We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,039)
Filter reviews
1,039 results
Traveller rating
458
337
126
70
48
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
458
337
126
70
48
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfree dinnertravel deskkiwi experienceprivate roomthe kitchencinema roomfree toastbed dormfemale dormcommon roomshared balconycommon areasown bathroomlight sleepermiddle of townfree wifiperfect location
Filter
Updating list...
123 - 128 of 1,039 reviews
Reviewed 22 November 2017 via mobile

Nomads is a great place to stay, located in the Queenstown CBD near Lake Wakatipu, and within walking distance of everything. The staff are friendly and helpful.

There's free breakfast and dinner on offer, making Nomads an attractive option for travellers. I didn't take it up as I wanted to see what Queenstown had to offer in the way of vegan food (quite a few options).

The commercial kitchen was typical of backpacker hostel kitchens - a good size with plenty of storage and all the utensils you need to whip up an easy meal.

The single room with ensuite was excellent. I spent one night in a six share female dorm and while the room was fine, it was a Friday night and the noise from the laneway bars next door was loud.

Mostly backpackers don't care much about bar noise, but the night before the annual Queenstown International Marathon (marathon, half marathon, and 10km) it's a different story. Half the people in my room were there to sleep and run.

Then someone started drumming. I like drums but the appreciation dwindled as the minutes became hours. It sounded like it was on our balcony and it lasted until 2:30am. My alarm was set for 5:30am. I didn't get any sleep. Neither did another traveller I spoke to the next morning, who'd been travelling and camping in a tent with his girlfriend for weeks: they'd both booked in to get a good night's sleep before their half marathon and marathon respectively and were awake the whole night.

If the laneway bars put on good acoustic indoor gigs excluding drums the night before the marathon each year it would be brilliant.

That's the only downside I experienced. I'd be happy to stay at Nomads again.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled solo
Thank Ren47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emer C, Manager at Nomads Queenstown Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2017

Hey Ren
Thank you for your review. And congratulations on the marathon. It was a great turnout in Queenstown this year for it.
Completely agree that it would be great for Queenstown night life to take into consideration the weekend that it is.
Hopefully see you again next year.
Thanks
The Nomads Crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2017

fantastic location, clean, tidy and relatively new facilities.
Super helpful staff. Nothing is a hassle and everyone is more than accommodating to help answer questions.
Great did you know a dinner is included as part of the price!
reception open 24 / 7

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank missfh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emer C, Manager at Nomads Queenstown Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2017

Hey

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. Delighted you had such a good time with us.

We hope to see you again in the future.

Thanks
The Nomads Crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2017

Our room had a small window you couldn't open, it was very dark in the room. The air quickly becomes unbearable, especially when two people shower. You're not allowed to shower with the door open because it could trip the fire alarm, which will cost you $1000. The AC unit in the room only produces hot air. People knock on your door to ask you of you want to parteeeeeey, and when you leave the building, a guy wants to sell you bungee jumping events. And all this was even before we went to sleep the first night! You get all this for an expensive price of >100$ per night. My recommendation: Look elsewhere for a place to stay.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank prinzipiell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emer C, General Manager at Nomads Queenstown Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2017

Hi

Thank you for your review - we value all feedback. The room you booked was an interior double room that has that small skylight. Do to the shape of our building we have many rooms that are the inside of the building so unfortunately does not have an opening window. We do have aircon units in the rooms that act as both heaters and aircon. We have signs on all aircon units explaining that you just need to come to reception and we can cool down all of the air in your room for you.
As a part of health and safety in our building all our smoke detectors are designed to be sensitive to heat. Therefore showering with a door open can allow the detector to go off. I hope you understand that is for the safety of all of our patrons.
We are a hostel environment and we want every one to know what is going on, some solo travelers may not know that we have a bar that gives out free evening meals and is a great social aspect to your stay in Queenstown. Apologies as we know this is not for everyone.
Our travel desk team simply just love getting involved and letting everyone know what amazing things Queenstown has to offer. Apologies again if this wasn't for you.

We hope you understand that we want everyone to enjoy all aspects of the hostel, and we were unaware at the time of your stay that you had any issues with aircon in your room.

We hope you enjoyed Queenstown and all the best with your future travels.
Thanks
The Nomads Crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2017 via mobile

Our stay in Nomads in Queenstown was comfortable. It was our first stay at a Backpackers and we were a bit apprehensive.
We stayed in private room with ensuite on level 3 which has great views from the balcony. The staff are friendly and obliging. The location is central and ideal.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank CNT2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emer C, Manager at Nomads Queenstown Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2017

Hi

Thank you for taking the time out of your day to leave your review.
We are delighted that you chose us for your first backpacker experience and that you had a great time.
We hope to see you again in the future

Thanks
The Nomads Crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2017

Nice stay, nice room, nice people, nice Queenstown! I love it. Facilities are great! We have a nice view from the balcony where you can see the gondola taking people up and down (Skyline gondola).

Just few steps to the beautiful Lake Wakatipu...view is stunning! Will stay here again the next time I'm here. Thank you!

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank DianeH2190
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emer C, Manager at Nomads Queenstown Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2017

Hey Diane,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. Delighted that you had a nice time with us here. We are so lucky with the views we have.

Looking forward to having you stay with us again.
Thanks
The Nomads Crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews