We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not thrilling”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Queenstown Lakeview Holiday Park
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“not thrilling”
Reviewed 14 January 2012

We stayed here because there was some big concert going on and there were no rooms available elsewhere.

If you don't have a car you should know that the walk from the main part of town, buses etc is up 67 steps followed by an uphill road so it can be a challenge if your luggage is heavy.

pros: reasonably clean, nice but not the best view, fridge in room, quiet, good sleep, pretty big room, outside seating area.

cons: expensive wifi, bunk bed, shower had no lip on it and the shower curtain did not go to the floor so water flowed all over. No safe in room and while there was a locked cupboard in the room no key was provided, I guess it was for staff use. The room had no chest of drawers, no bedside table, no bedside lamp, and to use anything plugged into an electrical outlet I had to sit on floor.

Overall had I known it would be so hard to get a room those days I would have booked further i advance.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shenatoronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

490 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    145
    161
    99
    39
    46
See reviews for
159
188
22
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2012

Okay guys, my partner and I stayed at the Lakeview Holiday Park in Queenstown for a total of 8 nights, two nights on a campsite and 6 in the studio apartment.

Upon arrival, we were told it was $25 per campsite, per night. When returning home, I found that $100NZD was charged to my credit card (instead of the quoted $50). I then contacted Lakeview politely asking where the extra $50 charge came from. To my surprise, a woman wrote back quite abruptly stating the charge was $25 PER PERSON, per night - giving a total of $100 for two people to stay two nights in an overcrowded, small camping space. I have read through a few more reviews and can see that this has happened to another person also :(

The email reply stated that she was (and I quote) "100% sure that the person that checked you in said that the rate is per person and not per site as we say this line again and again for 8 hours a day 5 times a week", despite that person not being present in the conversation. This problem was apparently brought to the General Manager, who simply stated they had done nothing wrong as they did not overcharge us (despite the extra hidden costs we were not told about).

Despite this, the campground is by far the most expensive I have ever been to. On top of our $100 charge to stay at the small site, we still had to pay $4 for an eight minute shower. It was also $1 for washing powder and $4 to do one load of washing. Kitchen utensils could only be used if you 'hired them'.

Then the Studio Unit. The room was clean when we got there, but was not serviced even ONCE during our stay! The kitchen utensils provided with the unit were sticky and dirty. The fridge was also broken in our apartment. The seal did not work, making the 'freezer' section within the fridge crack loudly during the night, waking me up. The kitchen was never cleaned to a high standard, with dirty tea towels stacked up next to the basin closest to our hot plate. The hot plate closest to our stove top was covered in oil for 2 days, meaning the kitchen is obviously not cleaned daily (and if so, it is not cleaned properly).

The campground seems to attract a lot of younger people around new years. This is of course to be expected, but I don't think it was managed very well. It was very loud, with huge groups of younger people blocking walk ways and drinking large amounts of alcohol out in the open (morning, afternoon and night). Perhaps more security and more action/direction from management wouldn't go astray.

I would never stay here again. You can get better service and facilities at a backpackers. Queenstown in an incredibly beautiful place to holiday, but I highly recommend doing a little research and finding somewhere else to stay.

Room Tip: Room 19 had a broken fridge. If you have no other choice but to book at Lakeview, avoid this room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashleigh P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Queenstown hotels

Brighton
Level 6 Contributor
399 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2012

These apartments are reallt good value and huge! They are right next to the gondala and only about 10 minutes walk to the town centre and 15/20 to the lake and thats at strolling speed.

The apartments are bright and airy and really big, with far views of the lake. They have what you need for making coffee and a little breakfast.

Extremely good value accomodation for what you get.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Poopyscoop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nerw Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed 19 December 2011

We just wanted one night before we did the Routeburn Track. This was easy booking,very friendly staff and no hassle at all. The room was clean and tidy and all we needed. It was a short stroll into town for an evening meal and they were happy to store our luggage for us the next day for a couple of hours until it could be collected. We would have liked a designated ,secure, room for the luggage though rather than "Just put it over there next to the sofa!".

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrFo5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2011

Had all you could want for a holiday park- free milk on arrival, all kitchen equipment clean and super comfy beds

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexweed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
5.5 km away
Queenstown TOP 10 Holiday Park
0.3 km away
Absoloot Value Accommodation
Absoloot Value Accommodation
#6 of 92 in Queenstown
363 reviews
0.7 km away
Queenstown Holiday Park & Motel Creeksyde
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Tahuna Pod Hostel
Tahuna Pod Hostel
#3 of 92 in Queenstown
351 reviews
0.7 km away
St. James Apartments
St. James Apartments
#19 of 92 in Queenstown
247 reviews
0.6 km away
YHA Queenstown Lakefront
YHA Queenstown Lakefront
#17 of 92 in Queenstown
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queenstown Lakeview Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queenstown Lakeview Holiday Park

Property: Queenstown Lakeview Holiday Park
Address: 4 Cemetery Road, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 92 Speciality Lodging in Queenstown
Price range (per night): $139 - $244
Hotel Class:2 star — Queenstown Lakeview Holiday Park 2*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in 2001, the Queenstown Lakeview Holiday Park is only a 500-metre walk from the shores of the Lake Wakatipu and only 100 meters from the town center , The Park offers accommodation suited to all budgets and includes spacious tourist flats, leisure lodges, en-suite studio units. The expansive camping areas offer both powered and unpowered camping sites that are serviced by modern amenities. Stay with us and you are only minutes away from various adventure activities and spectacular scenic spots that Queenstown is renowned for. Our efficient and well-informed Guest Services Team are looking forward to assist you plan and book the varied activities you can enjoy within Queenstown and the neighboring areas. Our Team takes great pride in what we have to offer visitors to our exciting area of New Zealand, and will make every effort to ensure your stay in Queenstown is a comfortable, relaxing and a memorable experience ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Odigeo, Wotif.com, lastminute.com.au, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Agoda, Ctrip TA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Queenstown Lakeview Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing