We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FAB HOTEL - WONDERFUL STAFF - GREAT TOWN”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
Ranked #16 of 58 Hotels in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 February 2012

Probably the best Hilton I have ever stayed in (and I've tried a lot of them).
Great very new standard rooms with sunken lounge and fireplace (with a bathroom to rival the best of Las Vegas). Spotlessly clean in the rooms and the public areas. Housekeeping was 1st class and very discreet. Front desk staff were charming. Hotel is very large, tastefully decorated and seemingly very well managed. Nice indoor pool and spa. Lovely lake views. Hotel is not in Queenstown but across the lake, however access to Queenstown is easy by car (loads of parking in the centre). The hotel offers a shuttle bus (free) and lake water taxi. Hotel offers free underground parking (2 mins walk) or valet for a fee. Great base for touring the surrounding area with easy access by car. If using TomTom GPS the hotel location is Peninsula Road, Frankton (not Queenstown).
Arrived a day early (following my booking error at another hotel) and we were accomodated without fuss using the same excellent rate I had booked months earlier.
Continental breakfast buffet was excellent value considering the choice, although the full works with hot selections was a bit pricey. There is also a good coffee shop on site that offers coffee, juice, toast and coissant for a very reasonable alternative.
Ate at the on-site Noodle Restaurant one night and this was great tasty food and very good value (around US15 a head). Room service food was OK, but the service was very prompt.

Room Tip: Standard rooms are really very good, so no need to upgrade unless you want something extra special...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank courtsbuyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlene P, General Manager at Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 29 February 2012

Dear courtsbuyer

I was delighted to see you enjoyed yourselves so much at the Hilton Queenstown. Thank you for sharing your positive comments on Trip Advisor.

It was great that you were able to sample several of the outlets in our lovely village.

Thank you again for such a detailed review and I look forward to your return to the hotel one day soon.

Warm regards
Marlene Poynder

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,790)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,581 - 2,585 of 2,790 reviews

Reviewed 27 February 2012

Like many other Trip Advisor reporters, we stayed here with Hilton Honors points as we would not choose to afford it otherwise. Understanding we’re Hampton Inn types at heart, this place just blew us away. Very upscale—hard to think of a better couples location.

Yes, there are a couple of negatives noted by other reviewers: it is across the lake, however, Hilton runs a water taxi about once an hour to the other side. It cost $15NZD roundtrip. Yes, like most resorts, everything is ala-cart. Internet service is $14.50 NZD/hr, or $29NZD/day. We enjoyed our night just fine without internet. Parking is a comparative bargain: free self parking, or $10NZD valet. Eating there is expensive.

Yet, look at the upside: WOW rooms. Jet tubs and fancy showers. Fireplace in sunken living room. Great scenic location and very quiet. Property boasts 5 restaurants, a bar, and spa. Impeccable service. Really, if you’re looking for a high-end experience, it’s hard to believe you can find much better. We enjoyed ourselves immensely!

Room Tip: Higher floors will have a better view of the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FJVLS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlene P, General Manager at Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2012

Dear FJVLS

Thank you for taking the time to place your feedback on Trip Advisor following your recent stay at Hilton Queenstown.
It was lovely to see you were WOWed with our new village and thank you for mentioning the water taxi. This is a very popular mode of transport for guests and locals to use between the village and downtown Queenstown.
Thank you again for sharing your comments and I hope to see you again at Hilton Queenstown in the near future.

Kind regards
Marlene Poynder

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2012

This is a nice hotel especially if you get the lake view rooms, it is a fair way from town so you either get the water taxi or take a car to dine in the village. We tried their restaurant "The Grill" but were very disappointed with the food. Their so called speciality pork dish was very dry and the salad we ordered never turned up, but we still got charged for it.

I dont think the head chief was working the night we dined so they need to take care that they have a better back up.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dennis021_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlene P, General Manager at Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2012

Dear Dennis021_9

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at the Hilton Queenstown.

I am very sorry you were disappointed with the food in the grill. We have had many good reviews about the pork dish so this is a concern. It is a pity you did not advise the team members that you did not receive your salad.
I have discussed your concerns with our Food & Beverage Manager to ensure this does not happen again.
I hope you will return one day soon so we are able to provide you with a more satisfying dining experience.

Kind regards
Marlene Poynder

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

We stayed at the Hilton Queenstown and would highly recommend the hotel. The hotel is new (i believe opened less than a year ago) and the rooms and lobby areas are very nice. My room had a huge living area with fireplace, large bedroom area with view of lake, large bathroom (with separate tub & shower), and a large balcony that overlooked the lake. my wife and i enjoyed sitting on the balcony and having a glass of wine before heading out to dinner. the service was outstanding during our entire stay too. the only negative thing about the hotel is it is sort of far from downtown queenstown. the hotel offers a water taxi service ($15 per person round-trip), which worked out well for us for dinner options in queenstown and offers great views, but not sure if it runs during the winter months too. the hotel also has a nice trail next to the lake if you are looking for a short walk with views of the lake & mountains. Overall, we enjoyed our stay here and would return to the hotel if visiting queenstown.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank brannri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlene P, General Manager at Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2012

Dear brannri

It was lovely to see you enjoyed yourselves so much and thank you for sharing your feedback.

The hotel shuttle and water taxi operate all year round into downtown Queenstown.

Thank you again and I look forward to your return when you are next visiting Queenstown.

Kind regards
Marlene Poynder

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2012

We didn't use all the available facilities, but the standard guest room we had and the service were first class all the way.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 497Mary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlene P, General Manager at Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2012

Dear 497Mary

Thank you for taking the time to place your feedback on Trip Advisor following your recent stay at the Hilton Queenstown.
I was very pleased to see you had a first class time!

Hope you will be back soon
Kind regards
Marlene Poynder

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
3.1 km away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
5.6 km away
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
#17 of 58 in Queenstown
1,475 reviews
5.9 km away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 km away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#19 of 58 in Queenstown
3,193 reviews
4.3 km away
Pounamu Apartments
Pounamu Apartments
#11 of 58 in Queenstown
1,416 reviews
5.4 km away
Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa

Address: 79 Peninsula Road | Kawarau Village, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Queenstown
#4 Business Hotel in Queenstown
#13 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
#14 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
#19 Family Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range: $225 - $575 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated directly on the shores of Lake Wakatipu, the resort boasts famous waterfront and mountain views. Each of the spacious rooms and fully-equipped residence apartments offer a gas fireplace, separate lounge area and private balcony to satisfy any travel needs. Take the complimentary hotel shuttle bus into town, rejuvenate in the opulent onsite spa facility or simply relax by the 25-metre indoor heated pool with steam and sauna rooms. While the five bars and restaurants including the signature Wakatipu Grill provide sought-after dining options in magnificent settings to complete a truly memorable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Ctrip TA, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Agoda, lastminute.com.au, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotelopia and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Queenstown Hotel Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing