of nights at the neighbouring Kawarau Hotel when we were last in NZ, being a fan of the brand, I was keen to give the neighbouring Hilton a whirl.  Passed through for a few days on the slopes so we grabbed the opportunity to stay.
 
One of the newest Hilton properties, they really have done a good job with this one. Whilst I preferred the bright and modern interior design within the Kawarau, the Hilton is a step up and is really a good attempt at modern Kiwi Alpine inspired architecture. Lots of decadent wall trimmings, extensive use of woodwork and good attention to detail; the kind of place that looks sweet draped in winter snow.
 
The room was great with the in-room gas fireplace providing a deft touch.
 
Facilities are excellent; a well-equipped gym, 25 metre lap pool and a large hot tub. Unfortunately the hot tub wasn’t a proper spa tub but that appears to be par for the course in NZ (they do seem to love sitting in pools of hot water with hardly any bubbles!).
 
Breakfast was nice but, in all honesty, they could probably replace the chef on hand with the massive buffet as per many other Hilton properties. Their full breakfast buffet is generally a sight to see!
 
As per previous comments (see review for Kawarau Hotel), the location won’t suit everyone I actually think of it as a strength. Close to the airport, close to the only decent shopping centre and away from the Queenstown tourist traps.
 
For the price and, you are generally paying through the nose to be a guest, the lack of complimentary internet access is a particularly bitter pill to swallow. Most mid-range NZ hotels now offer a complimentary in-room allowance. For a hotel of this calibre to have not joined the revolution is really pretty average. It is something that they have to address in what is otherwise a very good Hilton property.
 
 

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Drew1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew N, General Manager at Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 24 September 2012
Dear Drew1976
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments following your recent stay at the Kawarau Hotel.
It is great that you have been able to experience both hotels in our village.
I understand your comment regarding the internet. This is under review with Hilton Worldwide. Hopefully there will be a favourable outcome in the near future.

Thank you again and I look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us sometime soon.

Kind regards
Andrew Nisbet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,620 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,534
    659
    251
    115
    61
See reviews for
462
1,491
99
212
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (609)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mackay, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2012

We booked for 3 nights and ended up staying for 4. The room was beautifully decorated and the bathroom was very large in size. We had a lovely fireplace which we used each night after a day out in the weather. It was especially nice after a a day skiing and each day our room was made up perfectly by housekeeping, they did a great job and it was so welcoming to come back to. It is a bit of a drive to Queenstown from the Hotel so if were going to be doing several trips per day it does get a bit tiring as the traffic can be very busy and there is a one lane bridge you have to stop for. Our room service experience was not good on the occasion we ordered and nor was our experience in the WAKATIPU GRILL Restaurant but other reviewers have given it very good reviews so we must have got our waitperson at a bad time. However the meals we had at the Me & Mee Noodle Bar were very good and service was excellent both times.

Room Tip: We had a room with views of the lake and mountains, we noticed some rooms don't have great views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Narelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew N, General Manager at Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 24 September 2012
Dear Narelle S

I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for taking the time to share.

I am sorry you did not enjoy your experience in the Wakatipu Grill or In Room dining. It would be good if you were able to expand on these specific issues to enable us to address these.
Thank you again and I hope I have the opportunity to welcome you back to stay next time you are visiting New Zealand.

Kind regards
Andrew Nisbet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2012

The Hilton is tucked away on the oppisite side of then lake away from queenstown, located about 5 km from the airport. If your looking for a relaxing holiday with privacy and dont want to do much, this is the hotel to stay in. Very modern, quiet and beautiful rooms with a fire place, large bathroom, tv, desk, Ipod station, wardrobe, mini bar and of course a view of a snow capped mountain. There is a business centre with free internet and a gym. There are water taxis to queenstown for $15 return and start at midday and go till roughly 10pm on the hour. A taxi from queenstown back to hotel is approx $50 one way, I ended up hiring a car due to the cost of transport. There are buses also which are pretty good but I couldnt wait, a bit cold I think. The staff are proficient in their service and know the area. Bar staff can create great cocktails just by asking you your favourite fruits and cereals, trust me their good. Great place to stay..

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JC150180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew N, General Manager at Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 27 September 2012
Dear JC150180

I appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback following your recent stay at Hilton Queenstown.

It was great to see you enjoyed yourselves and I look forward to welcoming you back to stay when you are next visiting Queenstown.

Kind regards
Andrew Nisbet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2012

My husband & I stayed here for 4 nights, and we both agree it was by far, the best hotel we've ever stayed in. The views of the Lake are breath-taking, the decor of the hotel is gorgeous & appropriate for the setting, the staff was incredibly friendly & accomodating and the rooms are spacious. (And it's only a 5 minute drive from the airport!)

The breakfast buffet was plentiful and each day, the chef was very willing to make me a special gluten-free dish.

We also ate twice at Stacks Pub - great steak & chips! Perfect place to come in after skiing & warm up by the fire.

The snack shop that is part of the hotel also has the BEST gluten-free chocolate chip cookies I've ever had. (I checked every morning to see if I could take one with me on our day trips.)

We used the pool/hot tub for a few minutes on one of the nights. I felt the pool was a bit too cool, but the hot tub was incredibly relaxing. It seems like the perfect place for a spa weekend.

Would LOVE LOVE LOVE to stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tallchick1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew N, General Manager at Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 20 September 2012
Dear tallchick1978

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your recent stay with us.

It is always wonderful to read such a positive review and know that we have achieved our goal of ensuring you as a guest, have experienced a memorable and personalised stay.

I was pleased you were able to enjoy so many of our outlets within the village.
Thank you again and I look forward to welcoming you back to stay when you are next visiting Queenstown.

Kind regards
Andrew Nisbet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2012 via mobile

We stayed at the Hilton queenstown to celebrate my 30th birthday. Extremely happy with our time here. We booked a relaxation room which was bliss with a jacuzzi overlooking the lake and out to the mountains. Room was generous in size with a gorgeous fireplace, pity it wasn't cold enough to enjoy it!! Staff were more than accommodating with our requests. We were welcomed and acknowledged as hhonours members. We went to Stacks bar for a meal which was delicious and great value for money, basic pub food but suited us and was yum! Excellent service and relaxed atmosphere, enjoyed our quiet night and few drinks here. Our second night we booked in and went go the Wakatipu Grill, this was the most amazing experience, absolutely stunning surroundings, most welcoming staff, beautiful ambience and the food selection was to die for!!!! Staff were well informed and knowledgable on wine and food, meals were brought out in record time and simply Devine! Again excellent value for money! We also popped into the on site deli for a sweet treat and we were spoilt for selection with all the goodies on offer, had the most amazing macarons and cakes!!! We hired a car and found the self parking excellent. The location of the hotel was perfect loved being out of town and being so close to the airport and remarkables shopping centre. Views from the hotel were gorgeous! You can't beat snow covered mountains! If I had to be picky my only complaints were we had no shower cap in bathroom and there were no wine glasses or a pen in our room, minor frustrations which I'm sure had we requested these things they would have sorted for us. All in all more than happy with our stay and there's no doubt we will return!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CJJLLKS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew N, General Manager at Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 17 September 2012
Dear CJJLLKS

Thank you for sharing feedback on Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay with us.
I am so pleased you enjoyed yourselves and were able to make use of so many of our facilities within the village.
I appreciate your kind comments regarding our friendly and helpful team members. I do apologise for the lack of amenities in your room and have addressed this with our executive housekeeper. She will ensure extra training is given to avoid this happening again.

Thank you again and I look forward to welcoming you back to stay again soon.

Kind regards
Andrew Nisbet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
5.9 km away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
3.1 km away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
5.4 km away
Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 km away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#20 of 58 in Queenstown
3,096 reviews
5.4 km away
Queenstown Park Boutique Hotel
7.1 km away
Mercure Resort Queenstown
Mercure Resort Queenstown
#27 of 58 in Queenstown
1,376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa

Property: Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
Address: 79 Peninsula Road | Kawarau Village, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Queenstown
#4 Business Hotel in Queenstown
#13 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
#16 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
#19 Family Hotel in Queenstown
Price range (per night): $180 - $553
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the moment you set foot inside the Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa, you'll discover a place that not only celebrates the world-renowned beauty of this region, but immerses you completely in that beauty. Welcome to a new way to experience Queenstown. Welcome to Hilton. This is an exhilarating setting, and one without compromise. The only hotel positioned directly on the shores of Lake Wakatipu, Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa faces north, delivering full afternoon sun and showcasing panoramic views over an unspoilt terrain famed the world over. Watch the deep blue hues of the lake shimmer and glisten and savour this most intensely beautiful destination. In the heart of vibrant Kawarau Village and just 15 minutes via lake or land from Queenstown, you'll enjoy effortless access to all the excitement on offer in the region - and the closest accommodation to The Remarkables. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Expedia APAC, Booking.com, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Odigeo, lastminute.com.au, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotelopia, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Queenstown Hotel Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing