We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolootly fantastic!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Absoloot Value Accommodation
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Absolootly fantastic!”
Reviewed 29 January 2012

I had a shared room with 3 other guests (a pair of bunk beds) The room has it's own bathroom, refrigerator and individual safes for each guest. Staff was friendly and attentive. Rooms were newly renovated when I stayed... very clean and comfortable. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jackmogee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    213
    96
    31
    8
    6
See reviews for
21
78
113
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2012

We had previously stayed at Nomads but couldn't sleep at all due to the noise from the clubs underneath. We were aware Absoloot was in town - great for nipping in and out of your room, but if you're a light sleeper beware of drunken folks wandering past in the street shouting and singing at all hours of the night.
We tried to get a double ensuite but they had none so we were able to book out a dorm (which had a double bed in it) for no extra cost. Room was fine - clean, spacious and had a bathroom which was small but functional. As a young backpacker I wouldn't have batted an eyelid. As an older, more comfort conscious traveller, I was still pretty pleased with what we got. Shame I didn't get much of a sleep though.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lornamcavoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgetown, Penang
Level Contributor
27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2012

I found AVA in BBH. It was a last minute decision. The dorm (it was just 6 beds anyway) was full so I opted the 4-bed room. The location is right in the centre of the town with superb view to Lake Wakatipu. The kitchen is clean and colorful with everything you need to prepare your meal. There is a tv room with dvd player and pool table.

To my surprise there is a refrigerator and tv in the room. The locker is located below the bunk bed. There is an ensuite toilet and a huge mirror. And it is clean. (The only thing I'd rant about is the poor sound insulation, lol) You have a private lamp for reading. Oh and most importantly, many power outlets and free wifi.

The staff are friendly and I met some very good roommates. Overall it was a pleasant stay. Well above expectation :)

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lonerlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2011

Stayed in this hostel during my recent trip to queenstown. I stayed in the queen double room which had great views of the lake. All the facilities were great and the people that run it are fantastic too. They had great knowledge of the area and pointed us in the right direction many a time. Plus they had somewhere safe & secure to store our mountain bikes overnight which was a big plus for us. will definately staying there again when i am back over hitting up the gondola next year. Cheers guys Highly recommended!!!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peg510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2011

Booked a 2-night stay in the Queen double room with ensuite bathroom. Room is spacious and has great view of the lake. I like the concept of the room which allows natural sunlight to shine through. Super cosy.

Room is also equipped with a mini fridge, microwave, electric kettle and some complimentary coffee & tea. We do not have to use the kitchen at all.

Location is by the lakeside, convenient. Customer service is great too!

Room Tip: If you are travelling as a couple, I would highly recommend the Queen room. Worth the price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aprilngern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.3 km away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#21 of 58 in Queenstown
3,095 reviews
0.2 km away
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
#18 of 58 in Queenstown
1,424 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa
0.1 km away
Eichardt's Private Hotel
Eichardt's Private Hotel
#20 of 58 in Queenstown
261 reviews
0.2 km away
Nomads Queenstown Backpackers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Absoloot Value Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Absoloot Value Accommodation

Property: Absoloot Value Accommodation
Address: 50 Beach Street, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 90 Speciality Lodging in Queenstown
Price range (per night): $29 - $105
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Absoloot Value Accommodation (AVA) has been designed with the backpacker, ‘flashpacker’ and value-seeking traveler in mind. AVA is spectacularly located on the lakefront right in the centre of Queenstown. Newly refurbished, it offers boutique dorms (6 beds maximum), double and queen rooms. Fresh, contemporary style with space to play and space to relax. And now there is FREE WIFI throughout the hostel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and Ctrip TA so you can book your Absoloot Value Accommodation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Absoloot Value Hotel Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing